We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel in the heart of Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Ranked #31 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great family hotel in the heart of Madrid”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I loved the rustic architecture and old-palace feel (large spaces, grand wooden staircase, and tall ceilings). The rooms were spacious and well furnished - also free WiFi and laptop in every room. The room I occupied also had a bunk bed - so a family of four could easily stay here without feeling cramped - a rare find in Europe. The location is perfect if you like the pleasantly quirky & upscale vibe of Madrid. Also close to the Madrid underground as well. And the breakfast was good value with a large selection of quintessentially delicious Spanish food. A delightful stay all around.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_L_Berghout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay in our hotel.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed it and found the family rooms to be spacious and comfortable.
We really look forward to seeing you again in Santa Barbara!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    436
    68
    20
    9
See reviews for
344
415
34
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed in this gem after a week of trekking around southern Spain. The room was great quality, the service fantastic and the location even better. The room came with free Wi-Fi and even a computer in the room for free use! It made it very handy for a tech-savy traveler to keep up to date with the going-ons of the world! The hotel itself is very close with the metro, and within walking distance of many major attractions. There was a large range of great restaurants and nightlife all within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreativeKS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your positive review of your stay with us!
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in Santa Barbara!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Was a bit apprehensive after checking the website but the hotel was recommended by a friend. Please note hotel owners - would update your website - gives such a bad impression for some reason. Really lovely front office staff - they all spoke clearly in English, were helpful and gave assistance with a smile. Thanks Victor for welcoming me on the first day....just arrived after a long flight and it was nice to have a patient person, who was so helpful to get everything settled asap!! Breakfast was well equipped - selection of breads, hams, cheeses as well as hot food items, including fresh peppers, eggs, bacon etc. Also jams, honey and lots of fresh fruit. Nice selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate as well. The rooms are really lovely, with nice décor, exceptionally clean and loved the large sized shower, flat screen TV, and there is even a laptop in every room so you don't have to take your laptop from home to stay connected. The hotel is only a short walk from the centre, although if you want to take the metro its just in front of the hotel so its another easy option. I really cant fault the hotel. Beds are very comfy as well and I loved the warm blanket - nice change to the standard quilt. Would definitely visit again. Ideal for both family or couples

Room Tip: I had a room at the side of the hotel. Would choose a hotel over the piazza just to enjoy the atmosp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanioculcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guests,
Its really nice for us to recieve such positive and detailed reviews on our hotel.
We really appreciate you going into detail about all the aspects of your stay, it is very helpfull we think for other travellers who may be thinking about staying in our hotel.
I will be sharing your comments with the rest of the staff including Victor, he joined our staff a short while ago and is already proving to be a great team member!
We would love to see you again in Santa Barbara, and I hope you will let me know beforehand if you do decide to return because I would love to be able to greet you and thank you personally!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
rebecca.evans@petitpalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
669 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Weird, funky decor in a great location and service was pretty good.

What was poor was we had a conference room which had two doors each cheeked like the Munster home everytime they were opened......which was a lot. The chairs in the conference also creeked so when anyone of 40 people moved the noise was deafening. Really needs to be sorted

Also the buffet food was very crappy Novotel like ........plus no spoons or knives or forks at any moment you needed them.

But rooms were great, and as I say if you were there on a holiday or business in a great place in town and multilingual happy to help you staff..........very not Spanish !!!!

Room Tip: They all seem nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, its nice to get inside information on our meeting room, we will be checking out the two doors you mention (I understand they creaked) and the issue about the chairs making noises too. Hopefully we will be able to find a solution for this.
Im sorry you didnt enjoy the breakfast. We usually have very good reviews about the variety and quality of products. I will be speaking to this department to find areas of improvement.
Regarding the lack of forks and spoons, I would like to mention that all the tables are set with cuttlery and there should be some extras on a side table near to the entrance of the kitchen. Also, there is a waitress in the room at all times, if ever something is lacking guests can always request this directly to her.
I will however be speaking to them to make sure that no guest ever has the impression that we dont supply cuttlery again.
I am glad you enjoyed your room and thank you again for your overall recommendation.
Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to further discuss any incidences caused during your stay.
We hope to see you again soon in Santa Barbara!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
rebecca.evans@petitpalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
211 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Upon arrival, we were allocated a great room on the first floor overlooking the street. The quality of the room was great - good size, amenities and quality. Unfortunately we experienced some challenges with the room due to a foul smell coming from the bathroom. The staff were very helpful. As the hotel was fully booked, there was not initially another option to change rooms. Thanks to a late cancellation, the staff contacted us immediately and we were moved to an adjacent room of equal size and quality and able to enjoy the rest of our stay.

Location of the hotel is perfect. A short walk to the heart of Madrid and the key sights; also located adjacent to the public transport system, so you can get pretty much anywhere very easily. An extra bonus was the option to use some bikes from the hotel for free, which we used on a number of occasions, especially to visit the large parks and attractions.

A good feature for those wishing to watch TV in English is the ability to change the TV back to original English instead of using sub-titles. This would be a great feature in hotels around the world, but only the first time we had experienced it.

Another bonus was the warm welcome note and complimentary drinks to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel was prepared to go the extra mile and provide service with a smile throughout our stay.

If you are looking for a great location, quality and service in Madrid, then we would highly recommend Petit Palace Santa Barbara and would be on our list if we return to Mardid.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUSLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us!
I would firstly like to appologise for the problems you experienced in your first room. We have identified the problem and have managed to find a solution, thank you for pointing that out to us.
I´m glad you enjoyed our location and the posibility to get some TV in English.
We´d love you to come back and stay in Santa Barbara!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomita, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great hotel in a lovely building with a great location. We had a room on an upper floor facing the side street, and it was nice and quiet with the windows closed. They also have rooms opening to the inside patio, which may be a bit quieter. The staff is fantastic, especially Marta. After discovering that we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, Marta and the management made us a custom card presented with some chocolates and champagne in our room, very nice. The Santa Barbara Plaza has lots of tapas bars (we absolutely loved Pecaditos Taberna) and within a couple of blocks there are plenty of other stores, boutiques, and restaurants. It is very close to a metro station, taxis are readily available and it is just a short walk to the Hop on/off lines. Wi-Fi and laptop in the room was really handy, room was clean and efficient. The staff was friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LomitaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your nice review of your stay in our hotel.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you chose our hotel for such an important date.
We would love to see you again in Santa Barbara should you ever return to Madrid.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was a very good hotel within walking distance of the "heart" of Madrid but without all the noise and commotion of the tourist center of Madrid. My husband, myself and our two teenage boys stayed for 5 nights. We had a nice sized room with comfortable beds. It could have been a bit bigger since we were 4 people. However, it was large enough that we never felt cramped. The boys were in bunk beds which they thought were cool. Great bathroom: good size, well appointed, and the look was modern and sophisticated. The room was also sophisticated in design and was immaculate. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We did not find the street noise bad. A real plus is that you can walk everywhere or take the metro which is less than 1/2 a block from the hotel. Another plus is that there are various restaurants next to the hotel including a Dominos Pizza (believe it or not) and if you walked down the street there were numerous restaurants, tapas bars and a wonderful crepe and ice cream place. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberta p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guests,
We thank you for your positive comments on your stay in our hotel.
I agree that the hotel is ideally situated within walking distance just outside the hustle bustle of the city centre.
The area where the hotel is located is becoming very popular, and as you mentioned, there are lots of bars, restaurants and cafes nearby.
Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon in Santa Barbara!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#18 of 436 in Madrid
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,587 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 436 in Madrid
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Santa Barbara

Property: Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Address: Plaza Santa Barbara 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#30 Family Hotel in Madrid
#33 Business Hotel in Madrid
#47 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara, plus four stars, is located in the Plaza de Santa Barbara in the impressive Alonso Martinez area between “Genoa” and “Sagasta” streets and just a few steps away from the popular Gran Via, the lively neighbourhood of “Chueca” and “Plaza de Cibeles” in an area where many cinemas, restaurants, terraces, cafes and shops can be enjoyed. Located in the “Plaza de Santa Barbara” which has a lovely tree-lined boulevard, where bars set up their sidewalk tables in spring and summer, making it one of the liveliest “tapas” areas in Madrid. In the square, you'll also see the attractive classical French style Villagonzalo Palace and the unusual Casa de los Lagartos (House of Lizards), named after the stone carved lizards that decorate its upper storey. Nearby are also the most important business areas such as the “Paseo de la Castellana”, “Plaza Colon” and the National Courthouse of Madrid. This centrally located hotel is the ideal starting point for those who want to discover the main attractions of the city, including those wishing to relax in a hotel equipped with modern luxury facilities. Thanks to its unbeatable location, most of the major tourist attractions and monuments can be reached easily and comfortably by foot; such as the emblematic Puerta del Sol, the Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor. This boutique hotel, ideal for both tourists and business travellers, has been totally refurbished with the latest designer furniture and mod cons, while retaining its classic structure and emblematic facade. In the same building is the mythical "Junco" is found, which is one of the oldest known jazz clubs in Madrid. The famous Alfil and Maravillas Theatres are found close. The hotel has 82 magnificent rooms and 1 completely equipped apartment with kitchen include. The rooms are decorated with modern furniture which ensures for guests that nothing is missing during their stay there. All of them have free WIFI , hydro-massage showers and free safety boxes with capacity for laptops. We have also XXL rooms designed for "larger" people (with beds which are wider and longer than usual, high windows, doors and showers). The hotel has both a meeting room and some rooms which are convertible in small meeting or exhibition rooms.In the restaurant of the Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara offers a delicious buffet breakfast every morning consisting of a wide selection of products and dishes so that guests can start the day with the necessary energy. The hotel offers a unique free bike rental for guests and accepts pets (bedding and feeding bowls are available free of charge) and amongst many facilities and services offered by the hotel you may find; laundry service, free daily newspaper, room service (limited hours) fax and copying services, 24 hour reception desk and in room tea and coffee facilities (on request). The staff is professional and knowledgeable in the area, and can provide you with any kind of information about tours, dining, shopping and areas of interest. Do not hesitate to contact us with your special requests (honeymoon, type of bed), we will do everything possible to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Palace Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Santa Barbara Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing