We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Ranked #32 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Don t trust the website... the rooms do not look like the ones presented... it is cold, bad taste, fake design, you don t feel good in,..
it is called High Tech hotel, but the wifi is the slowest in the world...
The rooms are not expensive but it is already too much for this mainstream hotel group designed hotel, pretending to be a deign boutique hote...
Forget! (even if the location is great)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest,
I would firstly like to appologise to you because it is quite clear that you did not enjoy your experience in our hotel.
We are extreemly conserned that you found your stay to be so dissapointing and I would greatly appreciate it if you could let me know if you saw a picture that did not correspond to our rooms on the website you booked as we are very careful to not present any misleading information on the web.
We are sorry if you experienced problems with the Wi-Fi during your stay, I understand this was due to a puntual occurance because in general it works very well and we dont have complaints about it. If you had let us know during your stay we would have been more than happy to compensate you for this defect in the service that we offered.
Once again we are sorry for the faults that you found in our hotel. If you would like to contact me personally to let me know about your stay please feel free to do so.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    440
    68
    21
    9
See reviews for
351
420
35
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Positive: central, clean, modern, good bars and restaurants around, our room was arge enough and the laptop something you could use easily. Orange juice and coffee top at breakfast time.
*
Negative: a lot of noise coming from the streets if you have a room giving outside. Even much more noise at night because of the great number of restaurants and bars around! Breakfast room too small and not cosy. Beside coffee and orange juice, breakfast products of poor quality.
*
Too noisy for us; would not come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrik_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guests,
We are glad that you enjoyed the rooms and the location and very sorry that you experienced a high noise level from the street during your stay.
Unfortunately, we are situated on a lively plaza in the centre of Madrid. Our windows comply with all the regulations but unfortunately there are some instances in that the noise level outside is high and in these cases, we can offer to guests interior rooms if they are having problems.
We are again sorry you didnt enjoy our breakfast or the room, we do try to make sure that we have good quality products to please every guests taste but unfortunately in your case we have not succeeded.
Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to go into further detail about your stay, I would be more than happy to speak with you directly.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I stayed at the Petit Palace Santa Barbara based on the recommendation of a friend whose husband is from Madrid. It was a good choice and if I find myself in Madrid again, I'll happily return.

The hotel is about a half hour from the airport via a very easy metro ride. The metro is less than a block from the hotel.

The rooms are modern and efficient, so if you're looking for old European charm, this place isn't for you. Each room conveniently has a laptop computer with wireless available for guest use (for free). I was traveling with friends, and we all appreciated the reasonably spacious size of the rooms, as well as efficient use of space.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guests,
Its really nice of you to make such nice comments about our hotel.
Its always good to be able to live up to someones recommendations!
We´d be more than happy to see you again here in Santa Barbara!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

Nice small hotel 30 mins by metro from the airport. Located on a small square there are a number of restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk. Our room was small but very clean with a fantastic shower! If you are a couple who like to cuddle make sure you book a double room with a double bed. We had twin beds which rolled apart during the night. Ok for a short stay but not ideal. Staff were helpful and friendly. Booked through travel republic on an early purchase basis so saved a lot on the hotel. Would definitely return.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Guests,
It was really nice to recieve such a nice review about our hotel.
We are really glad you liked the shower and the location.
I´m sorry you found your room to be small, I would like to mention that all comply with the 16m2 minimum standard set by the Spanish Council in order to achieve 4* status, and that most are actually over 20m2 and some even have 35m2! So next time you come, please contact me directly and I will make sure you get a spacious room.
I also take note about the bedding, effectively, we have rooms with double and twin beds, and as bed type is on request, its sometimes hard to comply with all guests petitions when there is high demand.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalmadena, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We were a family of 4 sharing a quad room. Staff are really helpful and friendly the rooms are of a good size.
The location of the hotel makes most places within walking distance. If you need to travel a bit further then there is a metro station virtually outside the hotel.
The only couple of things that could have improved our stay was no full length mirrors in the bedroom which when traveling with two teenage daughters and my wife they would have made good use of. Also the bathroom walls are a bit thin so everything can be heard!

Room Tip: Rooms to the side of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks so much for writing about your stay in our hotel.
We are really pleased that you were overall happy with your stay and the accomodation.
We do appologise about not having any full length mirrors in the rooms. Unfortunately this is part of the design and we do not have it on the agenda to buy them in the near future. We do however, have a few full length mirrors availible on request for special events, so if you ever do decide to come back, let us know and we will put one in your room.
Im sorry also if you found the bathroom walls to be thin, I cant promise that we will fix that unfortunately and hope it would not deter you from staying with us again.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

A very pleasant small hotel with excellent, helpful staff. Good hot and cold breakfast buffet and comfortable small room. Full body shower in the bathroom was perfect antidote to jet lag. Hotel is very convenient close to the metro and a pleasant walk to all the major downtown sights. Excellent wireless.

Only complaints were lack of iron and ironing board and, as mentioned by others, no coffee or tea in room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osprey412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for leaving your comments about your stay in our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and are sorry about the lack of tea and coffee making services.
We do however have irons and ironing boards availible at the reception desk, all guests have to do is call to the reception and we will take them up to their rooms.
We do hope you come back soon!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at this place in oct 2012, location is very good, hotel rooms are good and have laptops in all rooms with free wifi too, only problem is that they have limited Tv channels and just one english channel, rooms dont have tea or coffee maker,they should atleast provide a water heater and few tea bags.Its purely a business hotel and for people who are out the whole day n return after dining out side.The only provision they have is morning b'fast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments.
We are sorry that you only found one English channel on your TV. We actually have a list of channels in the information booklet in the rooms and in English we have BBC World, CNN International and CNBC. If guests ever have problems finding them we invite them to call us at the reception desk so we can go to their rooms and help.
As a chain, we dont provide tea or coffee making facilities, but we do have kettles availible on request at the reception desk, once again, we invite all guests to ask us for anything they need directly at the reception.
We are situated right on the Plaza Santa Barbara, where there are various bars and restaurants. We do have business guests during the week but at the weekend it is purley vacational.
I hope if you ever return we will be able to assure that your stay is more pleasant.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 435 in Madrid
1,609 reviews
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#21 of 435 in Madrid
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Santa Barbara

Property: Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Address: Plaza Santa Barbara 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#30 Family Hotel in Madrid
#33 Business Hotel in Madrid
#47 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara, plus four stars, is located in the Plaza de Santa Barbara in the impressive Alonso Martinez area between “Genoa” and “Sagasta” streets and just a few steps away from the popular Gran Via, the lively neighbourhood of “Chueca” and “Plaza de Cibeles” in an area where many cinemas, restaurants, terraces, cafes and shops can be enjoyed. Located in the “Plaza de Santa Barbara” which has a lovely tree-lined boulevard, where bars set up their sidewalk tables in spring and summer, making it one of the liveliest “tapas” areas in Madrid. In the square, you'll also see the attractive classical French style Villagonzalo Palace and the unusual Casa de los Lagartos (House of Lizards), named after the stone carved lizards that decorate its upper storey. Nearby are also the most important business areas such as the “Paseo de la Castellana”, “Plaza Colon” and the National Courthouse of Madrid. This centrally located hotel is the ideal starting point for those who want to discover the main attractions of the city, including those wishing to relax in a hotel equipped with modern luxury facilities. Thanks to its unbeatable location, most of the major tourist attractions and monuments can be reached easily and comfortably by foot; such as the emblematic Puerta del Sol, the Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor. This boutique hotel, ideal for both tourists and business travellers, has been totally refurbished with the latest designer furniture and mod cons, while retaining its classic structure and emblematic facade. In the same building is the mythical "Junco" is found, which is one of the oldest known jazz clubs in Madrid. The famous Alfil and Maravillas Theatres are found close. The hotel has 82 magnificent rooms and 1 completely equipped apartment with kitchen include. The rooms are decorated with modern furniture which ensures for guests that nothing is missing during their stay there. All of them have free WIFI , hydro-massage showers and free safety boxes with capacity for laptops. We have also XXL rooms designed for "larger" people (with beds which are wider and longer than usual, high windows, doors and showers). The hotel has both a meeting room and some rooms which are convertible in small meeting or exhibition rooms.In the restaurant of the Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara offers a delicious buffet breakfast every morning consisting of a wide selection of products and dishes so that guests can start the day with the necessary energy. The hotel offers a unique free bike rental for guests and accepts pets (bedding and feeding bowls are available free of charge) and amongst many facilities and services offered by the hotel you may find; laundry service, free daily newspaper, room service (limited hours) fax and copying services, 24 hour reception desk and in room tea and coffee facilities (on request). The staff is professional and knowledgeable in the area, and can provide you with any kind of information about tours, dining, shopping and areas of interest. Do not hesitate to contact us with your special requests (honeymoon, type of bed), we will do everything possible to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Palace Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Santa Barbara Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing