We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel,great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Ranked #32 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Benalmadena, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel,great location”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We were a family of 4 sharing a quad room. Staff are really helpful and friendly the rooms are of a good size.
The location of the hotel makes most places within walking distance. If you need to travel a bit further then there is a metro station virtually outside the hotel.
The only couple of things that could have improved our stay was no full length mirrors in the bedroom which when traveling with two teenage daughters and my wife they would have made good use of. Also the bathroom walls are a bit thin so everything can be heard!

Room Tip: Rooms to the side of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks so much for writing about your stay in our hotel.
We are really pleased that you were overall happy with your stay and the accomodation.
We do appologise about not having any full length mirrors in the rooms. Unfortunately this is part of the design and we do not have it on the agenda to buy them in the near future. We do however, have a few full length mirrors availible on request for special events, so if you ever do decide to come back, let us know and we will put one in your room.
Im sorry also if you found the bathroom walls to be thin, I cant promise that we will fix that unfortunately and hope it would not deter you from staying with us again.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    446
    68
    21
    9
See reviews for
367
421
38
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

A very pleasant small hotel with excellent, helpful staff. Good hot and cold breakfast buffet and comfortable small room. Full body shower in the bathroom was perfect antidote to jet lag. Hotel is very convenient close to the metro and a pleasant walk to all the major downtown sights. Excellent wireless.

Only complaints were lack of iron and ironing board and, as mentioned by others, no coffee or tea in room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osprey412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for leaving your comments about your stay in our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and are sorry about the lack of tea and coffee making services.
We do however have irons and ironing boards availible at the reception desk, all guests have to do is call to the reception and we will take them up to their rooms.
We do hope you come back soon!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at this place in oct 2012, location is very good, hotel rooms are good and have laptops in all rooms with free wifi too, only problem is that they have limited Tv channels and just one english channel, rooms dont have tea or coffee maker,they should atleast provide a water heater and few tea bags.Its purely a business hotel and for people who are out the whole day n return after dining out side.The only provision they have is morning b'fast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments.
We are sorry that you only found one English channel on your TV. We actually have a list of channels in the information booklet in the rooms and in English we have BBC World, CNN International and CNBC. If guests ever have problems finding them we invite them to call us at the reception desk so we can go to their rooms and help.
As a chain, we dont provide tea or coffee making facilities, but we do have kettles availible on request at the reception desk, once again, we invite all guests to ask us for anything they need directly at the reception.
We are situated right on the Plaza Santa Barbara, where there are various bars and restaurants. We do have business guests during the week but at the weekend it is purley vacational.
I hope if you ever return we will be able to assure that your stay is more pleasant.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This hotel was great: the technology available in the room, the design, location, everything was just great. It was a 10 minute walk from La Gran Via. Great small restaurants all around it. Cannot comment on price since it was award travel.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank luis_turrialba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel.
Its true that the hotel is ideally located at just 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre, on a really lively Plaza with lots of restaurants and bars close by to choose from.
We hope to see you again soon in Santa Barbara!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

After reading many traveler review and blogs sites, I settled on this property and we (wife, couple in our 30s, platinum reward members w/Marriott) departed for our 6 day holiday in Spain. I was not disappointed with my choice and let me explain why.

If this is the type of trip where you want to be right on top of the action by being close to nightclubs, crowded pedestrian streets, and the hearing the 'energy' of the city, this is not the property for you. However, if you want a "quiet oasis" that will let you recharge after visiting the many crowded tourist sites and get a good feeling of daily life of a madrileno, this property should be on your list.

If you want a responsive management staff (thank you Rebecca!) that will email with you to alleviate any concerns prior to departing for your trip, this property should be on your list. If you want a friendly, responsive front desk staff (thank you Patricia!) that will offer suggestions and assistance, this property should be on your list.

If you like the convenience of public transportation by having a METRO stop (Alonzo Martinez) that serves as a HUB (3 lines) approximately 50 yrds from the entrance of your hotel that will get you anywhere in the city in less 10 minutes and cost 3 euros, this property should be on your list (taxis are easily accessible steps away and will get you anywhere for approx. 7-10 euros, depending on traffic). As a FYI, we normally grabbed a cab when headed down to La Latina (Cava Baja for tapas).

During your trip, you will visit/eat/drink in many plazas (Plaza Mayor, Santa Ana, Dos Mayo) throughout the city. If you prefer to have a popular plaza that is crowded all day where you will probably be the only tourists right outside your doorstep that serves cafe con leches and pan con acietes y tomates (breakfast) and cold Mahou with free chips/las acietunas (olives), this property should be on your list.

Keep in mind, Madrid is an extremely walkable city, so if you have any interests in visiting the neighborhoods of Malasana (think East Village in NY/Tribunal METRO stop), Chueca (gay/trendy/hip boutiques), and Salamanca (fine dining/shopping) which all surround Santa Barbara, this property should be on your list. Also, there are many local (no chain stores) shops down many of the side streets from the propery, grab a map and explore. If you plan on visiting Retiro Park, the best way to see the ENTIRE park is on a bicycle and Santa Barbara has three of them that you can reserve for free.

Overall, the property itself is very modern. On two of the days we stayed here, I noticed they had a photo shoot in the courtyard and lobby areas. The room has modern appliances (Mac computer, flat screen tv, iPod clock), but we didn't spend much in the room other than to change clothes/sleep/shower and you probably will not either.

I do have some 'minor' gripes that are worthy of mentioning. The bathroom in the room we stayed in has a 'saloon' style door, which does not offer much privacy - be very comfortable with your travel companion. Before getting into the shower, be sure to put a towel down on the floor or you could possibly slip on the wet tile due to the spray, as there is no door to the shower to prevent spray. You will sleep comfortably, but the bed does not give and they offer the very thin (not foam) pillows.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LaPlayaHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Guests,
We are really happy that we lived up to your expectations.
I do agree that our location which is just outside the very centre of the city is ideal and allows you to escape from the hustle bustle of the central tourist areas.
I was glad to have been able to help you with your requests previous to your arrival and I am happy that you found our front desk staff to be helpful to you.
Regarding your room I would just like to clarify that the computers are Sony Vaio (hopefully we will upgrade one day and have Mac´s!).
I am sorry you found the bathroom door to hinder privacy. Unfortunately this is the design in all the rooms. In some rooms however, the position of the bathroom is different and not right in front of the bed.
We are aware that the design of the shower screen does allow in some room for excessive water to spray onto the floor and we are looking into ways to fix this.
Our matresses are still quite new and we presum that this is the reason for them being hard. We do have extra pillows availible for guests that find them to be too thin.
We do hope you return soon to Madrid and hope you would choose our hotel again for your stay.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Directora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, and the location was perfect for us. Our room was on the courtyard side so we could avoid the street party noise and that worked well for us. There was some annoying American pop courtyard music piped in during the day and the courtyard echoes door slams, but that was a small thing compared to the cleanliness, the very good firm mattress and most importantly the excellent location. As others have said, the metro is a mere shuffle away, and this is a city where walking everywhere is the whole point if you ask me. If you want a hassle-free trip to the airport, hop on the metro. I thought the breakfast was well worth it. We would tank up on a big breakfast and coffee and then be good to go until our next tapas or refreshment stop and not need another meal until late at night. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Checking out and having our boarding passes printed out was effortless. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time out to write about your experience in our hotel.
I take note that the music from the patio maybe should be turned down a little so that it doesnt disturb guests in the rooms facing it. Thank you for pointing this out to us.
Im glad you slept well and enjoyed our breakfast, we do indeed try to make sure there is lots of variation and healthy choices so guests may "tank up" as you say!
Thank you for recommending us and come back soon.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Well designed hotel with modern fit out. Family rooms using contemporary tiles in bathrooms - retro striped wallpaper - dark grey heavy stage curtains which looked great and assisted with sound - simple contemporary light fittings - double bunk bed with well placed stairs and large queen sized beds (bed mattress was a little hard). Staff at reception were quick with the paperwork and were able to assist with early check-in. There is a breakfast cafe - but if you walk a couple minutes towards downtown there is a few authentic local cafes for breakfast and lunch with coffee, tea, cake, tortilla (and beer). Outside door there is many bars and restaurants - but for dinner and beyond it is only 5 minute walk to the alternate area into the Tribunal area (if you leave Calle Fuencarral which has the known brand shops - there is some good second hand shops interspersed with young designers, delicatessen, plaza etc) with great bars and restaurants. The Metro is easy in Madrid and Alonso Martinez Metro is only 1 minute walk from the entrance which will get you to wherever you want in downtown (Opera, Palacio Real), or to Calle Serrano (Shopping), Atocha (Reina Sofia - Picasso 'Guernica' + Real Jardin Botainco). But if you are tourist + have the time - you can walk to all these area's as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Scratch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your your detalled comentary about your stay with us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry you found the mattresses to be a bit hard, I can only say in our defense that they are still quite new and for that reason may not have "softened" as much as they could.
As you mention, the hotel is ideally located in a really well communicated area, you literally can get to most tourist spots and places of interest by walking or metro.
We hope to see you again soon in Madrid.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 436 in Madrid
1,641 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 436 in Madrid
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Santa Barbara

Property: Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Address: Plaza Santa Barbara 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#30 Family Hotel in Madrid
#33 Business Hotel in Madrid
#47 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara, plus four stars, is located in the Plaza de Santa Barbara in the impressive Alonso Martinez area between “Genoa” and “Sagasta” streets and just a few steps away from the popular Gran Via, the lively neighbourhood of “Chueca” and “Plaza de Cibeles” in an area where many cinemas, restaurants, terraces, cafes and shops can be enjoyed. Located in the “Plaza de Santa Barbara” which has a lovely tree-lined boulevard, where bars set up their sidewalk tables in spring and summer, making it one of the liveliest “tapas” areas in Madrid. In the square, you'll also see the attractive classical French style Villagonzalo Palace and the unusual Casa de los Lagartos (House of Lizards), named after the stone carved lizards that decorate its upper storey. Nearby are also the most important business areas such as the “Paseo de la Castellana”, “Plaza Colon” and the National Courthouse of Madrid. This centrally located hotel is the ideal starting point for those who want to discover the main attractions of the city, including those wishing to relax in a hotel equipped with modern luxury facilities. Thanks to its unbeatable location, most of the major tourist attractions and monuments can be reached easily and comfortably by foot; such as the emblematic Puerta del Sol, the Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor. This boutique hotel, ideal for both tourists and business travellers, has been totally refurbished with the latest designer furniture and mod cons, while retaining its classic structure and emblematic facade. In the same building is the mythical "Junco" is found, which is one of the oldest known jazz clubs in Madrid. The famous Alfil and Maravillas Theatres are found close. The hotel has 82 magnificent rooms and 1 completely equipped apartment with kitchen include. The rooms are decorated with modern furniture which ensures for guests that nothing is missing during their stay there. All of them have free WIFI , hydro-massage showers and free safety boxes with capacity for laptops. We have also XXL rooms designed for "larger" people (with beds which are wider and longer than usual, high windows, doors and showers). The hotel has both a meeting room and some rooms which are convertible in small meeting or exhibition rooms.In the restaurant of the Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara offers a delicious buffet breakfast every morning consisting of a wide selection of products and dishes so that guests can start the day with the necessary energy. The hotel offers a unique free bike rental for guests and accepts pets (bedding and feeding bowls are available free of charge) and amongst many facilities and services offered by the hotel you may find; laundry service, free daily newspaper, room service (limited hours) fax and copying services, 24 hour reception desk and in room tea and coffee facilities (on request). The staff is professional and knowledgeable in the area, and can provide you with any kind of information about tours, dining, shopping and areas of interest. Do not hesitate to contact us with your special requests (honeymoon, type of bed), we will do everything possible to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petit Palace Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Santa Barbara Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing