We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great urban boutique hotel with excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
Ranked #140 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
midwest, usa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great urban boutique hotel with excellent location”
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed three nights at the Radisson Blu. Our room, while small, was ultra modern and extremely quiet. The staff speaks excellent English and is very friendly. Tall shuttered windows overlooked a small plaza where we had a nice breakfast each morning. The hotel is across the street from the Prado and a quick walk to the other two key Madrid museums. A pedestrian street Las Huertas adjoins the hotel and leads right to the center of the city. We found many great restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk. The Atocha train station was an easy 10 minute walk which we did twice, once with luggage and once without. We felt very safe walking from the hotel for tapas at night. We'd stay here again!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UsaAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    387
    107
    29
    22
See reviews for
160
414
58
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Good and new hotel directly across Prado Hotel in city centre
Small room not on a busy road.
good beds
Service good be beter. Room Locker didn't work and wasn't repaired in three days stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed at the Radisson Blu for four nights. The hotel was modern, extremely clean, and in a great location. The staff were wonderful and the quality of the breakfast was excellent. The room was small but adequate and the wifi free and easy to access. The bedroom was initially very hot, but after a word with reception, the temperature was lowered and all was well. Our room did not have an external window, which was the only downside. Overall I would highly recommend and would happily return. The spa is nice but it is not a swimming pool, as some booking agencies suggest.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodadvice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

As far as European hotels go, this is indeed a fairly decent hotel. Although there could be some imrpovement, it is a nice little hotel all in all.

Pros
- Good location. 3-minute walk from Prado and 10-minute walk from Retiro Park and Atocha (Train station to Toledo).
- Pleasant neighbourhood with plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants. We did not exactly brush up our Spanish beforehand but everyone seemed very friendly and keen to recommend different authentic dishes despite the language barrier. It felt very safe to go out even late at night.
- Decent room and cool design. Love the huge mirror and over-head shower in the bathroom.
- Attentive staff.

Cons (rather minor stuff)
- I have to agree with previous comments that the water temperature seemed to jump up and down a fair bit. (It was almost like 15-second of decent temperature and 2-second extreme hot.)
- Lack of make-up mirror in the bathroom.
- Average quality of toiletry: lack of cotton buds and cotton pads. Hair conditioner was very weak. (Having said all that, I could live with it for 4 days.)
- Light switches were very random, we had so much trouble working out what switch was for what light.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JumboJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The standout for the hotel is its location - right across from the Prado, surrounded by great little cafes, 500m from the metro, but on a quiet side street so there's no noise. That was perfect.
And overall, it was a wonderful experience. The rooms were lovely, comfy bed, free wifi (thank you!), friendly staff, and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone on this basis.
There were just a few little things that niggled me. 1. The shampoo was terrible. I don't mean just ordinary. I mean I don't even think it was shampoo. My hair was destroyed afterwards. I've never had such an experience. 2. There was only BBC TV in English - unless you wanted to pay 15EU for more English language TV. 3. The strange bathroom design meant it was really impossible to have a shower without getting the whole room wet (although I note the showers were wheelchair friendly, perhaps these things are related). 4. The shower ran hot and cold meaning you had to keep stepping out of it to avoid being burned. All little things - but it's the little things that make the difference, sometimes. And which might make me look around next time.
Overall, though, it was brilliant and I probably would stay again. I'd just bring my own shampoo.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaym01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home Counties
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Great location, plenty of excellent bars and restaurants nearby. The hotel rooms are comfortable, large and well furnished. However in an attempt to be very modern the execution is poor. Oddest of all is the floor to ceiling glass wall between bedroom and bathroom. Personally I prefer to do my business in private without my son and daughter watching. There are also no towel racks, electric switches that make no sense at all and switch lights on and off randomly, bath plugs that don't work, a shower that looks very cool, but runs hot and cold, fire alarms that go off in the middle of the night by accident and staff that don't know how to reset them. The Breakfast Buffet was superb. Didn't try the reataurant or the bar on account of there being so many great places nearby. In fact I never saw anyone in the bar - apart from a fashion shoot - it doesn't even look like a bar as you know it - more like something out of Living Designs magasine. There is an excellent little spa here as well, which the kids really enjoyed. Overall we really enjoyed our stay however.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The Radisson Blu Madrid has several distinct pluses and minuses. The positives:

1. The hotel staff was unfailingly pleasant, attentive, helpful, professional, and in command of at least adequate English.

2. The location is perfect for the art-tourist: a short walk from the Prado, the Reina Sofia, the Thyssen, and the Royal Academy of Fine Arts. It is also a short walk to the main train station and convenient to a host of restaurants. It is in the middle of everything, yet secluded and quiet.

3. It offers an effectively all-you-can-eat breakfast, a great convenience, and it is substantial: you can select from a better-than-average buffet and/or from the menu. The two in combination offer just about anything you could want.

4. The massage my wife received in the spa was very good. Although the massage therapist did not have much English, we were able to specify areas that needed special attention (feet and back after long hours in museums and sight-seeing) when we booked the appointment.

Unfortunately, these were substantially offset by the negatives on my recent visit:

1. The “free wireless” did not work. (In fairness, we did not follow up with the hotel.)
2. The climate control in the room kept it suffocatingly hot. The thermostat did not respond to our efforts, suggesting it was either preset or broken. We spoke to the front desk and asked the preset thermostat to be lowered to 18 C; this was presumably done, but the room remained hot. We endured our five-day stay by keeping the window open. (In fairness, we only inquired once.)

3. The water temperature always felt as if you were on the verge of running out of hot water. It is perhaps appropriate that the water from the sink should never be scalding, but the shower never felt quite warm enough.

4. The channel selection on the television was the most limited I have yet experienced in a European hotel. The only English-language channels available were the BBC and Al Jazeera.

5. The pillows were remarkably limp and flat.

6. I want to be clear that the hotel staff was excellent, but I believe management has left the staff overworked and stretched thin. There was considerable evidence of short-staffing, and I suspect employees maintained their chipper, upbeat mood only because, with Spain’s unemployment rate around 20%, they are too frightened to do otherwise. This possibility was reinforced by a somewhat sinister customer satisfaction survey I received by email after check-out, asking me to name specific hotel employees for credit or blame.

In light of all these experiences, I would not recommend the Radisson Blu, particularly as there are several other hotels in the same price range located close by.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#165 of 436 in Madrid
846 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#171 of 436 in Madrid
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#17 of 436 in Madrid
1,892 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#76 of 436 in Madrid
447 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
Address: Calle Moratin 52, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#48 Family Hotel in Madrid
#65 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#87 Business Hotel in Madrid
#96 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing