We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant evening”
Review of Garbo Ristorante - CLOSED

Garbo Ristorante
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro
Description: If you want to enjoy Madrid Center, there is a place you cannot miss: Garbo Restaurant. Located in Plaza del Carmen (near Gran Vía) Garbo is the dream of good and relax food lovers, where you can find those traditional recipes you love with a very personal touch. Come and try our new menú: Tapas, Salad, Pad Thai, Pizzas, Hamburgers ans spanish dishes ..... We also have a space designed for all kind of events, from breakfasts and business meetings to cocktail parties, product presentations or celebrations.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A very pleasant evening ,the weather outside was a bit cold ,it was January .After watching the street entertainment we went into the restaurant and I had an excellent Pizza which couldn`t finish so a doggy bag was provided ,wonderful .My wife had a tasty Risotto and a good bottle of wine completed the evening . The staff were very helpful ,my Spanish has improved slightly .If we had been in Madrid for longer than 3 days we would have returned and had another meal ,the restaurant had an interesting menu.!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    139
    67
    42
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We came across this place whilst visiting Madrid for a few days. We had a lovely meal the first night and an amazing bottle of Rioja. The wine was so good we went back the following night just for a bottle of the wine, dessert and coffee!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BernieSul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Reasonable Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We went here at around 7pm and were the first to take a table in the restaurant, though there were people watching football in the bar area and on the terrace. Good choice of pizza, pasta, fish and meat dishes. Service was slow to start off with, but as the restaurant got busier, the service got quicker. Had the minestrone soup and Caprese for starters, both of which were nice. Both had pizzas, one of which (Margherita) was very salty and while edible was not very enjoyable. The other pizza (Quattro Stagioni) however was very nice. With a bottle of wine, the bill was 59 euros which we thought was very reasonable. We wouldn't go back here on the strength of the salty pizza, which is a shame as the rest of the meal was nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best veal saltimbocca”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We ate here when we were in Madrid last year, but had to sit inside because of the weather. This year we came back and had a lovely dinner out on the terrace. Service was efficient and friendly and very tolerant of our beginner Spanish . The mushroom and asparagus risotto was perfect and the veal was the best my husband had tasted. We also shared some exquisitely thin and crisp onion rings. Dinner for two with bottle of wine 55 euros!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominique7339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bland food”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Went here June 2013. The terrace was nice but the service was listless and uninterested. We waited for 15 mins for someone to take our order. The pasta arrabbiatta was supposed to be muy picante (very spicy). In fact it was bland and without taste. Very disappointed in my meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisiirappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garbo Ristorante also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing