We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient hotel”
Review of Axor Barajas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Axor Barajas Hotel
Ranked #96 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very convenient hotel”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I always stay at this hotel when I am in Madrid. It's just 5 minutes from the airport, it has free transportation service to and from the hotel, the van runs every 30 minutes from 5 AM to 10 PM.
The rooms are large and new, it is a quite hotel and even though you are so close to the airport, there is no noise. Modern hotel with all amenities, free wi-fi throughout the hotel. It has a nice restarurant, a little pricy but if you want, you can walk to a mall which is about 5 blocks from the hotel and you will find plenty of restaurants. Great hotel for overnight travel.
To go downtown Madrid, you can take the free ride from the hotel to the airport and there buy a train ticket and get off at Antocha station.
Of course plenty of taxis at the hotel. A ride to the airport is around $10 to $12 Euros.
The hotel rate varies but you can get a good rate on trip advisor or any other site or just checking directly with the hotel. Last time I stayed there in may 2012, I paid $85 Euros for a king size room. Not bad at all.

Room Tip: No problem with any room, higher or lower floors are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santiagozamudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    535
    98
    39
    32
See reviews for
387
397
88
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Me and my friends have been here 3 times in the last 3 years now and everytime has been brilliant. It's a modern hotel with large clean bedrooms and just outside the main city. Highly recommend, great value for money

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I was in need of a last minute reservation for a hotel near the barajas airport, and found this one on Travelocity for a very good price. The decor is very "Modern European", with lots of chrome and leather, but I found it very clean, comfortable and pleasant. The bed was one of the more comfortable hotel beds I have encountered, and the shower was great! I liked that there was an electrical outlet very near the head of the bed, so I could plug in my CPAP machine. It is amazing how many hotels require the use of a six foot or longer extension cord to accomplish this! I would not hesitate to stay here again in connection with a flight in or out of Barajas. By teh way, the shuttle was very good as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a rather typical but good level airport hotel. The decor downstairs was for my tastes quite sterile, but the food was reasonable. The lobby has a bar, which looked like a pass-through for travelers: certainly not much ambiance, but I don't think that this is a not a hotel designed for that purpose. The rooms are the real treat: very spacious, and they include a computer, which is certainly fine if you only need email and Internet. The bathroom is also spacious and the shower is great - roomy, good water pressure, nicely designed. If you have meetings around Barajas Airport or just need an overnight stay, this is a very good choice. If you are coming to visit and tour Madrid for 2-3 days or more, you will probably want something in or closer to the city. a cab ride from the hotel to for example, Puerta del Sol, is about E20 one way. There is a small gym with an elliptical, regular bike and recumbent bike - if you are really interested in some exercise, it's a 5 minute walk to a park with some running and biking paths. Excellent transportation and quick access to the airport - no small matter in Madrid's traffic.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Axor Barajas is situated next to Axor Feria, but is profiled to be a bit more trendy and upscale though both hotels are four star. Axor Barajas usually has higher prices, but you do get a little bit more for the money. The biggest difference is softer beds and bathroom amenities. On our overnigh stay we had booked two rooms and got one junior suite with a small seating area. Otherwise rooms are on the small side, though nicely decorated, bright and modern. Bathrooms are quite big with spacious showers, though note that the glass bathroom door doesn't give much privacy. Both hotels share the same shuttle service, which operates on a half-hour basis. One cannot pre-book the transfer from the airport (so the wait can be quite long), but one can - and should to guarantee a seat - from the hotel. A taxi ride will set you back EUR 20-25 one way. Check in is slow, so there's often a que at the reception (should be possible to speed up). The Axor hotels are within 10 min walk from the very large and busy Plenilunio shopping centre, where you find all usual shops and and several fast food alternatives. It's likely we'll stay here again if we get a good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms 136 and 137 are junior suites. I assume the same for other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed for 1 night on an airport stop over. Free shuttle to/from airport, very stylish and modern, efficient but not overly friendly staff, huge room with great facilities including free wifi, laptop, printer, big walk in shower, super comfy beds. Breakfast was buffet style and had a very varied choice of food including homemade chocolate or carrot cake - yum!
Comes recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This is a very modern and comfortable hotel, very close to the international airport, good for travelers who have to wait for a fly from the airport.
The negative things are mainly that their airport shuttle service is not very reliable, at least in my case. We had to wait for over an hour at the airport for the shuttle - and it's supposed to go every 30 minutes from the airport. But the reception staff was very helpful and sorry for this mistake. Also, I didn't have bath towels in my room when I arrived, but when we asked for them they were delivered very quickly.
The positive things are that they do have a free shuttle bus service to the airport, which was very convenient. The restaurant is also very good, and the service is great. The location is good, but only if you do not intend to visit the city - otherwise the metro is on the other side of the highway. I would not stay here if I were to explore Madrid. The best way to go into the city is to take the free shuttle bus provided by the hotel to the airport, and from there take the Airport Bus into the Central of Madrid (price is 5 euros).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaG220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#135 of 436 in Madrid
1,457 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#80 of 436 in Madrid
1,364 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Hilton Madrid Airport
Hilton Madrid Airport
#74 of 436 in Madrid
2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nuevo Boston
#286 of 436 in Madrid
1,465 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axor Barajas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axor Barajas Hotel

Property: Axor Barajas Hotel
Address: Calle Campezo 4, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Axor Barajas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Axor Barajas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing