We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
THC Gran Via Hostel
Ranked #194 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hostel”
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Very clean and located in the centre of the city.
The actually have a queen bedroom for married couples.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krlitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    35
    32
    17
    10
See reviews for
5
55
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mars
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This hotel is at great location, only seconds away from Gran Via and the Metro station. Also easy access to the major shopping area, Sol square. Walking distance to many sightseeing spots. However, the room windows can hardly block any noise from the street. In the night, especially the night before holiday, the street is very noisy. If you need good sleep quality, make sure you don't stay at rooms 101/102/201/202 which are facing the Banco street. And yes, the room is small but clean. Service is good too. It's in one of the old apartment on Banco, so keep your eyes open on the small tag on the doorbell buttons. From Gran Via, you will only find "Gonzalo Jiménez de Quesada" next to H&M, and turn to that street, and Banco is at the next block.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan52Mars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Lisbon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Nice location very nice rooms price good to

Staff is very good and nice

recomend

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MouraPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Malden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I stayed here from the 30th Jan to the 2nd Feb as I was attending a Funeral in Madrid and was let down at the last minute and was on a tight budget. I had never stayed in a Backpackers Hostel before but it was a wonderful experience as it is beautifully decorated with fun, bright colours. The staff, especially Ursula, her Mother and Rich are lovely. The room and bathroom were spotless. Yes the room was small, but it had everything I needed. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Yes there are a lot of Prostitutes in the area which I found a bit sad, but that has no relation whatsoever to safety, so I don't know why they've been mentioned in other reviews in relation to safety!! It is 2 minutes walk from the Metro too. I would definitely stay here again! It was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucindaRandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

The free internet worked well. There was an AC unit in the room which also worked very well. The room was a bit small, but it was no problem for us. It was in a very central location. As other reviewers have stated, there are prostitutes on the corner near the hotel that you have to pass by, but I never felt like it was dangerous.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RixiePicklesticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Stadmadrid is exactly what it says it is. It a clean hostel with great owners that will do as much to accommodate you as possible. Yes the rooms may be a tad small as are the bathrooms but this is typical of most 1* hostels in Madrid. Its location is slap bang in the middle of madrid, 5 mins to Gran Via Metro, so perfect for exploring all that Madrid has to offer. Yes there are prostitiutes on the street corner but simply ignore them, trust me its not hard. The rooms are clean and well maintained but some do overlook the street and as with most of madrid the party does go on from 12-6 am, but it didnt bother us. We experienced some flooding on the upper rooms, but Ricardo couldnt be more apologetic and compensated accordingly.
Other reviews have said that there are three flights of stairs which is true, so definately not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties but it was good to have free wifi access in the rooms and the beds were the best we have ever slept in across Europe.
In summary a great little hostel, with friendly English speaking staff in a great location. If you want luxury then spend a lot more money but for a twin room under £50 a night in the centre of madrid, look no further. We would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I booked this hostel/ hotel after reading reviews and deciding that I wanted to stay in the centre of Madrid. I wanted somewhere affordable, clean and central and that's what we got. The staff were helpful and friendly. We arrived very late as our flight was delayed and unfortunately had to wake someone up to let us in (we had let them know we would be late). The lady was understanding and given the time, welcoming.

The room was small but clean and tidy and had aircon. The bathroom was TINY though. If you were a big or tall person (or both) I am not sure that you'd be able to use the toilet properly. The toilet and shower used a pump to drain the water away which was very noisy if you had to use it at night. The french doors opened onto a small balcony but unfortunately they didn't close properly which made it very noisy both during the day and late into the night (it was Madrid after all). This was made worse by the fact that our room opened onto the reception area so we had the noise from there too.

The hotel is right in the centre of town which is very convenient but I echo what others have said about the prostitutes. It didn't bother us at all but some people might not like it.

Overall, Stadmadrid served its purpose - we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMac3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#146 of 444 in Madrid
571 reviews
Centro
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Hotel Exe El Coloso
#306 of 444 in Madrid
823 reviews
Centro
THC Bergantin Hostel
THC Bergantin Hostel
#35 of 283 in Madrid
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
THC Tirso de Molina
THC Tirso de Molina
#40 of 283 in Madrid
129 reviews
La Latina
THC Latina Hostel
THC Latina Hostel
#51 of 283 in Madrid
115 reviews
Centro
Hostal Gran Via 63 Rooms
Hostal Gran Via 63 Rooms
#126 of 283 in Madrid
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THC Gran Via Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THC Gran Via Hostel

Property: THC Gran Via Hostel
Address: Calle Barco 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Stad Madrid)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — THC Gran Via Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your THC Gran Via Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stad Madrid Hotel Madrid
Stadmadrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing