We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb facility and location with a homey touch”
Review of Mayerling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mayerling Hotel
Ranked #50 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb facility and location with a homey touch”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The only hotel in Spain where the showers do not leak onto the floors and breakfast and healthy snacks are included. Excellent location steps from Paza del Sol and Plaza Mayor. It is priced similarly to the Hotel Moderno in which I also had a few days, which is a almost a dump by comparison. Great reception and does not struggle with Wifi reception like so many Spanish hotels. Room was modest but by no means cramped.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    271
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
67
322
40
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This is a gem ! They called it basic, one chair in the room and open wardrobe, but what more could you want in the centre of Madrid. Clean, comfortable bed good hot shower, clean room. Staff welcoming , they are strict on the times you can arrive but will take care of your suitcases in a locked room. Safes available. Very good choice at breakfast and you can grab a drink any time. To be recommend. Chic yes, basic no. Should be more of these hotels in major cities.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

As this is a budget priced hotel my expectations were not high. I was very pleasantly surprised. The decor is minimalistic with an artsy touch. The reception is friendly, helpful and professional. This small hotel offers a complimentary breakfast- yogurts, cheeses, cereals, pastries, juices, fruits and coffees. Furthermore there are complimentary hot drinks and fruit throughout the day. A wide range of travelers stay here.
The small room is very well appointed and clean. High ceilings, comfortable bed, good Wifi signal, balcony.
This is steps from Tirso de Molina metro and the Plaza Mayor. It is a vibrant area so there is activity late into the night. If you are a light sleeper, ear plugs may be in order.
I would most definitely return to this hotel or check out their Barcelona or Amsterdam properties.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torontolady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel room was quite functional and quite small but as a single traveller staying for one night it met my needs. It was clean and had a good overhead deluge shower. I liked the fact that it was quite central, about ten mins walk from Sol Metro, the desk staff were pleasant and helpful, there was a perfectly adequate cold buffet breakfast included in the price and as a nice bonus the coffee machine and drinks fridge were complimentary 24\7. One small gripe is that after a long day sight seeing I like to kick back and find one English speaking news channel on the TV but every channel was in Spanish.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Paspatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Chic&Basic Mayerling is in a brilliant location, walking distance to most of the places somebody would like to visit in Madrid.
As the name indicates, it is chic and basic. Very clean spaces and nice decoration. Average to low building quality and poor sound insulation in rooms.
Overall very nice and comfy place in the best location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorgos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Spent four nights here (9th - 13th Jan) with the good lady, we usually go for something a bit more upmarket but we were drawn to this 'quirky' hotel. Have to say we had a great time here, the staff couldn't have been any more helpful than they were. When we first saw our room we were a bit taken aback but from the following day we bought into the model of what this place is all about. The breakfast is plentiful from 7 till 11:30am and the offer of free coffee, tea, juice etc all day is a bonus. Location wise it is perfect, 5 minutes from Puerta del sol and a wee bit longer to Plaza Mayor, shops restaurants and bars are all easily reached. We stayed on the 5th floor street facing and it was quiet. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Go with an open mind, once you understand the model of what chic & basic is about, you'll lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzbubble_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our stay was for a weekend in March 2013.

Firstly, the hotel is easy to find, and in very central location.

The entrance and the reception is very lean. You need to ring the bell whenever you would like to enter the building. Because there is only one on call person who is responsible for the reception.

Breakfast is very basic, but the ambient was warm like a home, the kitchen is very clean, coffee was delicious (which is important for us).

I would recommend the place for couples for a nice and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prossimofermata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
La Posada del Dragon
La Posada del Dragon
#55 of 435 in Madrid
680 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#63 of 435 in Madrid
1,677 reviews
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#69 of 435 in Madrid
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#25 of 435 in Madrid
1,291 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#40 of 435 in Madrid
2,497 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayerling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayerling Hotel

Property: Mayerling Hotel
Address: Calle Conde de Romanones 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Chic&Basic Mayerling)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Madrid
#68 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#110 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayerling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mayerling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Mayerling
Chic&Basic Mayerling Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing