We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect night of rest after a long flight”
Review of Axor Barajas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Axor Barajas Hotel
Ranked #132 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I arrived into Madrid at 9pm after 26 hours of travel. Rather than trek into town, I thought I might stay close to the airport and get a good night of rest (and at half the price of a hotel in town!). There is a free shuttle which departs from T4 every 30 minutes. If you are keen to get to the hotel I would recommend a taxi. I must have arrived just after a shuttle departed so had to wait quite some time. The shuttle then detours via all of the terminals. By the time we reached the hotel, the bus was full and my bag was at the bottom of the luggage compartment so first on the bus = last in the queue for check in!! Having said that, the room was large, very comfortable bed, amazing shower and fantastic blackout curtains - room was pitch black. I didn't purchase breakfast with the room. In hindsight I should have as there is not a lot of options otherwise. The buffet was great with hot and cold options and good strong coffee. Reception also gave very good directions for transport into Madrid. Overall great value for money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We spent las night at the hotel. Apart from the fact that yhe hotel is very pleasent( clean, quiete, and very lovley service) we were very happy with the breakfast served (multiple choise from, ham, eggs cakes, dairy products, friuts, vegies..).and the cost is not expensive at all.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was only at the hotel for 4 hours, but my friend stayed overnight. Despite my short stay, it was totally worth it! Very clean rooms. Spacious bathrooms with vigorous toilets and showers. Nice and quiet. Front desk staff very very helpful with restaurant suggestions. Hotel restaurant Ox Carpaccio to die for! So amazing! Wifi fast. Living room type common area was so awesome!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr-sars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

One of the most friendly front desk staffyou can wish for!! Everyone from arrival to departure from the hotel are extremly friendly and try to make you feel at home! Hotel is new and everything works perfectly, hotel has an ideal location near Barajas airport!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

the rooms were so huge. the furniture was very modern and clean. The service was some of the best we'd experienced during our two weeks in Europe. it is really close to the airport but the location isn't great if you want to spend a lot of time in the city and don't have a rental car. what we had to do was take the hotel shuttle to the airport, then take the train into the city (30 minutes or so). when we were done, back to the airport, and then wait for the shuttle to the hotel. it would take us about 1 hour each way. But overall great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Axor Barajas has an excellent value for money. The hotel is brand new and modern, very close to Madrid Airport but with quite easy access to downtown as well.

The rooms are considerable spacious for European standards and very clean. In fact, I cannot remember the last time I found a room in a hotel so spotless and tidy. Moreover, the shower has very good water flow and pressure and a handful bathroom kit is provided, despite of not including a body lotion.

The breakfast will cost you additional 12 euros, what I think it is a bit expensive for Spain. This, of course, considering that by the same amount you can have a lunch with two courses, wine and desert in many good restaurants in Madrid. Anyway, I must concede that the breakfast buffet was very good and varied and included but was not limited to fruits, yogurt, juices, different types of cheese, ham, pastries and cakes.

Last but not least, I could not forget to mention the free transportation from the airport. It runs every half hour and it is a valuable resource to save you some bucks. Also you can get the bus number 77 just two blocks away from the hotel and reach the subway in a short time. And being in the subway you can get to any other place in the city easily.

But, well, life is not that perfect, isn't it? The hotel is situated in a region not well served by restaurants, pubs, markets and other services. So, if you are looking for this kind of "stone's throw away" facilities, that is definitely not the place for you. Nevertheless, I highly recommend Axor Barajas if you are looking for a hotel close to the airport offering a terrific value for money.

Room Tip: I stayed on a high floor (4th) in a room facing the inner side. Not a nice view but very quiet. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My Daughter and I were rudlely awoken , the couple in the room above were stamping around on the floor , then proceeded into the unmentioable , this was highly embarrasing and upsetting on our part ,
felt like they were in the room with us !!!!
We have travelled alot and stayed in many hotels , never encountered this problem before , not happy !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brightlights2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#155 of 437 in Madrid
1,525 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#107 of 437 in Madrid
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Hilton Madrid Airport
Hilton Madrid Airport
#81 of 437 in Madrid
3,116 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#154 of 437 in Madrid
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axor Barajas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axor Barajas Hotel

Address: Calle Campezo 4, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £58 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Axor Barajas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axor Barajas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing