We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
THC Gran Via Hostel
Ranked #181 of 278 Madrid B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

i would call Stad Madrid a good hostel instead of hotel. Its a little bit hard to find - just remember the house number. Rooms big enough for a city break - third level room bathrooms not always have hot water - we needed to change room. The streetside rooms are noisy - especially in the morning when party people are going home.
The positive side of the hostel is the location - five minutes from gran via, all the tourist sights are maximum 15 minutes walk away. Great shops and restaurants around. Easy access to Madrid Airport.

Room Tip: Second floor, avoid street side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bangli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    36
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
6
57
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Even though we kind of enjoyed our stay here, we wouldn't want to come back again. To start with the Hostal is very difficult to find. There is no sign or directions anywhere so we found the Hostal by coinsidence because the lady we asked for directions had to be there herself. Secondly we think the area is very, very noisy. We were staying in a room at the front (roadside) where the windows could not be completely closed. We were lacking of sleep because of contructionbuilders, drunk folks and so on. Next to that everytime the main entrance door on our floor closed, our own door shattered like crazy which made us jump out of our beds all the time, thinking someone came bursting in. Last but not least the cleaning is below average. We stayed for 5 days and the room didn't get cleaned since we arrived. We only received some clean towels which makes us understand why we were sneezing our entire stay in StadMadrid, it's dusty and not clean at all. A very positive thing about this place is the location, you have almost everything within walking distance.

Helpful?
Thank Skonmeske
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alicante, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This one star hotel is cheaper than most of the ordinary hostels I have checked. THe important thing it's NEW (Or it seems so) and CLEAN (which is the most important factor to me). There are little soaps at the bathroom and clean towels as well.

I spent there one night in a triple with private bathroom during Tourism International workshop. It is 1 min from Grav Via, from a metro station. However it is a bit difficult to find, we were so tired and were looking for it half an hour going up and down with the luggage.

The staff in the reception is nice and helpful. The only thing I didnt like about the hotel was that It is situated in 3 different floors, and there is no lift, so I had to carry my heavy suitcase all alone to the thrid floor. But if U come with the small one then there is no problem.

I would definitely choose this one again! Fully recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weronika_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My two friends and I stayed at Stad Madrid for 3 nights. The location was easy to find - it was about a minute walk from the Gran Via. It can be tricky to find the exact building, as they don't have a large sign outside. The hostel is on the thrid floor of a residential apartment block, their sign is on the architrave of the front door.

The receptionists were very friendly and helpful - they let us use their own computer to check in for flights and print boarding passes.

The room itself was lovely - it felt more like a cheap hotel than a hostel. The rooms are bright and spacious, and housekeeping made our beds every day. There was air-con in the room which was perfect. The bathroom was surprisingly nice - not huge but a good size nonetheless.

The only downside was that the WiFi didn't really work in our room. It worked at times and then other times we had to pop out into the corridor to check our emails!

If I was coming back to Madrid I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Great location, close to everything, just off Gran Via. Everything on your doorstep. Friendly staff, the girl i dealt with had limited English but then we are in Spain, why should we expect everyone to speak English! Basic rooms but with all you need. Great airconditioning, which in Madrid in August you need!Clean modern. Excellent value for money. I will come back.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Markcottis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savona, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Last year i spent some days in Madrid and I think that Stad Madrid is a perfect solution for every kind of turist! the rooms are clean and nice, besides the hostel is in the center just next to the famous Gran via. The breakfast is included and it's very yummy. You can have the breakfast in a restaurant called taberna del Marciano.
The whole stuff can't speak english and someone can speak only spanish but it's not a problem because they try to explain everything anyway.
If i ever come back to Madrid I'd come back to the Stad Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclizzie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed only one night in this place. The hostel staff had forgotten the car parking reservation, in spite of that we insisted about it in our emails, several months in advance. The receptionist failed to provide a solution. We had to figure it out.

The apartment (2 bedrooms, 4 beds) was very large and quiet, with clean sheets and beds. But it was also quite dark, with a poorly equipped, tiny, permanently moist, slightly smelly bathroom and bad ventilation... there was some unexplicable smoke smell in one of the rooms too. (There were no windows nor ventilation ducts). Plus, the decoration was very ugly compared to other places I've stayed in Madrid for the same price range. Mirrors, doors, carpets, TV's... they all seemed very old and worn out.

Something very annoying was the lack of useful amenities in the kitchen ... there was a water heater with a British plug but no electrical adaptor! (thus completely useless) ; very few utensils and old, very bad quality kitchenware

We had a reservation for a few days later te but we had to cancel. We really needed a parking space... We had chosen the place for the location. Turned out to be a mistake..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaboSantiago_Chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#142 of 436 in Madrid
605 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#88 of 436 in Madrid
617 reviews
Centro
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#107 of 436 in Madrid
449 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Hispano
Hostal Hispano
#59 of 278 in Madrid
80 reviews
La Latina
THC Latina Hostel
THC Latina Hostel
#70 of 278 in Madrid
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THC Gran Via Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THC Gran Via Hostel

Property: THC Gran Via Hostel
Address: Calle Barco 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Stad Madrid)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 278 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — THC Gran Via Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your THC Gran Via Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stad Madrid Hotel Madrid
Stadmadrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing