We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Hostel in Madrid - Hotel Standard Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THC Gran Via Hostel
Ranked #204 of 276 Madrid B&B and Inns
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Hostel in Madrid - Hotel Standard Rooms”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

After a long review of the hostels available in Madrid, we selected the StadMadrid, which is located just off the Gran Via. We traveled as a group of four, and booked two rooms in the hostel. On arrival, directions were not a problem and the hostel was easy enough to locate. We were warmly greeted by Les who works at Stad along with Riccardo. They were most helpful and extremely friendly throughout our visit, even when we managed to sleep in late on the morning we were due to check out! The rooms were all ensuite, modern and appeared to be recently decorated, or the place is just kept immaculate. Either way, the rooms and general hostel areas were spotless. There was a nice relaxed atmosphere, although we spent little time in the hostel, leaving early in the mornings, arriving back to change in the evening before hitting the bars and clubs for the night. The rooms were cleaned daily and we stayed for three nights in total. I cannot recommend this hostel enough, and I will be staying on my return to Madrid! Thanks Les and Riccardo!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooneyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    35
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
5
55
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Very clean and located in the centre of the city.
The actually have a queen bedroom for married couples.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krlitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mars
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This hotel is at great location, only seconds away from Gran Via and the Metro station. Also easy access to the major shopping area, Sol square. Walking distance to many sightseeing spots. However, the room windows can hardly block any noise from the street. In the night, especially the night before holiday, the street is very noisy. If you need good sleep quality, make sure you don't stay at rooms 101/102/201/202 which are facing the Banco street. And yes, the room is small but clean. Service is good too. It's in one of the old apartment on Banco, so keep your eyes open on the small tag on the doorbell buttons. From Gran Via, you will only find "Gonzalo Jiménez de Quesada" next to H&M, and turn to that street, and Banco is at the next block.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan52Mars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Lisbon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Nice location very nice rooms price good to

Staff is very good and nice

recomend

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MouraPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Malden
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I stayed here from the 30th Jan to the 2nd Feb as I was attending a Funeral in Madrid and was let down at the last minute and was on a tight budget. I had never stayed in a Backpackers Hostel before but it was a wonderful experience as it is beautifully decorated with fun, bright colours. The staff, especially Ursula, her Mother and Rich are lovely. The room and bathroom were spotless. Yes the room was small, but it had everything I needed. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Yes there are a lot of Prostitutes in the area which I found a bit sad, but that has no relation whatsoever to safety, so I don't know why they've been mentioned in other reviews in relation to safety!! It is 2 minutes walk from the Metro too. I would definitely stay here again! It was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucindaRandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

The free internet worked well. There was an AC unit in the room which also worked very well. The room was a bit small, but it was no problem for us. It was in a very central location. As other reviewers have stated, there are prostitutes on the corner near the hotel that you have to pass by, but I never felt like it was dangerous.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RixiePicklesticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Stadmadrid is exactly what it says it is. It a clean hostel with great owners that will do as much to accommodate you as possible. Yes the rooms may be a tad small as are the bathrooms but this is typical of most 1* hostels in Madrid. Its location is slap bang in the middle of madrid, 5 mins to Gran Via Metro, so perfect for exploring all that Madrid has to offer. Yes there are prostitiutes on the street corner but simply ignore them, trust me its not hard. The rooms are clean and well maintained but some do overlook the street and as with most of madrid the party does go on from 12-6 am, but it didnt bother us. We experienced some flooding on the upper rooms, but Ricardo couldnt be more apologetic and compensated accordingly.
Other reviews have said that there are three flights of stairs which is true, so definately not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties but it was good to have free wifi access in the rooms and the beds were the best we have ever slept in across Europe.
In summary a great little hostel, with friendly English speaking staff in a great location. If you want luxury then spend a lot more money but for a twin room under £50 a night in the centre of madrid, look no further. We would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Hotel Exe El Coloso
#309 of 436 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#160 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Lavapies
THC Tirso de Molina
THC Tirso de Molina
#42 of 276 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
THC Bergantin Hostel
THC Bergantin Hostel
#40 of 276 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
La Latina
THC Latina Hostel
THC Latina Hostel
#53 of 276 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Centro
Hostal Gran Via 63 Rooms
Hostal Gran Via 63 Rooms
#133 of 276 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THC Gran Via Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THC Gran Via Hostel

Property: THC Gran Via Hostel
Address: Calle Barco 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Stad Madrid)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 276 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — THC Gran Via Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your THC Gran Via Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stad Madrid Hotel Madrid
Stadmadrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing