We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively and cosy Cafe on Plaza Santa Ana”
Review of Central Cafe

Central Cafe
Ranked #1,615 of 10,780 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Huertas
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
806 reviews
472 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Lively and cosy Cafe on Plaza Santa Ana”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Always amazingly many people here. Good beers, bar food and strong coffee.
Nice place to hang out for en hour or two,
Several evenings there is live music at an entrance fee.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    76
    22
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
190 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Central location, just off NH Madrid, courteous and professional service. I arrived in the evening at 20:00 and I ordered a drink at the bar, it turns out that at 21:00 planned to be a show of a small band and for this I was asked to pay 13 euros or leave the place, it was insulting and offensive. I certainly would not return to this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank YossiAzoulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great jazz club in central Madrid - good food and meet new people”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Café Central – Madrid. This is touted as Madrid’s best jazz bar and has been operating as a jazz club for 31 years. We went on a night with at a packed house for a Cuban jazz ensemble which was fantastic. Call ahead of time for reservations – days ahead of time if you can. We tried on the first day we arrived in Madrid in October but it was fully booked. We reserved for the following week when we would be back in Madrid. There are some unreserved seats but you will need to line up early at the door for a shot at these. Even with reservations, you are requested to arrive by 8:30 pm for a show starting at 9 pm. You can come earlier as the café is open through the day. The ticket price was under 14 Euros. Excellent rib-eye steak (entrecote) grilled to perfection and good starter of grilled peppers and duck or the local jamon. As a couple, we shared our small table with people who had lined up for unreserved seats and met a lovely Spanish couple. The table is small though so best to order your dinner right when the full dinner menu is open at 8 pm so the food is out of the way by the time the music starts. Great wine list and the music was brilliant set in the small intimacy of the club. It is tightly packed but the waiters did a brilliant job negotiating through the chairs and tables to keep service quick. Access is by metro Sol/Anton Martin or train Sol/Atoche and walk to the Plaza de Angel. The walk down Calle Huerta is lively on the weekend and a sight in itself. Watch out for dog poop though on the street. This was my first time at the Cafe Central but I will now make it a must everytime I am in Madrid. I love that Madrid now does not permit smoking in restaurants and clubs. Smokers were going in and out but for us non-smokers, it makes the live music clubs more accessible and pleasurable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria2008Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Music and Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Been twice and would be my first place of call in Madrid for music.
Food very good and drinks very enerous measures.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Live Music”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This restaurant is in a nice area. The food is good, and the live music is wonderful. You will pay a few dollars extra for the live music, but you will certainly enjoy the show. I believe the music is from 9pm to 11pm every evening. They have different artists weekly. I recommend reservations, so that you have good seats near the stage, although, anywhere in the restaurant is fine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Cafe also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Central Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing