We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations”
Review of Hostal Santa Cruz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Santa Cruz
Ranked #39 of 277 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I definitely recommend this place if you are on a budget and want a good, simple room with really great hosts. It is in an excellent location if you want to be in the tourist center of Madrid, right between Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor. The hostal is inexpensive, up to date, and spotless. The rooms have double pane windows which keep out most of the street noise (you ARE in the middle of a big city, after all), air conditioning, and a safe (costs 1 euro every time you use it). Wifi is free and my room had a strong signal. The hostal is in an older building so the room had only two extra electrical outlets - something to keep in mind if you travel with a lot of electronics. The bathroom was very small and tight, especially the toilet, which could be a problem for large people. This is a simple hostal, so no breakfast, but there is plenty of food all around.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortsOfCall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    61
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
52
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2012

A friendly, cosy place in a family-run hotel, nice people, very careful, turning on the heat on cold rainy nights, I felt at home, poor internet but improving by the middle of my stay, sometimes few shampoo, or soap provided, I would recommend Hostel Santa Cruz for its view and location mostly,and for its tidiness, quietness and warmth, as well. I enjoyed my stay a lot

Room Tip: ask for shampoo or shower gel when needed and choose the room next to living room for the view and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florinda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Right in the center of town - just a few blocks from the Plaza Sol metro stop, this was a great jumping off point for all of our Madrid adventures. 3 of us stayed in a room with 3 twin beds. The room was tiny but we weren't paying much so we were fine with it.
The main reason I am docking 1 star is the promise of internet that was really only available when we were sitting right by the door.
On the plus side though, our neighbors were breaking the rules and smoking in their room (its supposed to be non smoking) and we could only smell it when we left our room. Our room was sealed enough that we couldn't smell it while in our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler_alb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a double room and liked it. We had some difficulty locating this hotel, many people did not seem to know the address, although it was quite near the Sol metro station. (It was our mistake, we took the wrong way first). The room is clean. We had a room with windows facing the back-side, so, no real view. But that was ok. The beds were clean and comfortable. Internet was slow. The good point about this hotel is its location - very near a couple of monuments and the metro station Sol. It's a busy area, seems to be the heart of Madrid! Lots of shops and restaurants nearby, not to mention bank automats. There is a good vegetarian fast-food nearby, called Maoz, where we dined on both nights. The man running the hotel spoke English and also gave us some useful info. The lift was slow, but it was not a big deal. I would stay here again if we visit Madrid once more!

Room Tip: Our room did not have a good view, but we did not mind it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The location is great for sightseeing in Madrid's old town. You're steps away from Plaza Mayor and less than a block or two from Puerta del Sol. We really enjoyed being so central and our destination was always a short walk from our room.

The staff here are all very friendly and helpful. Some have a bit of a language barrier and could barely understand English (or, conversely, our sad attempts at Spanish - we tried). We all understood each other eventually, however.

The room itself was a decent size, clean, and looked well kept up. The bathroom is tiny. I'm 5'1 and very petite and it was even difficult for me to maneuver around in there. They also didn't provide any shampoo, which isn't terrible but just good to know when you're packing.

I don't think I would stay at Hostal Santa Cruz again, but for the price and the location we don't regret our stay. If you're booking just know that it's a very very basic place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smarin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed in the Hostal for 2 nights in Madrid. Its centrally located in the Sol area (the most busstling part of town) and is a mere 100 meters from the Metro station. The staff were helpfull and courteous but could not speak much English. The rooms were small but very comfortable and not noisy at all. People looking to avoid the hassle of travelling to the centre of town and not looking for super luxury - this is the place for you. Its located very near most tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Try getting a room which does not face the street to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabster80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just back from a trip to Spain that started with two nights at Hostal Santa Cruz. Excellent location right off Puerta del Sol and close to Plaza Mayor. Only a few minutes walk to the metro. Rooms were clean and efficient, bathroom was clean as well. Free wifi in the lobby did extend into our room so that was a perk. I'd recommend it as a place to stay - can't beat the price either!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#223 of 435 in Madrid
216 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#232 of 435 in Madrid
243 reviews
Centro
Madrid City Rooms
Madrid City Rooms
#4 of 277 in Madrid
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
The Citadel by Pillow
The Citadel by Pillow
#34 of 277 in Madrid
66 reviews
Centro
Hostal Rober
Hostal Rober
#25 of 277 in Madrid
156 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Art Madrid
Hostal Art Madrid
#7 of 277 in Madrid
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Santa Cruz

Property: Hostal Santa Cruz
Address: Plaza de Santa Cruz, 6, 2do, Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Santa Cruz 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing