We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy...”
Review of Hostal Veracruz II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Veracruz II
Ranked #50 of 386 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Too noisy...”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Like the other review from me550 NOISY...we booked this for a Fri/Sat/Sun for our last couple days in Spain, last stop Madrid. The entrance is a bit dodgy-grungy, the elevator was rickety (part of the floor is held together with duct tape). The staff was nice enough and showed us to our room. The hallway towards the rooms from the main area smells a bit (not the most pleasant smell). The room was quite spacious and clean and decent. However, the listing said there was a phone in the room as well as a safe. We didn't really care for the phone so was not a big deal that there was not one, and the "safe" was a safe with a swinging door without any lock, again not the worst thing but not useful. Also our shower head didn't have a mount that worked so when you shower you had to hold the handle-again a slight inconvenience. The worst was we had just traveled a long day from Malaga and arrived Friday night around 9pm and you could already hear loud music and people talking outside. This hostel is on a very busy popular street filled with restaurants/bars lots of nightlife...the party outside didn't stop until 7am. Then at 8am, in the front room where breakfast is served were several hostel guests loudly yapping away making tons of noise. Things didn't quiet down until 10am. We left at noonish/1pm and like me550 didn't get any refund for the following two days we booked. It ruined our first full day in Madrid since we were so exhausted from lack of sleep. Wouldn't ever stay here again. There are other options that are much more pleasant for about the same price elsewhere with just as good location. Not worth the money.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the popular side streets and away from the main front room of the hostel if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boardingbunnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva B, Propietario at Hostal Veracruz II, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear costumer,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hostal Veracruz and writing a review.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, which according to our records was in March 2012.
I am pleased to report that since this time, the hostel has undergone significant upgrades in the entrance and elevator.
We are so sorry about the noisy, we are in the city center and there is people on street 24 hours.
Request for room change are immediately taken care .
You can ask for your safety box key at reception.

We like take care of our guests , and fix here the little problemss to make confortable your stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    51
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
48
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I booked five nights in Hostal VeraCruz. The staff were nice and I got a good room, small but clean and warm. The downside was the hostel is on a very noisy corner of two streets. I barely got a wink of sleep between 11pm and 8am the next morning -- noisy people on the street, mopeds, bottle recycles -- everything. I decided to leave my key back and asked for a refund the next morning. There was nobody there but I got an email a few days later. They said sorry about the noise but no refunds, not even a partial refund. Not happy with that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Hostel Veracruz is in a fab location in the lively sol area of madrid. Room was clean and plenty big enough. Reception v helpful- could leave luggage at hotel after checkout and free safety deposit box. Fab value for 60 euro per room per night. Lots of bars nearby and all sites within 20 min walk. One thing to point out is that we did struggle to find it. There is only a small sign and it's on the 3rd floor of the building- it is between the ham shop and Irish bar just as you turn onto calle Victoria. I would highly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Creameggclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We really enjoyed Hostal Veracruz, it's located right in the centre of Madrid so we were able to walk everywhere. The rooms were very basic & cosy but clean. The owners seem to live there, so there was always someone on the front desk or nearby & they were very friendly. Our only qualm was the noise - the location is right in the middle of a busy tapas district (& the Spanish like to party until late in the wee hours) so we didn't get the greatest nights sleep here. Highly recommend as a good budget option for Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelandcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This is the second time I've stayed here and whenever I'm in Madrid again I will stay here again. First, the location is excellent. A small block away from Plaza del Sol and Sol Metro and Cercanias Station that can take you anywhere in Madrid and beyond Madrid. The Plaza de Cibeles and Plaza Mayor, Gran Via, Callao are also all within walking distance. Also, Plaza del Sol and the surrounding area is bustling with activity. It's full of restaurants, shops, etc.
The hotel is located on the 3rd floor of a building that has a couple other small hotels. Upon entering the building you might think you're in a really old dark place but that's just the entrance. The elevator is a little hidden to the right of the stairs. Security in the building is excellent and you need to be buzzed in to enter the building and then ring the bell to get inside the hotel (once you're checked in they'll give you the code for the downstairs door and a key to the 3rd floor door). Now, the hotel is small and the rooms are small too but with just enough space. They have a closet and a table with a chair while the bathroom has a small tub. Every room has a safe box and there are hair dryers available, sometimes in the room and sometimes you just ask for it in reception. There's also free wifi throughout the hotel. It's spotless clean and the staff is great. We actually stayed here one night and then came back a few nights later to stay again since we were traveling to other parts of Spain and they kindly stored our luggage and then gave us a better room at our request since the first one was somewhat noisy. That could be the only problem of the hotel in some rooms, the noise. Downstairs in the corner of the building there's a "Museo del Jamon" which is a very popular eatery and it's full of people up until really late. This place is a mixed blessing because of the noise but it offer insanely cheap eats and drinks standing at the bar, or also a decently priced full menu in the top restaurant. It's open from very early to late and we really were happy to have this place (even though we're vegetarians and the name doesn't sound inviting we found several "bocadillos" with cheese and vegetables).
Anyway the hotel is great, highly recommend just don't expect a big hotel with big hotel ammenities. It's a small, clean hotel with excellent location and amazing value. Like I said, we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KNDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This hostal is a modest establishment, but offered us a wonderful city break. Thanks to its central location, all the cultural highlights (galleries, opera house) are within easy walking distance. The room was small but well thought out. Everything was spotlessly clean and freshly painted. The full length windows had outer blinds and inner shutters which were so heavy and close fitting that even strong Madrid sunlight was kept out. The museo del jamon (located next door on ground floor) was great for quick breakfast, surrounded by Madrenos - and a million hams!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

The location is ideal!!! I felt like we were right in the middle of everything!! The rooms are clean, the help is very nice and can speak some English.

You will want to be sure to bring ear plugs to Madrid. It is a party all night city. I always bring ear plugs when I travel but those who don't usually use them will consider them a must when staying in Madrid.

It was a little difficult for me to find only because I am not accustomed to staying in hostels and the signs are tiny. Once I found it, all was well. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gazinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Esmeralda
Hostal Esmeralda
#53 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Huertas
Astoria Hostal
Astoria Hostal
#28 of 276 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Centro
Hostal Biarritz
Hostal Biarritz
#49 of 276 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
hostal gonzalo
hostal gonzalo
#27 of 386 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Centro
Hostal Luis XV
Hostal Luis XV
#61 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Huertas
Mola Hostel
Mola Hostel
#12 of 386 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Veracruz II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Veracruz II

Property: Hostal Veracruz II
Address: Calle Victoria 1, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 386 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Veracruz II 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Veracruz can be found in the heart of Madrid, just a few yards from the Puerta del Sol and Sol Metro station. It has free Wi-Fi. The light and spacious rooms in the Hostal Veracruz are decorated in minimal style. They have private bathrooms, air conditioning, heating and TV. The Hostal Veracruz offers bike rental and a tour desk to help make the most of your time in Madrid. Many of Madrid's main attractions are within walking distance, including Plaza Mayor, Palacio Real and the Prado and Thyssen-Bornamisza galleries. The nearby Gran Via has plenty of stores and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Veracruz II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing