We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place...I'll definitely return !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Ranked #31 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

perfectly located to explore the city main attractions, very well served by metro
excellent for wandering at night from one bar to another one or just finding the right sport to listen to live music or dance ("junco" jazz club just next door )
plenty of restaurant and tapas bar just nerby (try the real italian pizza at Fratelli La Bufala, just on the backdoor !!! excellent italian food)
we had a rooftop room at 4th floor, with 3 beds and lots of spare room. big bathroom with huge shower. all rooms are very modern designed and equippend with a laptop always linked to theri WIFI line which we found extremely useful for planning our day and night out. and a large size flat tv screen
we also rent (free of charge) the bycycles for onoe day which actually is a great way to explore the city !
if I really have to find a remark.....let me think....huuuummmm not easy....ok there were no mirror in the room...:)
cannot say anything about their buffet breakfast cause we always had it out in the nearby coffe shop (just next door)
i 'll defintely try to return to this hotel next time I visit Madrid !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divenowworklater66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz C, Online sales department at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

I was absolutely delighted to read your fantastic feedback regarding your stay hope you will join us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
There are newer reviews for Petit Palace Santa Barbara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

The location was perfect - it was right at the Metro, near restaurants, and classier crowd/location.
Very nice experience. Hotel was centrally located on the nicer side of town with plenty of restaurants nearby, and the Metro right at the corner. The hotel has a patio that allowed us to just sit back, drink wine and chat with friends till very late. It was a perfect finish to the day.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz C, Online sales department at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

I was absolutely delighted to read your fantastic feedback regarding your stay hope you will join us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel is located in the very centre of Madrid, where all the nice stores and good bars & restaurants are. We only stayed here one night and were very pleased with the quality this hotel had to offer at the price we payed. Our room was spacious and quite luxurious, the badroom was big and recently redone, there was a laptop and dock station in the room, and the breakfast was incredible. There also were bikes we could use without extra charge.
The only negative point I could think of was the very unfriendly lady at the breakfast, but hey, everybody deserves to have a bad day once in a while. If we go to Madrid, we will try to book this place again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your positive review of your stay in our hotel.
We are glad you liked our breakfast and took advantage of the free bike rent.
I am extreemly sorry that you recieved a negative treatment from the breakfast waitress. I have been able to identify the person that attended you and have taken measures to make sure that this does not happen again and would like to thank you for pointing it out to us.
We do hope you will choose our hotel again for your next stay in Madrid and hope to provide you with a perfect service.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Pros:
We just got back from our trip to Madrid and we reallyyy enjoyed our stay at Petit Palace Santa Barbara. We booked one triple and one double room and because we have asked for our rooms to be next to each other, they prepered 2 triples for us (without extra charge).
-High Tech Hotel: This hotel is one of the high tech hotels and it means you have free access to internet, there is a laptop in every room and there is a printer at the front desk and they won't charge you for using it.
-Staff: The staff are the best possible collection of nice, helpful, friendly and polite people. They really made us feel like home. We had several requests during our stay and they were all perfectly done.
-Rooms: Both rooms were big enough, clean and comfortable, and the bathrooms were very clean.
-Location: The location is perfect. It's a 15 minute walk to puerta del sol and a 10 min to Gran via avenue. The neighborhood is safe and suitable for a family. There are many bars and cafes around. Once I stayed in a hotel in puerta del sol, but I prefered this one because it's out of city center's crowded streets, yet it's only a walk away.
-Check-out: The check out is at 12 but they let us stay until 1, and then they kept our luggage in a room so we could enjoy the rest of the day before leaving the city at 5.

Cons:
There was really nothing to complain about. The only thing was that we had attic rooms (as they explained that most of the triples are in the 4th floor). So the room just had a small window (it wasn't an issue since the room is perfectly bright with the lights) and also it made the rooms seem smaller and you may bump your head against the ceiling. But when we stated this to the front desk, they offered to change the rooms and even showed us other rooms on the first floor.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but the 4th floor has attic rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nasim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Guests,
We are very happy that we were able to make your stay a pleasant one and would like to thank you for sharing this with everyone on Tripadvisor.
Whenever its posible, we assign rooms on the same floor or near to each other for multiple bookings. We also concede free late check outs whenever the availibility allows us to do so. Its true that our hotel is ideally located in an area abuntant with bars and cafes and just a few minutes walking from the city centre.
Effectively, most of our triple rooms are found on the 4th floor which are loft type rooms. If you ever decide to return please let me know previously and we would do our best to assign you another type.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Great location, it's next to metro station and near to city center. There are some bars and restaurants by the hotel. Starbucks is near, too :) Hotel staff was very helpful, they made a reservation in some clubs for us, booked a taxi, recommended the best bars and clubs in Madrid. The rooms are clean, the bathroom is nice and big. There was no balcony in our room. It was noisy outside during the night. There was only one mirror in the room-in the bathroom. There was a computer in the room and free internet for as many devices as you wish. If you are a smoker, and you booked a non-smoking room, there is some common yard outside (next to reception) with a couple of tables, where you can sit and smoke (the internet is working there, too).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marija B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay.
Im sorry you experienced some noise disturbance during your stay, unfortunately being in the centre of the city and in a lively plaza has its pros and cons.
Due to the design of the hotel, all rooms effectively have one mirror in the bathroom.
We hope to see you again soon in Madrid.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Negative-

Staff-
The male staff member who checked us in was lethargic at best, very rude, deliberately unhelpful, blatantly insulting. He refused to honor my Expedia booking, because he claimed his "colleague" who had taken my information had no authority to do so. Awkward! He was the only one in the hotel that was nasty, others were mostly cordial, though not knowledgable or helpful. Receptionist in charge of our airport transportation at departure wouldn't give us the time of day when the cars didn't turn up 30 minutes past the scheduled time. Had no apology, no recourse and couldn't be bothered once we'd settled the bill.

(In hind sight this could be because we're non white. Spain is beautiful, but we were sometimes taken for "Gypsies" who have been persecuted and segregated in Europe for centuries. That could also be the reason that several Spanish locals at were rude to us).

Breakfast china was very dirty both days that we ate, with coffee residue in cups, and food remnants on silverware. AT 9 Euros a person, it wasn't worth the skimpy selection, lack of refills for yoghurt, eggs, fruit, or cheese. The only thing that there was abundant of, was ham! We resorted to going down the road to a local bakery, for 6 Euros a person, we had excellent coffee, and fair breakfast foods...
Bedroom had no mirrors....aside from one in the bathroom. It was inconvenient to have three people share one mirror.

Positive-
Complimentary computer in every room so that we could do our own research when we needed to, and check our emails etc.
Bathroom was clean, clean towels etc.
Hotel is energy efficient.
Close proximity to Metro (Tribunal and Alonzo Martinez), the Metro in Madrid is very clean, very convenient. Taxis are cheaper if you are more than 3 people..and taxi drivers are very helpful and honest.
Plaza Santa Barbara is not as noisy as many other areas of Madrid, and still close enough to all the attractions and life of this amazing city.

Summary-don't look for service equality if you're brown, you should be ok if you're European, and/or caucasian. Amenities are good, location is perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd or 4th floor. Spain is a lively city, and there are restaurants in the plaza open till t...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kavitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Guests,
I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel. All comments, good are bad, are helpful to us in improving all areas of our service.
I would firstly like to examine your negative comments about the reception desk; I have asked for a full report from the receptionists that attended you on your check in and check out, and would like to explain the following so that there are no misunderstandings:
- You made a reservation for a certain date indicating that you would arrive the following day in the morning. As you didnt arrive the following day in the morning, your reservation was therefore cancelled in our sistem as per normal procedure.
- You arrived on that day after 9pm, this receptionist, that you call "nasty" and "lethargic" has confirmed to me that he prepared your room for you that night, made varios reservations in restaurants and tourist buses,helped you with your luggage and made the reservation for the shuttle service.
- Regarding the shuttle service. This is an external service and I have been informed that they called the hotel on that morning to let you know that they were running late and that this was communicated to you by the receptionist on duty.
I am sorry if you felt that the attention given to you by our staff was not satisfactory but I must insist that in no way is the treatment given in our hotel racist or influenced by our guests nationalities. We have multi national guests arriving on a daily basis to our hotel and we also have a mixed race staff in the hotel. To accuse us in any way of bad treatment due to your race is in my opinion very serious and I ask you please to reconsider your statements regarding this.
I am very sorry that you found our breakfast to be poor and of little selection. We are continually revising the products in our selection and hope to improve on this. I have spoken to the breakfast staff about the china and the silverware an thank you for pointing this out to us.
I am glad you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and would like to mention that if you would like to contact me at any time to clarify or expand on your comments I would be more than welcome to answer you directly.
Rebecca Evans
Manager
dtorsba@hthoteles.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The Petit Palace SB is very well located in central Madrid, with great Mtero access and a convenient bar/restaurant scene at the doorstep. The bright, cool foyer leads to a euro-modern interior and rooms, which are slightly ascetic in character, but very functional. Travelling with our teen-age son meant finding a triple, and the room was spacious and comfortable and clean. Sparsely furnished with a king platform bed plus a twin, the only complaint was that the matress was very firm. We asked for and received extra pillows as well. Another chair would have been nice, but the desk was fitted with a laptop PC for easy web searching of venues and booking tickets. Free wifi as well. The grey/white color scheme is not your father's Holiday Inn, but is consistent with the High Tech Hotel chain ethos.
The bath was very large, with decent surface area and a terrific shower (No tub). Some might be put off by the patterned glass door, but it was discreet enough for a family on the go.
We had one hotel breakfast in the pleasant dining room, with a nice spread and good coffee, but there are plenty of local alternatives for breakfast nearby that are less costly. There's also an interior open courtyard for an 'urban beach' experience, with bicycles to lend.
Overall we were well taken care of while in town, and used the hotel as a base of operations on daytrips to Segovia, El Escorial, and Toledo. And taxis are always handy there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your great comments about our hotel.
We are happy that you liked our hotel and its decoration, and the room amenities and breakfast and its really nice of you to comment so positively about this.
We hope you come back soon.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 438 in Madrid
1,332 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Santa Barbara

Address: Plaza Santa Barbara 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#30 Family Hotel in Madrid
#33 Business Hotel in Madrid
#47 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £105 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara, plus four stars, is located in the Plaza de Santa Barbara in the impressive Alonso Martinez area between “Genoa” and “Sagasta” streets and just a few steps away from the popular Gran Via, the lively neighbourhood of “Chueca” and “Plaza de Cibeles” in an area where many cinemas, restaurants, terraces, cafes and shops can be enjoyed. Located in the “Plaza de Santa Barbara” which has a lovely tree-lined boulevard, where bars set up their sidewalk tables in spring and summer, making it one of the liveliest “tapas” areas in Madrid. In the square, you'll also see the attractive classical French style Villagonzalo Palace and the unusual Casa de los Lagartos (House of Lizards), named after the stone carved lizards that decorate its upper storey. Nearby are also the most important business areas such as the “Paseo de la Castellana”, “Plaza Colon” and the National Courthouse of Madrid. This centrally located hotel is the ideal starting point for those who want to discover the main attractions of the city, including those wishing to relax in a hotel equipped with modern luxury facilities. Thanks to its unbeatable location, most of the major tourist attractions and monuments can be reached easily and comfortably by foot; such as the emblematic Puerta del Sol, the Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor. This boutique hotel, ideal for both tourists and business travellers, has been totally refurbished with the latest designer furniture and mod cons, while retaining its classic structure and emblematic facade. In the same building is the mythical "Junco" is found, which is one of the oldest known jazz clubs in Madrid. The famous Alfil and Maravillas Theatres are found close. The hotel has 82 magnificent rooms and 1 completely equipped apartment with kitchen include. The rooms are decorated with modern furniture which ensures for guests that nothing is missing during their stay there. All of them have free WIFI , hydro-massage showers and free safety boxes with capacity for laptops. We have also XXL rooms designed for "larger" people (with beds which are wider and longer than usual, high windows, doors and showers). The hotel has both a meeting room and some rooms which are convertible in small meeting or exhibition rooms.In the restaurant of the Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara offers a delicious buffet breakfast every morning consisting of a wide selection of products and dishes so that guests can start the day with the necessary energy. The hotel offers a unique free bike rental for guests and accepts pets (bedding and feeding bowls are available free of charge) and amongst many facilities and services offered by the hotel you may find; laundry service, free daily newspaper, room service (limited hours) fax and copying services, 24 hour reception desk and in room tea and coffee facilities (on request). The staff is professional and knowledgeable in the area, and can provide you with any kind of information about tours, dining, shopping and areas of interest. Do not hesitate to contact us with your special requests (honeymoon, type of bed), we will do everything possible to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Santa Barbara Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing