We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Palace Santa Barbara

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Ranked #33 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overall this hotel exceeded our expectations. We were pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of our room. It had a huge bathroom with a choice of shower jets and a very comfortable king size bed and it was very clean. WiFi was great and the room had a laptop provided! There were a couple of minor disappointments - a kettle for tea/coffee making was not provided and the bar fridge was not ventilated so unless the cupboard door was left open it did not work well. There was a large range of breakfast food and it was generally of a high standard. Unfortunately the hot food at breakfast was only warm even right at the beginning of service.

The staff were more than willing to help and went out of their way to assist us. Overall this was a fantastic experience and we would stay their again without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms are well positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are really pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I´m sorry that you found our hot produce in the buffet breakfast to be lukewarm. We actually have that set to the temperature according to regulation in Spain.
Unfortunately, we don´t provide in-room coffee and tea making facilities, however, we do have kettles available for all guests and when the breakfast service is over, the coffee machine is on and complimentary tea, coffee, water and ice is available to all guests.
We have been able to check your mini bar and effectively, it has a defect so we are dealing with that with the maintanence company. I´m sorry if this caused any disturbances to your stay.
Thank you for your comments on our staff. I´m really proud to know that they are providing this excellent service to our guests and do inform them when they receive especially nice comments like yours.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
rebecca.evans@petitpalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    397
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
316
381
34
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great location in quiet part of Madrid and fantastic value. A decent size modern room with very effective aircon. Very helpful staff. A passable breakfast as well. Bed was comfortable and they even supply laptops. I will be revisiting

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardPrice64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel.
It´s really great to know you enjoyed our services and that our staff were able to attend to your needs.
We do hope to see you again soon in Santa Barbara!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
rebecca.evans@petitpalace,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Would definitely book this hotel again and again. I visit Madrid every year and this is by far the best Hotel I've stayed in. Easy commute by metro from airport and very close to all the sights and attractions.
The hotel itself is stylish, the rooms spacious and the staff friendly and helpful. Incredible value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thanks so much for your fantastic review on your stay with us!
We are really happy to know you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the services we offer.
We hope to see you again really soon in Santa Barbara.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Last weekend stayed at this hotel for the 2nd time. Its a beautiful building in the centre of Madrid, great restaurants and bars on the doorstep. Chueca is less than 5 minutes walking so great for the nightlife and shopping. Very clean and modern hotel with very spacious rooms and modern bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable and slept very well. The staff are all very polite and helpful and always acknowledge and greet you. There are no complaints with this hotel its perfect. I will stay there again when I am back in Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJPoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel.
We are really proud to know that our services and hospitality reached your expectations and that you have visited us now on two occasions.
We do hope to see you again soon in Santa Barbara and I hope to be able to greet you personally to be able to thank you in person.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
rebecca.evans@petitpalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hotel and the location is so lovely and close to all the sights. Our two rooms were great and the triple was roomy. Rooms were quiet and well kept. Would have liked more pillows for the beds but the hotel was full and they couldn't find us any spares. Air conditioning worked well and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again as there are lots of bars, cafés and restaurants close by. Madrid is an amazing city which we all loved!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LJPAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thanks so much for your fantastic review of our hotel! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I´m so sorry that we didn´t have any extra pillows for you during your stay, unfortunately we have a limited stock of extra pillows and when the hotel is full we can have more demand than material.
We have however recently made an order of new pillows so in a few weeks all the old ones will be replaced with new firmer ones. We hope this will decrease our guests' requests for extra pillows and will also supply us with enough extra pillows for days of high demand.
We hope to see you again soon in Santa Barbara!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
rebecca.evans@petitpalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked in at the Santa Barbara at the last minute after spending a week walking the Camino de Santiago. Was a bit dubious about the level of noise from the bars below but once in the room you couldn't hear a thing. The sound proofing was very good which is sometimes difficult in modern converted hotels. We were upgraded to a larger room (more of a suite) which had everything you needed for a comfortable and pleasant night. Beds large and comfortable, well equipped with tv's, laptop, plenty of plug sockets, good shower and clean. Staff very polite and helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradybunch12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing about your experience in our hotel.
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you slept soundly!
We hope to see you again soon in Santa Barbara.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
rebecca.evans@petitpalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for a night after staying in a really bad hotel in Mallorka so this place was like heaven for us! Very Spacious and clean. Bathroom was also huge and amazing! The only thing was that the bed was on the firm side, not too bad though. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guests,
We are really happy to hear that our services and customer care fulfilled your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us!
I´m sorry if you found the beds to be too firm, we do actually have matress softners for these cases (guests only have to let us know at reception and we can fit them onto the beds) and I would also like to let you know that we have recently placed an order for various new matresses to replace the old ones, so we are certain that our guests will notice the difference!
We will be happy to see you again soon in Madrid!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
General Manager
rebecca.evans@petitpalace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#23 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Santa Barbara

Property: Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Address: Plaza Santa Barbara 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#30 Family Hotel in Madrid
#33 Business Hotel in Madrid
#47 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara, plus four stars, is located in the Plaza de Santa Barbara in the impressive Alonso Martinez area between “Genoa” and “Sagasta” streets and just a few steps away from the popular Gran Via, the lively neighbourhood of “Chueca” and “Plaza de Cibeles” in an area where many cinemas, restaurants, terraces, cafes and shops can be enjoyed. Located in the “Plaza de Santa Barbara” which has a lovely tree-lined boulevard, where bars set up their sidewalk tables in spring and summer, making it one of the liveliest “tapas” areas in Madrid. In the square, you'll also see the attractive classical French style Villagonzalo Palace and the unusual Casa de los Lagartos (House of Lizards), named after the stone carved lizards that decorate its upper storey. Nearby are also the most important business areas such as the “Paseo de la Castellana”, “Plaza Colon” and the National Courthouse of Madrid. This centrally located hotel is the ideal starting point for those who want to discover the main attractions of the city, including those wishing to relax in a hotel equipped with modern luxury facilities. Thanks to its unbeatable location, most of the major tourist attractions and monuments can be reached easily and comfortably by foot; such as the emblematic Puerta del Sol, the Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor. This boutique hotel, ideal for both tourists and business travellers, has been totally refurbished with the latest designer furniture and mod cons, while retaining its classic structure and emblematic facade. In the same building is the mythical "Junco" is found, which is one of the oldest known jazz clubs in Madrid. The famous Alfil and Maravillas Theatres are found close. The hotel has 82 magnificent rooms and 1 completely equipped apartment with kitchen include. The rooms are decorated with modern furniture which ensures for guests that nothing is missing during their stay there. All of them have free WIFI , hydro-massage showers and free safety boxes with capacity for laptops. We have also XXL rooms designed for "larger" people (with beds which are wider and longer than usual, high windows, doors and showers). The hotel has both a meeting room and some rooms which are convertible in small meeting or exhibition rooms.In the restaurant of the Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara offers a delicious buffet breakfast every morning consisting of a wide selection of products and dishes so that guests can start the day with the necessary energy. The hotel offers a unique free bike rental for guests and accepts pets (bedding and feeding bowls are available free of charge) and amongst many facilities and services offered by the hotel you may find; laundry service, free daily newspaper, room service (limited hours) fax and copying services, 24 hour reception desk and in room tea and coffee facilities (on request). The staff is professional and knowledgeable in the area, and can provide you with any kind of information about tours, dining, shopping and areas of interest. Do not hesitate to contact us with your special requests (honeymoon, type of bed), we will do everything possible to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Petit Palace Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Santa Barbara Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing