We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising...no 'scenic city views' or 'large shared balcony'”

Puerta del Sol Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puerta del Sol Apartments
Ranked #205 of 414 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. I booked here because they advertised large balcony and scenic City views. There is one ...it only relates to the penthouses, we found out when we checked in! Too late. The noise was unbearable. Whatever they tell you- if you face the street it will be noisy, we faced the 'quiet' courtyard- well the noise went on all day and all night. Walls are paper thin and you can hear every high heel, slamming door, party and conversation. With no reception on site to help out. I informed them afterwards and they claim the noise was not coming from their apartments! When I got up in the middle of the night to ask some people to quieten down- they most definitely were in our block!! Two days before our arrival we were informed that They "conveniently" had computer issues and double booked us and offered to put us in another of their hotels way out of the city. I went on line to find they were still advertising our dates and had 6 rooms available in the building that was "fully booked " for our dates! I contacted them on the matter and they miraculously had a cancellation! They clearly overbook the popular central hotel and then that way are able to fill the less popular one out of town. The apartment itself was fine,modern ( needs some maintenance) relatively spacious and relatively clean, 2 seperate bedrooms and large enough for the 4 of us. Needed more utensils if you were planning on cooking which we didnt. Also , needed more bedding. It is in a central location but after all said and done you there to sleep which I couldnt do in all that noise and main bedroom has no block out curtains just thin white vertical blinds so sun beams in til after 10 at night.

Room Tip: There are no 'good rooms' unless you are hearing impaired -too noisy! Balcony is tiny and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

As many people mentioned here, the location is great, everything's within walking distance. Apartments are located in an old building with a spiral staircase. It looks very authentic. When booking we requested apartment on the highest fllo and they gave it to us. There were a large terrace and we liked to sit there sipping wine at the late evening.
The rooms were tiny, but clean and newly furnished. We had a studio with kitchenette and bathroom.
The thing we didn't like is the noise coming from the street, it's 24/7. But if you close the balcony door and turn on the ac it's bearable.
Another thing, we requested to clean our apartment ( to remove the trash, at least. It's impossible to find a trash can around) and were promised that cleaning lady would come the next day, but it never actually happened.
Everything else was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrfoxy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The location is great, close to shopping, dinning, entertainment and transportation, but that is about it. They advertised as 3 bedrooms apartments for 6 adults but in reality it is good for 4 only unless you are midget because the loft ceiling is about 2 foot high and a normal adult is not able to walk in that room, we had to literally crawl to bed each night and be careful not to bum your head when getting up, but that was not the only problem; this loft is not only open to the living room but also it is open to one of the bedrooms and BATHROOM downstairs, therefore there is no privacy at any moment, not even when you are using the restroom, not to mention any smell that come right out the bathroom to the loft, this was for us a complete disappointment because no matter who you are traveling with, there are moments that need PRIVACY.
The apartment could use a good cleaning, both bathrooms had a very bad rotten egg smell and there was not enough towels and toiletries provided for the stay.
The lights in the kitchen were non existing (how can you have a kitchen with no lights?) and the TV didn't work (not to mention the TV was a 19" two decades old).

We did leave several messages to Angelica (the person in charge) but she only returned calls once to tell us how mad she was that we called her so many times and that she was going to send someone to the apartment next day to change us to a different unit, but that never happened; we only saw her the day we came when she collected the money from us, after that we never saw her again. She didn't offer any advise or recommendation for the stay as any other vacation rental owner does ( we stayed in several of these during our Spain trip).

I do not recommend this place for the poor service and actual accommodations, I'm sure there a plenty of other options to consider including a hostel that will provide a more pleasant stay than this one.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatGranadaHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed in the apartments in May this year, a party of six, for three nights.

The apartment was in an old building which had been nicely renovated, inside, into several modern apartments. It is in a fantastic location, just moments from Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol.

However this is where the positives end. The apartment was, frankly, dirty. The bathrooms especially were in a disgusting condition with mould all over the walls of the shower and grubby skirting boards.

Although it is meant for six people there was barely enough crockery, cutlery, etc, for four and the dining table was definitely a four seater, with four chairs which, on inspection, turned out to be three as one was smashed and had been pushed back against the wall with the table pushed against it so that it wasn't obvious.

The lighting was apalling, almost non-existent. The fluorescent light in the sitting/dining area had been removed and the bare wires taped up in a very permanent manner! Bedrooms lighting was a joke...one bedside table with lamp only for each room and the light globe was about 1 watt within a dark red plastic "shade" making it totally impossible to see anything let alone read in bed. The air conditioning remote controls had all been removed...no doubt to save money on electricity use!

The entire apartment gave the impression of being owned by someone who cared little about guest comfort and only for saving as much money as possible.

The key holder Angela was a sweet enough girl but obviously not up to the job and we were kept waiting about twenty minutes, in the street outside the apartments, on arrival despite having called her from the airport and told her we were on our way. She explained how to get hot water (go outside onto the terrace and flip a switch each time anyone wanted a shower!!) and gave us the key. Otherwise there was no advice anywhere on what to do or see or even how to operate things within the apartment.

All in all a basically well positioned apartment totally let down by poor management and dreadful cleaning and maintenance.

Room Tip: No rooms are good as lighting is non existent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pubhillfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I stayed here recently with a bunch of friends on a girlie weekend away - we were very excited as the pictures of the apartment on the website looked amazing.

We were sorely disappointed.

We arrived at the apartments straight from the airport and were told we would have to pay the the total balance for the apartment upfront in cash in addition to a security deposit of €150. Not entirely unusual but we were not told this in advance and having just arrived after a flight and weren't carrying that amount of cash on us so caused a delay for us and for our greeter.

The apartment itself looked like it hadn't been cleaned before our arrival - was wiped with a dry cloth at best - even though the cost of the apartment included a cleaning charge.

We weren't given any information about the apartment and how everything worked (heating, water, toilets etc). We spend the first morning in Madrid waiting for someone from the apartments to call us back and let us know how to turn on the hot water! After many calls, we were told that a maintenance man would be sent over to us. It turned out that the water could be turned on by a switch which was out on the balcony - found this out after the 4th call to the agency. Nonetheless the maintenance man came around 7pm and we asked him to "fix" the toilet and the television - both of which just required a switch to be turned on - again we were given no information. This could have very simply been rectified by a welcome/information pack in the apartment rather than wasting our time and his time.

We were only given one key even though the apartment fitted six. This meant that one or two of our group always had to hang and wait for the rest of us if we weren't out together. Unfortunately for us this meant one of our group was pick pocketed whilst hanging around waiting.

There was also a terrible ant problem. Not entirely unusual but were weren't given any products or sprays to deal with this. We were given minimal cleaning products and the bedding and towels provided were poor quality

I would say that the location was excellent and very handy to the main centre and tourist attractions. Santa Ana was a short stroll away and perfect for an evening hangout. But overall we were very disappointed with the standard of the apartment .

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louloublue27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

This apartment very well suited my needs as I traveled with my mother and my partner. We needed a place with space and the ability to cook meals and at the same time centrally located to most of Madrid's sights. The check-in person, Angelica, was fantastic and met us promptly, answered all our questions and was able to give restaurant and club recommendations. The apartment was a close walk to the Prado, the Plaza Mayor, Almudena Cathedral and the Palace. Just a little skimpy on towels and the lighting could be better but that was really very minor.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adammax17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

The apartment exceeded our expectations in terms of location and space & style . From the building you can see down calle Atocha into Plaza Mayor, just 2 minutes walk away, or continue the other direction and you are 3 minutes walk from Puerta del Sol or Plaza Santa Ana.
The apartment itself is stylishly decorated with a small balcony overlooking the street. We didn't eat there but has everything you need to cook. There are literally thousands of restaurants around. We are both serious foodies would recommend La Capilla de la Bolsa which is a few minutes away one of the best meals I have had in yrs in amazing building and Mercado de San Migue which is an amazing market with all kinds of fabulous stalls with delicious foods & wines-an absolute must. Food at the restarants on Plaza Major was touristy & expensive & poor.
If you are very noise sensitive ( we weren't) then the road facing apartments may be a little noisy. Other than that perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 437 in Madrid
1,693 reviews
Centro
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Hotel Plaza Mayor
#274 of 437 in Madrid
747 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#37 of 437 in Madrid
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
Apartamentos Puerta del Sol-Rastro
Huertas
Apartamentos Blume Cruz
Apartamentos Blume Cruz
#4 of 414 in Madrid
295 reviews
Huertas
Matute11 Suites
Matute11 Suites
#43 of 414 in Madrid
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta del Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta del Sol Apartments

Address: Calle Atocha 14, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 414 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puerta del Sol Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Madrid Puerta del Sol accommodation. These apartments are all located within our own refurbished building. With an apartment in this building you will be situated in one of the most exciting locations in Madrid. You can see down calle Atocha into Plaza Mayor, just 2 minutes walk away, or continue the other direction and you are 3 minutes walk from Puerta del Sol or Plaza Santa Ana. This old town area of Madrid is alive with markets, cafes, restaurants, nightlife and traditional culture. You have walking access to the Teatro Real, Palacio Real, Teatro Español and even the famous Prado Museum is short walk through Cortes from the apartments. Our modern and fully self-contained apartments have twin or queen size bedroom, spacious living areas, double height ceilings with loft bedrooms and lots of natural light. Within this building our apartments comfortably sleep from two to six people in each. We have up to 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms in each apartment. Relax in designer decoration with all the modern facilities including fully equipped kitchens and newly renovated bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Puerta del Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Sol Apartments Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing