We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great hotel"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Axor Feria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Axor Feria Hotel
Ranked #126 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
“"Great hotel"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

It is really nice to stay in the Axor, it was comfortable and modern and nice price too. I went there with my husband and 2 kids, the room was large and clean. I rent a car in the airport and the parking in the hotel cost me 18 euros extra, the space for the parking is really small so you have to be a good driver. For me and my family was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eylen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    664
    171
    38
    37
See reviews for
234
553
142
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

The Axor Feria's service was the absolute worse of any hotel I stayed in during my recent trip to Europe.

The Axor Feria experience began with me sitting on the airport transfer bus alone while the driver called to find out where the Axor Feria was located because he was only told about the Axor Barajas. They're side-by-side though the bus starts and ends its' trips at the Axor Barajas.

The check-in process demonstrated that there was absolutely no communication between staff members. Weeks and months before my arrival, I requested in writing a non-smoking room and transport to the airport for my departure. The front desk staff member had no idea about my previous requests. To emphasize the poor communication, I later realized that the front desk staff had neglected to tell me about the breakfast buffet (where and what time) and to give me the Wi-Fi password.

It's obvious that the front desk staff doesn't care about the guests, and I understand why.

Axor Feria general manager/director, Daniel Gonzalez behaved like the stereotypical used car salesman when I asked him why wasn't I billed correctly. During checkout, the Axor Feria billed me and I paid cash. Then, the Axor Feria charged my Mastercard for the second night after I had already checked out and left the hotel. Plus, the emailed receipt claims the payment was from a Visa credit card even though the Axor Feria charged my Mastercard.

Strange.

Gonzalez' response, "I don't see the problem". Let me tell you since 1985, I have never been charged for anything, at any hotel after I had already checked out.

When I asked why was I charged for two breakfasts when I was alone (the second person cancelled at the last minute), Axor Feria general manager, Daniel Gonzalez lied and claimed that the breakfast buffet was part of a package price. But their previous booking website indicates that the breakfast buffet was an additional 9 euro per person option. I have copies of the original booking. Even though I reserved two person breakfasts at some of the other hotels I used, all (except Axor Feria) billed for an one person breakfast without solicitation. The good hotels informed me that we reduced your final bill because only one breakfast was served.

Gonzalez goes on to mention "cheating" and "robbing" (guilty conscience) in his email because I complained after the Axor Feria charged me for a service I couldn't/didn't use and that cost them nothing additional. Go figure.

Finally, I witnessed the breakfast buffet attendant attempting to turn away latecomers even though the food was still available. She strongly discouraged the latecomers from entering the breakfast buffet room though she eventually relented. It was a completely unnecessary occurrence.

What I experienced at the Axor Feria; poor communication, irregular billing/accounting practices, dishonesty, bullying guests, clean modern rooms with no toiletries, no tissue or clock.

I believe that you can find better accommodations near the airport.

Thanks for reading.

MS

FYI: If you attempt to go out on the town at night, the taxi drivers will charge you a flat rate (to their advantage) instead of using the taxi meter.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank more_science
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Well located near the airport, a 10-minute shuttle ride, big rooms, a little impersonal (hey, it's an airport hotel). Perhaps a little more staff training?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rybas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Contemporary Hotel located close to the aIrport. Rooms are large and very clean. The whole hotel has a very modern feel to it. Breakfast included an extensive selection of cereals and continental style food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel design and decor are gorgeous. It's a very comfortable hotel. They also provide a airport shuttle for free (email them beforehand).
The downside is the location. We had to catch a bus + subway to get to town. However, the transportation is fairly good and fast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasantunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The employee are exceptionally helpful, we arrived earlier than our check-in time, as we travel with kids and infant we are kinda tired from the early flight we took. The receptionist help us to hasten the cleaner that prepare our room so that we can check in earlier, while waiting she usher us to wait at the second floor game room where my son got to play nintendo wii to keep him occupied.

To get to Madrid city centre, you have to take a bus and then change to a metro. We traveled with children but we found that it was not too troublesome. All bus are equiped with free wifi, it only took around 20mins max to reach a bus station with connecting metro.

Food wise, there is no restaurant nearby, you either eat in the hotel or you can buy food from Makro which is very nearby (but you would be deny entry if you are not a Makro member). It had connecting shuttle bus from and to the airport, so getting to the airport is easy and very near.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robseet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

By all means, this is a great overnight before an early flight. Rooms are functional and clean. Boarding pass printers were down though and there was no evidence that anything would be done about it. I went nextdoor to the Feria's sister hotel to get ours. The breakfast is downright terrible, but is something to fill your stomach until airport or airplane food. The shuttle is reliable, but don't forget to reserve your morning trip to the airport or you'll be left behind. Price is comparable to other airport hotels with a shuttle, but I think you can do better with Clement Barajas or Tach Hotel for about the same cost.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Axor Barajas Hotel
Axor Barajas Hotel
#92 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#175 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Hotel Nuevo Boston
#195 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#95 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axor Feria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axor Feria Hotel

Property: Axor Feria Hotel
Address: C/ Campezo 4, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Airport / Barajas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Axor Feria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axor Feria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing