We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "cold experience"...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Axor Feria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Axor Feria Hotel
Ranked #126 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
home
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A "cold experience"...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel is modern, minimalist, and cold.

It took their courtesy shuttle 1 hour and 10 minutes to pick us up from the airport terminal - even though they advertise the bus runs the terminal circle every 30 minutes. We called the hotel 4 times to advise we were waiting, and yet the bus driver told us he was unaware of our predicament (indeed, he blamed "the hotel" as if it were some foreign entity)... Because of the delay, we were not able to use their restaurant (it was closed by the time we checked in), and there was no other eatery open nearby. Only the personnel at the bar gave us some support offering chips and nuts.(They were nice!)

At check out time, we went through a highly impersonal and mechanical experience. There was not even a "Thanks!" not even eye contact, nor a request for any feedback.

I have stayed in several other hotels nearby (Clement, Tryp, etc.), and I will go back to them in any future opportunity.

Now, in all fairness, the rooms are nice, modern and clean - although they offer basically no toiletries.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luispi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    664
    171
    39
    37
See reviews for
234
553
142
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed one day between the flights.Suprisingly,the free shuttle bus was working ideally - after 10 minutes of waiting it arrived,and I had no problem booking it for the airport the next day.
Rooms are clean and cosy,and quite big for the Europe.It's only the thin walls,that might bother you,everything else is really good - the business center,that allows you to work on the computer and copy/print,the helpful frontdesk.
There's no restaurant for evening,but you can do it in the building next door - a 4 star also an Axor hotel.
It was funny to find a Wii-room in the hotel.
The location is not really good,far from metro,but you can have a bus around the corner,which takes you to the station,and back to the hotel - through the airport(go to the airport metro station and take that free shuttle bus outside).a bit tricky,but not that bad

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aigna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

If you have to spend the night at Madrid's Barajas airport, I suggest you try the Hilton or the Holiday Inn or a similar hotel.
Although we were there in March, we arrived on a particularly hot day (global warming?)
Despite our entreaties, we were told the a/c was not working because it was winter. It worked in seasons, not according to the temperatures inside and outside. Additionally, the televisions were rigged to only go so loud, and we had to sit one foot from the screen to hear anything. Maybe it was because of the paper-thin walls. Eating was accomplished either by going to the sister-hotel next door or going to a shopping area about fifteen minutes walk away. All in all, I think you can do better if staying at the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElQuesoGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Axor Feria (3***) is located very close to Madrid Barajas airport and it's an excellent option for a one night stay in case you have an early or late flight. The hotel is new (I was there in March 2012), very modern, good looking and clean. A kind of a no-frills hotel but confortable enough: room and bathroom were big, bed was very confortable and it had a big lcd. The only no was noise isolation: verg poor in case you have some noisy neighbours.
Buffet breakfast available in the hotel (overpriced). Lunch and dinner on the "sister" Axor 4**** hotel which is side by side (have not tried it).
There's a big shopping mall at 10 min walk.
There'a shutle from and to the airport (5-10 min drive) every half hour. Make sure you book your return because a lot of people use it.
Will use it again in the future, no doubts.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

A very confortable hotel, fantastic breakfast, quite place, not far away frim the center of Madrid (about 10 minutes by car).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex0103072010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here one night before taking a flight to my next destination the morning after. The location is very convenient. The staff is kind and helpful. The rooms are very nice put together in this spanish style "design hotel". The breakfast is very nice and complete. The special room rate I got included internet and parking, very convenient and I'm sure there's not a better deal with the hotels around the airport. I'm completely satisfied with my stay and will definetly come back if I'm by Madrid.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabernas, Spain
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Reception at 01-Hotel Axor Feria 3 Madrid on 2 February 2012. Having driven from Santander in very bad weather I (Val) and a girlfriend decided to stop in Madrid. On checking Bookings.Com on my friends phone we were told that there were 5 double rooms available at this hotel. We drove straight there arriving around 1900. At reception a Raquel Fernandez abruptly informed us that the hotel was full. We returned to our car and went back to Bookings.com on the Iphone to be told that there were still rooms available at this hotel. We therefore booked our room online taking the booking confirmation back into the hotel reception. We were then told by the same person that "it is impossible"! Raquel Fernandez then went into the office and spoke with someone, came back and said "now is possible". If the weather had not been so bad we would have gone elsewhere. The management of this hotel should be aware of how customer guests are being treated by this unhelpful receptionist. The rest of the hotel staff were very good and we enjoyed a comfortable and pleasant stay of one night.'

Room Tip: One night not long enough to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken and Val Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Axor Barajas Hotel
Axor Barajas Hotel
#91 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#173 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Hotel Nuevo Boston
#194 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#94 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axor Feria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axor Feria Hotel

Property: Axor Feria Hotel
Address: C/ Campezo 4, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Airport / Barajas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Axor Feria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axor Feria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing