We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or miss”
Review of Mayerling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mayerling Hotel
Ranked #46 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights. My first night I was put in the single unfortunate room on the ground floor that is next to the kitchen. You can hear everything that happens in the lobby and kitchen within this room. Luckily the second night they moved me to a room on the top floor and the conditions were great. I wish I could get my money back for the first night of no sleep due to the lobby noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RACHEL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a lovely time here, and enjoyed the great location. The staff happily encouraged us with our terrible spanish, printed our check in for the airline, and gave us advice and directions. The room was clean, the shower gave plenty of hot water and we slept well. The coffee machine made good coffee that was available all day and night. The breakfasts had variety, meat, fruit, cheese, croissant and we could eat as much as we wanted. Have nothing bad to say. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: We had a 5ht floor room and we had a bit of view over the roof tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lathem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

What an excellent value hotel. Get lots of free breakfast, and drinks at any point. The staff are keen to help and are very friendly. The room smelled a little upon return but nothing an open window didn't quickly cure. Rubbish view at the back but Madrid is just a quick walk. Great location for eateries. I thought the rooms were quite large for the price. Very good :-)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chrisr128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Get ready for minimal modern. Location is superb for staggering home after a night on the town. The staff were attentive and helpful. The shower had great pressure and a view of my wife. Her view was less awesome. Linens were high end. Ask for an interior room for a quiet spot.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Clean hotel with very nice staff. Breakfast was a great plus to get your day started. Easy walk to just about anywhere in the downtown area. The rooms were small but big enough. Nice, clean bathroom. No washcloths which is the norm in this price range in Europe. The only negative was the noise. Our room faced the street and even though there didn't seem to be any bars or cafes on the street there is an apartment building across the way. People noise lasted well into the 6am hour both Friday and Saturday night. Traffic noise as well. Great price for this location and cleanliness in Madrid but consider ear plugs when you visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We thought to give this little hotel a go and IT WAS GREAT ! Staffs are very polite and helpful in every single way. Very clean room, we had the superior room so it's a bit bigger than the standard room. Complimentary breakfast are just what we needed - Continential and like what other said- coffee was another bonus point to this hotel. Very close to local pub, 10 minutes walk to the Plaza del Sol. Found a few pubs/eatery places where local peoples go . Only suggestion would be, lack of storage spaces and hangers . Other than that, everything else was good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Nic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Been to Madrid many times so stayed in plenty of hotels all 4* and above this one was great. Very clean room, great staff, complimentary breakfast which was more than adequate for us coffee very good although didn't love the polystyrene cups lol. very close to metro which was a quiet station. It was basic in some ways ie the flooring but then had great touches like fab shower and proper hairdryer etc Great shops in street but unfortunately without exception they only sold to traders ... shame !! had an amazing time as the Champions league final was on albeit in Lisbon but as Atletico Madrid are our Spanish team worked out great for us with amazing atmosphere Saturday shame about result but fp to Real Madrid win win for the City. We would probably not stay here next time only because we gravitate towards certain areas where our friends are albeit it was only ten minutes away so maybe . Thank you to all xxx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules21holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 441 in Madrid
1,793 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Cortezo
Hotel Cortezo
#213 of 441 in Madrid
872 reviews
La Latina
La Posada del Dragon
La Posada del Dragon
#75 of 441 in Madrid
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 441 in Madrid
1,964 reviews
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#12 of 441 in Madrid
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayerling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayerling Hotel

Address: Calle Conde de Romanones 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Chic&Basic Mayerling)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Madrid
#68 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £46 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayerling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mayerling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic&Basic Mayerling Hotel Madrid
Chic And Basic Mayerling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing