We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Hostal Ruano

Hostal Ruano
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Ruano
Ranked #300 of 412 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My friend and I booked this Hostal unaware that there was a difference between Hostals and Hostels in Spain. We had booked for 4 nights but didn´t even stay 3 hours. When we arrived the owner had no idea who we were or that we had made a reservation.The whole place is creepy and made us feel so uncomfortable. There are old men walking around half naked and lurking in the halls. The room was tidy but incredibly dated. I would never ever reccomend this hostal to anyone ever.

Room Tip: Just don´t go at all
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annak23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Ruano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stay in this hostal, during my short visit in Madrid really help me to maximum use of my time. As the location in the city centre puerta de sol which is the busiest area where shopping along the street with kind of things, restorans and only walking distance to some madrid tourist destination. Easy to reach where you can access by metro no 4 and stop at sol the hostel location just in front of the metro in the old building near the KFC. Dont thing you get anything from this hostel only the room, no heater in my room and I only found toilet I didnt find shower room and I have trouble since no one can speak english in this hostel. The room was big can accomodate upto 3 persons. For euro 25 I cant expect more........

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masrura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The hostel in itself isn't much, it's a building's floor made into a hostel - there are 3 others just like it in the nearby buildings. It is excellently positioned in plaza del Sol, which is the starting point for the busiest shopping street in Madrid and pretty much where everything happens.
We walked like crazy from the metro stop (which was literally in front of the hotel door) all the way up the main street because the hostel wasn't signaled in anyway, we had to ask some locals and eventually we found it.
There are 2 toilets one next to each other, very cold, separated by a thin wall (as any other room in the building). Also there is a shower down the hall. The owner is a really really old lady which only spoke Spanish, eventually we got along.
To our surprise, the wireless Internet worked perfect upon the owner granting us the network key. She also handed us with keys to our room, to the hostel door and to the building gates downstairs, in case we arrived back late in the night.
Other than this, we were constantly too tired to look for more quality, since we stayed for 2 nights and slept the third at Barajas airport on the departures floor.

All in all, Hostal Ruano makes for a super central, excellent position in Madrid with the very basic accommodations for a minimum price - works great if you're not picky.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Totoeskhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

This is most noisy hotel I have ever stayed in! The staff are ok but the owner is crazy and deaf. I stayed only 1 night which was more than sufficient! Arrived about 11 am after overnight journey and needed sleep and rest. Within a few minutes of arriving there was a fight in reception between the owner and someone, which continued very, very loudly for about 1 hour. After which there was a lot of banging of doors !! Other prospective guests arrived to discover the rooms they had been promised were unavailable and had to make alternative arrangements in other hotels.

In general there are insufficient toilet and bathroom facilities for the number of rooms in the hostal and they are not very clean. The bedsheets and towels are ancient and our room needed cleaning. The walls are thin and you can clearly hear guests in adjoining rooms having sex! After having stayed in hostals in Santiago de Compostela, Vigo and Lugo this was a big let down.

Never stay in this hostal unless it is unavoidable, it is not that cheap and there is a lack of security with reception being un-staffed most of the time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tamara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank corsancafeteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#47 of 438 in Madrid
2,661 reviews
Centro
Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#84 of 438 in Madrid
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#21 of 438 in Madrid
122 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#146 of 438 in Madrid
958 reviews
Centro
Hostal Abaaly
Hostal Abaaly
#116 of 278 in Madrid
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Ruano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ruano

Address: Plaza Mayor 1, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 412 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: £30 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Ruano 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Ruano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing