We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - great location - not so great beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Ranked #32 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Petit Palace Santa Barbara is located in the heart of the trendy part of Madrid. You cannot find a better location for shopping, visiting galleries, great restaurants and museums. The staff at the front desk reception are service minded and friendly. Modern and trendy decor everywhere. Nice little court yard where you can enjoy drinks and everywhere you have wifi!

The rooms are spacious and we loved the set up with a bunk bed for the kids. They loved it. So altogether a very positive impression. However, the double bed we slept in was rock hard - even the kids' bunk bed mattresses were more comfortable. This was such a shame and really put off the good experience. That's what counts at the end of the day. How well you sleep at night.

Each room has a laptop set up on the desk. Our's rebooted by itself at 3 am in the morning.

So get the basics right and this could be a prime location for a short stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaGr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review on our hotel.
We are happy you enjoyed the most part of your stay with us.
About the matresses, we do have softners availible for guests who find them to be too hard. If you do ever choose to return to our hotel please let us know beforehand and we will make sure they are fitted to your bed.
I´m sorry about the laptop re-booting at 3am. They are not programmed to do this. If only I think I have been able to discover which room you were staying in so we will be checking this out in order to correct it.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed at the hotel in June 2013 with my wife. The hotel is clean and service was good. The location is a little out of the way, but it's a nice quiet area with lots of bars/restaurants in the area. It's very close to the Metro so it was easy to get around. We actually liked staying in the area since it was quiet and not too crowded.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your nice review on our hotel.
We are glad you liked the area, in effect, it is a little out of the way of the busy city centre but with great transport and withing walking distance.
We hope to see you again soon in Madrid!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

the hotel is clean, quiet and nicely decorated, staff is friendly and is idealy located to explore the city. Breakfast buffet was ok and the patio is a nice place to meet new people. You can also use for free bikes from the hotel to discover the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remicorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and glad you had a chance to take advantage of our free bike rent!
We hope to see you again soon in Madrid!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Directora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff. Great receptionist. Decor simple and classic. Room was clean and spacious. Shower took some working out how to get the right mix. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and staff helpful. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bullchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your great comments. Sorry about the shower being a bit complicated, we are aware of this. Im glad you could figure it out in the end.
You´re more than welcome to come back any time!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We chose this hotel because we got a good price on it but it worked out very well for my husband and I. This is a newer, very stylish hotel. Our rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the front desk staff all spoke good English. The location couldn't have been better. It is located in a residential area with a real neighbourhood feel to it. At the same time there were many good restaurants near by. The Metro station was at the end of the street but we walked to all of the tourist attractions we visited. The breakfast was decent. The Wifi was the best we had during our time in Spain. Only two quibble's. there seemed to be good sound insulation from other rooms but not from the street. The side street we faced was quite noisy overnight - it sounded like garbage was being picked up. However, there was a lot of noise at about half of the places we stayed at in Spain so don't know that being quiet is a must in spain. The air conditioning worked well but there were no bed coverings other than the bed sheets which we have never seen before. Usually there are at least blankets stored away somewhere in the room. We decided it was so guests couldn't turn up the air conditioning too much. We found it almost impossible to keep the room at a temperature which wouldn't end up being stuffy or freezing cold. We were constantly up in the night turning up and down the air conditioning. Perhaps in retrospect, we should have asked if there were any blankets available. All in all, I think we made a good choice to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask if there are rooms that are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixtysix66_66_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for your very complete review of your stay in our hotel.
I´m sorry you experienced noise distrubances from the street; unfortunately being located in the city centre in a lively plaza has its downfalls as well as its positve sides.
Regarding the bed coverings, at the moment we have the summer sheets on the beds but extra blankets are always availible at guests requests, and the guests may also turn up the A/C as much as they like. We are sorry this had effects on your sleeping at night.
Please do let us know if you plan to return and we will make sure you have the extra blankets and anything else you may need during your stay.
best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel is located in a great location; close to metro Alonso Martinez (150 mtr.) and at the end of Santa Barbara Plaza with 4-5 restaurants, a Burger King, a drugstore and Starbucks right around the corner. In general, Chueca is a wonderful neighborhood.

The staff is friendly and speak English which is not a given in Madrid. In most places you are better off if you speak a little Spanish but that is not necessary at Petit Palace.

The hotel is newly refurbished, clean and modern. We had a room of a nice size, the bathroom was large and lovely, however, the door does not close completely which means you share everything with persons in the room. Not nice. Rooms facing the courtyard can have problems with noises, (guest children playing and shouting early in the morning is not stopped by hotel staff). The AC was too effective as we had to turn it off unless we wanted to wake up with an induced pneumonia, the fridge/mini bar was not cold which is also quite disappointing.

Conclusion: We would probably not return to this hotel due to the issues with noise from the courtyard, the issues with the bathroom door not completely closed and unstable WIFI. However, the location and area is great so it would depend entirely on the price and length of stay. We would definitely chose this area if we are to return to Madrid.

Recommended eateries nearby
MAD Grill: American Diner with GREAT burgers and onion rings (see my review) C/ Campoamor, 13
Cerveceria Cruz Blanca: great little local place around the corner with tasty tapas, friendly service and great prices Calle de Hortaleza, 118

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristina_qk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for taking the time out to write about your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We apreciate all comments whether or not they are positive.
I understand your conserns about the bathroom doors. Unfortunately the hotel has been designed this way and we will not be considering making any changes to this in the near future. Just to let you know, this is influenced by the layout of the room; there do exist rooms with the bathroom at the front of the room so that the bathroom door does not face the bedroom, perhaps this could be an option for other guests with the same conserns.
We do appologise if you experienced noise disturbances from other guests in the courtyard. If we had been notified, we would have had no problem in politely asking the guests to keep the noise down.
Furthermore, if you had found your A/C to be too cold we could have checked the thermostat to see if it had any defects, normally all rooms have a temperature range from 16ºc to 22ºc.
We are dissapointed that you would not be choosing our property for any future stays in Madrid and hope that your comments will help us to improve in our services and attention to other guests.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We just stayed at the hotel for 5 nights at the end of July and had a lovely stay. The room was great and very clean. The staff were friendly and the situation was great - near restaurants, cafes and the metro but quiet. Outside the hotel is a bar/cafe serving beer for one Euro - what more could we ask for on a hot day! Thank you so much - we will be returning before the end of August!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor that was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks so much for your positive review on our hotel.
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in August.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 438 in Madrid
1,712 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 438 in Madrid
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Santa Barbara

Address: Plaza Santa Barbara 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#30 Family Hotel in Madrid
#33 Business Hotel in Madrid
#47 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £89 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara, plus four stars, is located in the Plaza de Santa Barbara in the impressive Alonso Martinez area between “Genoa” and “Sagasta” streets and just a few steps away from the popular Gran Via, the lively neighbourhood of “Chueca” and “Plaza de Cibeles” in an area where many cinemas, restaurants, terraces, cafes and shops can be enjoyed. Located in the “Plaza de Santa Barbara” which has a lovely tree-lined boulevard, where bars set up their sidewalk tables in spring and summer, making it one of the liveliest “tapas” areas in Madrid. In the square, you'll also see the attractive classical French style Villagonzalo Palace and the unusual Casa de los Lagartos (House of Lizards), named after the stone carved lizards that decorate its upper storey. Nearby are also the most important business areas such as the “Paseo de la Castellana”, “Plaza Colon” and the National Courthouse of Madrid. This centrally located hotel is the ideal starting point for those who want to discover the main attractions of the city, including those wishing to relax in a hotel equipped with modern luxury facilities. Thanks to its unbeatable location, most of the major tourist attractions and monuments can be reached easily and comfortably by foot; such as the emblematic Puerta del Sol, the Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor. This boutique hotel, ideal for both tourists and business travellers, has been totally refurbished with the latest designer furniture and mod cons, while retaining its classic structure and emblematic facade. In the same building is the mythical "Junco" is found, which is one of the oldest known jazz clubs in Madrid. The famous Alfil and Maravillas Theatres are found close. The hotel has 82 magnificent rooms and 1 completely equipped apartment with kitchen include. The rooms are decorated with modern furniture which ensures for guests that nothing is missing during their stay there. All of them have free WIFI , hydro-massage showers and free safety boxes with capacity for laptops. We have also XXL rooms designed for "larger" people (with beds which are wider and longer than usual, high windows, doors and showers). The hotel has both a meeting room and some rooms which are convertible in small meeting or exhibition rooms.In the restaurant of the Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara offers a delicious buffet breakfast every morning consisting of a wide selection of products and dishes so that guests can start the day with the necessary energy. The hotel offers a unique free bike rental for guests and accepts pets (bedding and feeding bowls are available free of charge) and amongst many facilities and services offered by the hotel you may find; laundry service, free daily newspaper, room service (limited hours) fax and copying services, 24 hour reception desk and in room tea and coffee facilities (on request). The staff is professional and knowledgeable in the area, and can provide you with any kind of information about tours, dining, shopping and areas of interest. Do not hesitate to contact us with your special requests (honeymoon, type of bed), we will do everything possible to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Palace Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Santa Barbara Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing