We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the bottom of the barrel”
Review of Axor Feria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Axor Feria Hotel
Ranked #131 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“This is the bottom of the barrel”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is the worst experience I've had in a hotel in a very long time. My husband and I stayed here out of desperation. Our flight was overbooked and we needed a room for the night close to the airport. We chose this place because one of the airline employees said this is where many of the airlines puts it's crew for overnight layovers. That's the only thing that is keeping this place open. I can't imagine that they have repeat business from any discerning traveler. On the surface this place is ok when you walk into the lobby. Staff is unfriendly, but efficient. It goes down hill from there. The carpet in the walk areas are extremely stained, in many areas it appeared to be pet stains. I'm not sure. They do not have wash cloths! I went down to the front desk to ask for wash cloths for a shower later that day and was told they would be brought up to our room. At 8:00 we still had not rec'd them so I called and this time I was told they don't have wash cloths in the hotel. I asked what do guest use to shower and was told to use the towel provided. There was no clock in the room. Again this place is the bottom of the barrel I would definitely not recommend and would rather sleep in the airport than stay at this very filthy hotel. We ended up having to stay for one more night because of flight cancelation and we tried the Hilton Hotel near the airport. Much better experience!

Room Tip: Bring your own wash cloth if you decide to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wietz12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    673
    173
    40
    38
See reviews for
235
562
143
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the Axor Feria because we arrived late on a connecting flight and had to leave early again from the airport the next morning. Axor Feria was practically within the airport property, so it was a good location. Once arriving at the airport, we called the hotel to arrange for the free shuttle, as instructed. After a bit of difficulty getting through (and not being understood on the phone in English), the shuttle arrived after about 20 minutes. When we arrived at the hotel, there was a line about 7 parties deep (mostly from our shuttle) with only one person working the desk at a time. The other slight confusion was that there is another Axor Hotel right next door to the Feria, so some people would show up to check in at the wrong hotel. They were then instructed to go next door.

Despite the long check-in, the room itself was great. For 45 EUR a night, this place was well worth it. The room was clean and modern with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiva1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay in axor feria was amazing, very nice a courteous staff. All our request were attended on the spot. The shuttle driver was very kind but the only problem is that the shuttle is full most of the time so u have to make sure u leave early. We stay in hotels 3/4 of each month and we can say that it's up to the standard.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Younes E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irlanda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel with a small baby. The drawback was at the time I stayed the restaurant was closed and we had to eat, buy water etc from the hotel next door (a sister hotel). Very inconvenient. Had to wait 40 minutes to check in and found the reception staff downright rude, they served many people who seemed to jump the queue ahead of us to ask questions about buses, wifi etc and did not even seem to acknowledge that I was waiting to be checked in with a crying one year old child. Menu in the restaurant was very basic. I'm not sure if this is a four star hotel but I don't think it lives up yo the requirements. The decor is very clinical, no warmth or personality throughout.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyIrlanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Not bad at all, conveniently located near the airport, and with a free shuttle-bus service. Rooms clean, quiet and comfortable. 'Themed' relaxation areas on each floor - one of which reminded me of 1970's porn movie!
Didn't use the restaurant, but the bar didn't seem overpriced.

I wouldn't stay here if I was doing a romantic city-break, but it's perfectly adequate for an airport stopover.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our flight was late (due to the airport strikes in France, so hotel should have known this as many flights got delayed that day), we phoned the hotel for the pickup, they confirmed, but then they didn't send shuttle, we waited for about an hour and then we had to sleep at the airport instead.

No refund given, no communication. Worst experience during my recent travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArielDanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Director Comercial at Axor Feria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear ArielDannan:
We are really sorry about the fact that you slept in the airport instead in our hotel.
As you said in your opinion, there was a strike of the french air control and all the traffic was delayed. due to that reason we operated our regular shuttle service for the whole night ( normally is on request from 24:30 to 5:00am).
I dont know were the confusion could be, maybe you were not in the right place to be picked up, but we processed close to 350 checks in during the night and most of them were coming from the airport.
we are really sorry about your experience and I mean it, but I have to say that we operated our services normally that night.
Please feel free to contact me on the hotel telefone for further info about your case.
With kindest regards:
Daniel Gonzalez Romero.
Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here because I had an overnight layover in Madrid with an early morning flight. The pick up from the airport was easy, I just followed the signs to the hotel shuttle stop. I waited about 5-10 mins before the shuttle arrived( I didn't have to call, I believe it comes every 30 mins until a certain time). Check in was easy, I was able to reserve an early morning shuttle( 5am). The room was clean and comfortable. The wifi works great in the room and the bathrooms were very modern( shower was GREAT). All in all I had a great experience with the hotel, no complaints here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bayyinah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Axor Barajas Hotel
Axor Barajas Hotel
#92 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#176 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Hotel Nuevo Boston
#288 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#102 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axor Feria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axor Feria Hotel

Property: Axor Feria Hotel
Address: C/ Campezo 4, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Airport / Barajas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Axor Feria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Axor Feria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing