We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - what I expect from a Radisson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
Ranked #134 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I am reviewing all Radisson I know because I am a huge Radisson fan. This being said, this is a real Radisson as you should expect. Reception is exceptionnal, with messages, care and time allocated to you. Direct upgrade to a better room because available. The rooms are great. The location is ideal with central access,. quiet., museums nearby, close to airport departure and stations. Very difficult to find a negative point. The gym looked small, and I did not try the restaurant. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garpison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, good location, very close to the major attractions in the city. Breakfast was good, the hotel is at walking distance from the Plaza Mayor, Puerto del Sol, Gran Via, Prado Museum, Cibeles, Retiro park and Royal Palace, We even walked to the Bernabeu Stadium (it took us 55 minutes) but we enjoyed it, the weather was perfect. we also enjoyed walking at the Calle de Serrano late afternoon, all the major Spanish fashion brands are there.

Room Tip: Suites and rooms that look at the Huertas street are nice and sunny.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annanhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Recently stayed here on a long weekend break. Hotel was very clean and comfortable with all the facilities you would expect. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is located in a lively part of the centre, plenty of tapas bars and small jazz bars. It's also a short walk to the Prado and Reina Sofia galleries and El Retiro park.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnome81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Great location near the Prado museum and many nice restaurants close by. I am not particular fond of design hotel but this one is neat and clean and the staff is very service minded (and speaks good English which you can not expect in Madrid). Small but good buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: The only room available when I booked was a single which was ok since I arrived very late and left e...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillbillycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Unless you look closely you would not even know the hotel is where it is. The conversion is nicely done and don't be fooled by the old-fashioned exterior, step inside and you are in a truly modern, highly design-conscious environment. The location is good, it's off the main road and in a pretty quiet location. The whole hotel has a very quiet feel to it, maybe due to the materials used - the corridors have all been soundproofed and if you close the window in your room you won't hear a thing from the outside.

This hotel is clearly quite small, which has its pros and cons. The pro is that the service is quite personal, and it does not feel crowded. There is normally only one person in reception, and once you stay a few days they do get to know you. The con is that they can't quite deliver the level of service and facilities larger hotels provide.

Having said that - I ordered room service two nights in a row and was pleasantly surprised. Instead of having a separate room service menu you simply order dishes from their top-quality restaurant, and the food was the best room service meal I have had in a long time. I am a seasoned business traveller and often order room service (due to time constraints), and the food was full of flavour, exciting and tasted very fresh. So, top marks for providing such good food in such a modestly sized establishment.

The rooms are fine, nothing special. Bathroom large, rain shower nice but honestly every hotel has them nowadays. No ironing board in the room, you have to call housekeeping. Furniture not very practical, there is a chair for relaxing but it's very low and they also give you a bean bag which is great if you are 5 years old but not practical otherwise. Small round table OK but would have preferred a proper desk to work on. Also when having a room service meal there is no proper large table to sit down and eat, you have to use the relaxing chair which is awkward.

Breakfast left me disappointed. To be fair, this is a small hotel and comparing to the large hotels I normally stay in is perhaps not fair, but then again I have had breakfasts with more choice in smaller hotels than this. Breakfast buffet is all cold dishes, there is a menu from which you can order a few hot dishes. I ordered an omelette and some bacon/sausages, which was OK (nothing more) and the buffet is also nothing more than OK. Also it's quite time-consuming to always have to order your hot dishes, instead of just taking them from a buffet - my time is very limited in the mornings. This is one of the cons of the small size of the hotel - they haven't got scale so can't offer a large breakfast buffet like a much bigger hotel can do. Still, they could do much better with their hot dishes.

There are no taxis outside so they will have to call you one, and it takes 5-10 minutes before they arrive so factor this into your trip if you are going for a meeting in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polar_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We booked this hotel for a 3-night stay in Madrid that turned into a week when my husband sprained his ankle even before we could check in. In response to this demoralizing start to our 2-week vacation in Spain, the hotel staff were thoughtful and considerate. During the five days that my husband wasn't up to walking around, they kept us supplied with fresh ice packs, got on the phone with RENFE to help change our train reservations, and pitched in to assist in many other ways. Special thanks to Luis and also Francisco, for whom no request was too much and who always greeted me with smiles on their faces.

If you have to be laid up, an attractive room, a very comfortable bed, and a fabulous rain shower make life easier. The Nespresso coffee maker was a nice touch. The free wifi was easy and reliable, and despite the hotel fronting on a plaza just off a busy street, the room was quiet.

One thing I realized when we had to extend our stay was that three days would have been scarcely enough to experience the art museums practically on the hotel's doorstep, let alone to see more of the city. The hotel is ideally located for visiting the Prado (basically across the street), the Thyssen-Bornemisza, the Reina Sofia -- the big three -- and the Caixa Forum. I was on my own for most of the stay and felt like Madrid's artistic riches were right there at my feet. If museum fatigue sets in, it's easy to take a break at the hotel and then go back. There are a variety of reasonably-priced restaurants in walking distance of the hotel; even in the museum area, plenty of the restaurants are geared to locals rather than primarily for the tourist trade. Though the proximity to the art museums is a big win, it wasn't a long walk to get to some of the other Madrid sights, and both the municipal and tourist buses stops are not too far away.

Because of my husband's sprain, we ate breakfast at the hotel's restaurant more days than not. Although the 15 Euro price seemed like an indulgence (there is also a 21 Euro option but you can fill up happily and amply for 15), the breakfast buffet -- which included meats, cheeses, crusty breads (or sweet ones), fresh fruit, all kinds of juices, etc/ -- was delicious and kept me going long into the day.

The one thing the hotel might do better is in providing a seating area in the lobby. As a smallish boutique hotel, not much real estate is devoted to the lobby. That's fine for most purposes, but there isn't much room to sit down and wait (just a padded bench near the door) if you're meeting friends, for example. Not a big deal, but probably an easy fix too.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Our visit started out on the wrong foot, so to speak, but the genuine thoughtfulness and can-do attitude of the staff made a huge difference.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mermaid86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Radisson Blu is a very nice contemporary hotel in Madrid. The location is great, the hotel is very clean and the staff is professional and very nice. Depending on what you are looking for, its "boutique" style can be a pro (seems exclusive, very quiet, staff attentive) or a con (rarely saw any other quests, hotel restaurant/bar was pretty much deserted so not a very energetic atmosphere).

+ Clean, contemporary rooms. Very good wi-fi.
+ Staff is very nice and helpful and speak English very well.
+ Location is great, near the Prado and Retiro, not too far from some of the more high action areas (though can't be considered very close to Chueca, so if that's your focus you might want to stay closer to that area, see my review on Lusso Infantas).

+/- Windows kept out noise from the plaza below quite well (though one shutter kept coming loose and banging around in the wind).
+/- Bathroom very contemporary and nice with towel heater, overhead shower, but with contemporary styling got limited vanity space for setting anything down and only outlet for shaving quite far from mirror.

- Hotel hallways, elevators, too warm. Room also too warm and couldn't turn down thermostat. Found out front desk electronically controls limits on room thermostat, once they adjusted the room itself was fine.
- Late night (11 pm) room service menu quite limited (though similar to many hotels).
- Casual chair in room more form over function, not that comfortable to lounge or work in, and bed a bit too soft, but otherwise comfortable. Desk chair was fine.

Tip: Since there are so many cabs in Madrid, save €6 pounds when you leave by just flagging a cab instead of having the hotel call one. It's only about 100 ft to the street. Should cost you about €35 in total to get between the airport and the hotel including the €5 airport supplement.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sobe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#23 of 438 in Madrid
1,971 reviews
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#180 of 438 in Madrid
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#161 of 438 in Madrid
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado

Address: Calle Moratin 52, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#48 Family Hotel in Madrid
#65 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#87 Business Hotel in Madrid
#91 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £122 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing