We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean place”
Review of Hostal Gala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Gala
Ranked #149 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great clean place”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Rooms were clean and they had the BEST showers. Staff were helpful, supplied hairdryers etc when I asked. The only problem was they stuffed up our booking and gave us a triple room instead of a double which is what we asked for. But apart from that the hostel itself is quite nice and modern inside. There is no kitchen however.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unknown66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    220
    57
    8
    6
See reviews for
88
201
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wichita falls
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I got a single room. The room is small but enough for solo. Bed is very comfy. I had my own bathroom which was important to me. Rain shower in the bathroom. What else would you ask for after a whole day in Prado or Reina Sofia? The location is super. It's one street across the metro station and later I realized it's walking distance to all those sites. Walking one or two blocks and you would be on Gran Via.

Staff was very friendly and nice. They told me how to take the metro to the airport, which can be a little tricky. There is no phone in the room but if you need a wake up call they would come to knock at your door in the morning.

I guess the walls are really thin since I could hear the girls next door giggling. But the staff tried to tell them to be quiet. I bought my earplugs so my neighbors did not bother me too much.

Room Tip: Ask them for the free walking tour in the city. I took one and i liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Hostal Gala is a little trendy with its black and white interior, but look past that and you'll find an economical, quiet, clean adorable hostal. We had a room with a balcony, looking out on the plaza and LOVED it. We stayed 5 nights and were super happy the entire time. If you leave your window open - expect to hear the after bar crowd, but if you're one of them... no worries. Free Wi-fi. Private bathrooms en suite. Smallish - euro-sized rooms, but we found it totally comfortable for a couple.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanLinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed at Hostal Gala in October 2011 for 4 days, 3 nights at a rate of $100 per night. Overall, a positive experience for our first time in Madrid.

Pros - rooms are clean and updated (if a little sparse) and can easily accommodate two travelers and their luggage. Beds are firm but still comfortable. Very convenient to 3 metro stops (Opera, Callao, and Santo Domingo), as well as Gran Via and Arenal, and the Royal Palace (almost around the corner). The front desk was very friendly and helpful - spoke English and provided a map for our stay. We arrived before the check-in time and were able to leave our bags in their storage while we went to grab lunch. On their recommendation we frequently ate at the Mercado San Miguel (about a 15 minute walk), which had great food, decent prices and good atmosphere. The hotel does provide package pastries in the morning (small cakes and donuts) but no coffee or hot tea (you can purchase from their vending machines).

Cons - wifi was pretty weak in our room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed 5 nights in a triple room at Hostal Gala Madrid last May. The location was perfect, very close (less than a minute walk) to the metro station and right in the city centre. Our room was not very big but there was enoguh space for three people at the same time. We got everything what we expected: Modern decoration, clean room and bathroom, spotless sheets, free wifi, very reasonable price. Thin walls might be a problem for light sleepers but we were so exhausted to hear. We felt safe and stayed comfortable in Hostal Gala. Special thanks to front desk, especially Irene, who answered all our questions with patience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demeter_Izm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

For a Saturday night in Madrid, you're not going to find a better deal in as good of a location. Great beds. Great shower. But very small rooms. And the walls are like tissue paper (and that might be an understatement).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DS646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane, australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Modern, decent-sized room and great location. Overall Hostal Gala is excellent value and we would stay again. The wifi was terrible although we were sometimes able to use the free wifi provided by the city as we overlooked the square/park next to the hotel. That's the only reason I'm bumping it down from a five as I deliberately chose somewhere with wifi. The staff were very helpful. On check-in we were given a map and directions to the major sites which are all very easy to get to from the hostal. They're within walking distance or, if you're note feeling very energetic, within a very short distance on the metro.

There are no communal laundry facilities, so there is a fee involved in getting you clothes washed (though it is much more affordable than standard hotel rates, it may be a problem for travellers on a tight budget). One of my tops was not returned with the rest of our washing however they were happy to mail it to Australia to return it to me.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohmiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#87 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#94 of 441 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#85 of 441 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#56 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#144 of 441 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Malasana
Ibis Madrid Centro
Ibis Madrid Centro
#82 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Property: Hostal Gala
Address: Costanilla Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#74 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#86 Family Hotel in Madrid
#98 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing