We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Palace Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Ranked #33 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Great location, it's next to metro station and near to city center. There are some bars and restaurants by the hotel. Starbucks is near, too :) Hotel staff was very helpful, they made a reservation in some clubs for us, booked a taxi, recommended the best bars and clubs in Madrid. The rooms are clean, the bathroom is nice and big. There was no balcony in our room. It was noisy outside during the night. There was only one mirror in the room-in the bathroom. There was a computer in the room and free internet for as many devices as you wish. If you are a smoker, and you booked a non-smoking room, there is some common yard outside (next to reception) with a couple of tables, where you can sit and smoke (the internet is working there, too).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marija B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay.
Im sorry you experienced some noise disturbance during your stay, unfortunately being in the centre of the city and in a lively plaza has its pros and cons.
Due to the design of the hotel, all rooms effectively have one mirror in the bathroom.
We hope to see you again soon in Madrid.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    397
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
317
381
34
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Negative-

Staff-
The male staff member who checked us in was lethargic at best, very rude, deliberately unhelpful, blatantly insulting. He refused to honor my Expedia booking, because he claimed his "colleague" who had taken my information had no authority to do so. Awkward! He was the only one in the hotel that was nasty, others were mostly cordial, though not knowledgable or helpful. Receptionist in charge of our airport transportation at departure wouldn't give us the time of day when the cars didn't turn up 30 minutes past the scheduled time. Had no apology, no recourse and couldn't be bothered once we'd settled the bill.

(In hind sight this could be because we're non white. Spain is beautiful, but we were sometimes taken for "Gypsies" who have been persecuted and segregated in Europe for centuries. That could also be the reason that several Spanish locals at were rude to us).

Breakfast china was very dirty both days that we ate, with coffee residue in cups, and food remnants on silverware. AT 9 Euros a person, it wasn't worth the skimpy selection, lack of refills for yoghurt, eggs, fruit, or cheese. The only thing that there was abundant of, was ham! We resorted to going down the road to a local bakery, for 6 Euros a person, we had excellent coffee, and fair breakfast foods...
Bedroom had no mirrors....aside from one in the bathroom. It was inconvenient to have three people share one mirror.

Positive-
Complimentary computer in every room so that we could do our own research when we needed to, and check our emails etc.
Bathroom was clean, clean towels etc.
Hotel is energy efficient.
Close proximity to Metro (Tribunal and Alonzo Martinez), the Metro in Madrid is very clean, very convenient. Taxis are cheaper if you are more than 3 people..and taxi drivers are very helpful and honest.
Plaza Santa Barbara is not as noisy as many other areas of Madrid, and still close enough to all the attractions and life of this amazing city.

Summary-don't look for service equality if you're brown, you should be ok if you're European, and/or caucasian. Amenities are good, location is perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd or 4th floor. Spain is a lively city, and there are restaurants in the plaza open till t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kavitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guests,
I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel. All comments, good are bad, are helpful to us in improving all areas of our service.
I would firstly like to examine your negative comments about the reception desk; I have asked for a full report from the receptionists that attended you on your check in and check out, and would like to explain the following so that there are no misunderstandings:
- You made a reservation for a certain date indicating that you would arrive the following day in the morning. As you didnt arrive the following day in the morning, your reservation was therefore cancelled in our sistem as per normal procedure.
- You arrived on that day after 9pm, this receptionist, that you call "nasty" and "lethargic" has confirmed to me that he prepared your room for you that night, made varios reservations in restaurants and tourist buses,helped you with your luggage and made the reservation for the shuttle service.
- Regarding the shuttle service. This is an external service and I have been informed that they called the hotel on that morning to let you know that they were running late and that this was communicated to you by the receptionist on duty.
I am sorry if you felt that the attention given to you by our staff was not satisfactory but I must insist that in no way is the treatment given in our hotel racist or influenced by our guests nationalities. We have multi national guests arriving on a daily basis to our hotel and we also have a mixed race staff in the hotel. To accuse us in any way of bad treatment due to your race is in my opinion very serious and I ask you please to reconsider your statements regarding this.
I am very sorry that you found our breakfast to be poor and of little selection. We are continually revising the products in our selection and hope to improve on this. I have spoken to the breakfast staff about the china and the silverware an thank you for pointing this out to us.
I am glad you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and would like to mention that if you would like to contact me at any time to clarify or expand on your comments I would be more than welcome to answer you directly.
Rebecca Evans
Manager
dtorsba@hthoteles.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

The Petit Palace SB is very well located in central Madrid, with great Mtero access and a convenient bar/restaurant scene at the doorstep. The bright, cool foyer leads to a euro-modern interior and rooms, which are slightly ascetic in character, but very functional. Travelling with our teen-age son meant finding a triple, and the room was spacious and comfortable and clean. Sparsely furnished with a king platform bed plus a twin, the only complaint was that the matress was very firm. We asked for and received extra pillows as well. Another chair would have been nice, but the desk was fitted with a laptop PC for easy web searching of venues and booking tickets. Free wifi as well. The grey/white color scheme is not your father's Holiday Inn, but is consistent with the High Tech Hotel chain ethos.
The bath was very large, with decent surface area and a terrific shower (No tub). Some might be put off by the patterned glass door, but it was discreet enough for a family on the go.
We had one hotel breakfast in the pleasant dining room, with a nice spread and good coffee, but there are plenty of local alternatives for breakfast nearby that are less costly. There's also an interior open courtyard for an 'urban beach' experience, with bicycles to lend.
Overall we were well taken care of while in town, and used the hotel as a base of operations on daytrips to Segovia, El Escorial, and Toledo. And taxis are always handy there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your great comments about our hotel.
We are happy that you liked our hotel and its decoration, and the room amenities and breakfast and its really nice of you to comment so positively about this.
We hope you come back soon.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. It was pretty easy to find having arrived by Metro, getting off at Alonso Martinez. The hotel is located in a square lined with bars and restaurants, with a Starbucks just round the corner by the Metro station.

The hotel itself looks to be a converted Victorian mansion. The room was a good size and included a safe and minibar. The bathroom was also of a good size, though water tended to leak from the shower area into the floor around the toilet (resolved by asking for an extra towel to lay by the shower). The air conditioning worked a treat despite outside temperatures reaching 30ºC. The free wifi and Sony Vaio laptop came in very handy and worked well. Satellite TV included only 1 English channel (Discovery Max, showing some interesting documentaries). Perhaps the inclusion of a 24hr news channel would have been useful.

I didn't try the breakfast which costs €10 (though there was a special August rate €8). Nor did I make use of the free bicycle hire but would come in handy for those who want to explore the city by bike.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and would definitely use this hotel should I visit Madrid again.

Room Tip: My room faced the courtyard and I experienced now outside noise. Rooms facing the square would comma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us.
We are sorry about the water leak in your bathroom, we are working on this problem and hope to have it resolved soon.
Im sorry you didnt find any other English speaking channel on your television, actually we have BBC World, CNBC and CNN International availiable in all rooms so I can only imagen that your television was dis-configured, but we could have fixed that if you had let us know.
Well we do hope that if you return to Madrid that you will come back and stay with us, you will always be welcome!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Very modern new interior you would not expect before entering. Location ideal when visiting the center of Madrid. Many good restaurants and bars nearby. Check in took some 30 minutes for 6 with lots of confusion but it all worked out in the end. Otherwise the staff was very friendly and helpful. Although we arrived very early we got 1 room to change and refresh. Rooms are good, but there was some noise from the street ... we slept fine anyways. Excellent bathroom. Everyting clean. Good but not excellent breakfast. Rooms have a laptop and wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guests,
Thanks for finding the time to write about your stay with us.
Im sorry about the delay while checking in but Im glad we were able to provide one of the rooms earlier for you even though it was early.
We take note that you did not find the breakfast to be excellent, and do hope that we can improve on this so that hopefully if you return to Madrid and stay with us, you will be able to give us a better grade on this service!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed 4 nights over a long weekend in June. This stylish, boutique hotel is well located in a pleasant area (Plaza Santa Barbara) right next to Alonso Martinez metro station. Only 5 minute walk to Chueca and 10 minute walk to the Gran Via shopping strip.
The room is spacious, clean and modern; containing a large bathroom and shower. The only minor quips are that the room is missing some basic but useful things such as box of tissues, soap holder, and there’s a lack of drawers on either side of the bed or desk where you’d expect there to be; however there’s plenty of room to place your belongings otherwise. Also, as odd as it sounds, the furniture had a lot of sharp corners so beware when moving around the room.
Free wi-fi throughout the hotel and a Sony Vaio laptop with internet in the room is a nice bonus. And the welcome notes and chocolates were a nice touch.
I’d recommend having the breakfast in the hotel (was €10 extra) as it’s difficult to get similar breakfast in cafes nearby. It’s a continental buffet with delicious pastries.
The hotel has a large courtyard for chilling out or tanning in the sun, though sadly doesn’t have a pool.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was good value for the price. We had a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guests,
Thanks so much for your detailed and positive account of your stay in our hotel.
We are sorry you found some amenities to be missing from your room. Although they are not part of the standard room amenities, I would like to mention that we do have Kleenex in the hotel and guests may request this at any time. Unfortunately we do not have soap holders and Im sorry if this caused an inconvenience for you.
I am a bit concerned about your comment on the furniture having sharp corners. This is the first comment we have of this type. We will be looking into this to see if there is anything we can do to improve on this point.
Thank you for recommending the breakfast, I heartily agree that it is a great way to start of your day in a healthy way.
We hope you come back soon to Santa Barbara!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

The room was big and very well equipped. Isolation is excellent as no noise came from outside or from other rooms. The PC in the room was very helpful as we were following the pictures our son was uploading daily to the net. The hotel has a clean and modern design that matches the old building style. Breakfast was excellent -with real orange juice-. In summary we would love to repeat the experience and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guests,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the in room laptop was of help to you.
We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#23 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Santa Barbara

Property: Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Address: Plaza Santa Barbara 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#30 Family Hotel in Madrid
#33 Business Hotel in Madrid
#47 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara, plus four stars, is located in the Plaza de Santa Barbara in the impressive Alonso Martinez area between “Genoa” and “Sagasta” streets and just a few steps away from the popular Gran Via, the lively neighbourhood of “Chueca” and “Plaza de Cibeles” in an area where many cinemas, restaurants, terraces, cafes and shops can be enjoyed. Located in the “Plaza de Santa Barbara” which has a lovely tree-lined boulevard, where bars set up their sidewalk tables in spring and summer, making it one of the liveliest “tapas” areas in Madrid. In the square, you'll also see the attractive classical French style Villagonzalo Palace and the unusual Casa de los Lagartos (House of Lizards), named after the stone carved lizards that decorate its upper storey. Nearby are also the most important business areas such as the “Paseo de la Castellana”, “Plaza Colon” and the National Courthouse of Madrid. This centrally located hotel is the ideal starting point for those who want to discover the main attractions of the city, including those wishing to relax in a hotel equipped with modern luxury facilities. Thanks to its unbeatable location, most of the major tourist attractions and monuments can be reached easily and comfortably by foot; such as the emblematic Puerta del Sol, the Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor. This boutique hotel, ideal for both tourists and business travellers, has been totally refurbished with the latest designer furniture and mod cons, while retaining its classic structure and emblematic facade. In the same building is the mythical "Junco" is found, which is one of the oldest known jazz clubs in Madrid. The famous Alfil and Maravillas Theatres are found close. The hotel has 82 magnificent rooms and 1 completely equipped apartment with kitchen include. The rooms are decorated with modern furniture which ensures for guests that nothing is missing during their stay there. All of them have free WIFI , hydro-massage showers and free safety boxes with capacity for laptops. We have also XXL rooms designed for "larger" people (with beds which are wider and longer than usual, high windows, doors and showers). The hotel has both a meeting room and some rooms which are convertible in small meeting or exhibition rooms.In the restaurant of the Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara offers a delicious buffet breakfast every morning consisting of a wide selection of products and dishes so that guests can start the day with the necessary energy. The hotel offers a unique free bike rental for guests and accepts pets (bedding and feeding bowls are available free of charge) and amongst many facilities and services offered by the hotel you may find; laundry service, free daily newspaper, room service (limited hours) fax and copying services, 24 hour reception desk and in room tea and coffee facilities (on request). The staff is professional and knowledgeable in the area, and can provide you with any kind of information about tours, dining, shopping and areas of interest. Do not hesitate to contact us with your special requests (honeymoon, type of bed), we will do everything possible to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Petit Palace Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Santa Barbara Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing