We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice - don't hesitate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Santa Barbara
Ranked #227 of 279 Madrid B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We've just come back from a 5 night stay at Hostal Santa Barbara and I feel I had to write this review to offset the negative comments I read about the hostel on Trip Advisor. When we read the negative review, we had already booked and we were so shocked that we were about to cancel our booking. Fortunately in the end, we decided to give it a try because of its excellent location. It is not true that the place is where women of the night do their business nor that it is noisy. On the contrary, the guests there were young students who were very courteous and the hostel was quiet at night. In the flats beneath the hostel is a notary's office and a person in charge of security is at the ground floor. The plaza Santa Barbara is a tree-lined square with outdoor cafes and the mobile police were often seen doing their rounds. It is very close to Plaza Colon which is very chic and where many banks can be found. There is no curfew and we were given 3 keys to 3 different doors (including the front door). We could go out whenever we liked without having to ring a bell to go back in. The quad room we were given (we were 3 persons) was spacious and clean and so was the ensuite bathroom. But the best thing about the hostel was that it is just across the road (you just have to cross a zebra crossing) from the exit of the Alonso Martinez line which is such a relief when you return exhausted to your hostel.No breakfast was available but that was no problem with the innumerable cafes beneath and next to the hostel. On the downside, the staff did not speak a word of English (like most Spaniards)but we managed to communicate. The pillows were hard for my liking and the towels were harsh. However these are of little importance compared to the excellent location. We used to walk to Gran Via and Sol and thus economized on transport tickets.I would recommend buying 10 tickets for the price of 9.30euro.It's quite worth it when considering that a single ticket costs 1.50euro and moreover the tickets don't expire. You can use them whenever you like.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2011

This might seem like a normal hostel but it is not. Location is good but it is basically a place where women of the night do their business. It is extremely noisy with comings and goings (of all kinds) all night. I talked to the owners and they simply did not care. Their appearance on web sites looks quite good but its not worth staying here. Actually I dont think that anyone actually pays fr a room here. The place is filthy and unsafe. It should be closed down.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adricons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AleCiorcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank cgtorrijos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rossella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank noad38
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Asuncion
Hostal Asuncion
#362 of 437 in Madrid
112 reviews
Chamberi
Gran Versalles Hotel
Gran Versalles Hotel
#152 of 437 in Madrid
921 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Valencia
Hostal Valencia
#317 of 437 in Madrid
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
NH Alonso Martinez
NH Alonso Martinez
#69 of 437 in Madrid
916 reviews
Chamberi
Hostal Trevinca
Hostal Trevinca
#249 of 413 in Madrid
35 reviews
Chueca
Hostel Era Alonso Martinez
Hostel Era Alonso Martinez
#195 of 413 in Madrid
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Santa Barbara

Address: Plaza Santa Barbara 4, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 279 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: £39 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Santa Barbara 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hostal Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing