We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in central Madrid”
Review of Hostal Gala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Gala
Ranked #170 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Fabulous location - right next to a Metro station, just round the corner from Opera and five minutes from the Royal Palace. Loads of restaurants, bars and cafes locally.
We booked the five-bed apartment - perfect for a family or group of friends, with room to relax and a fully-equipped kitchen.
Really good value for a capital city.
A wee bit noisy if you're not used to city centres.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the small (and therefore quite noisy when busy) reception area.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Gala
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is an excellent low budget hotel in a great location. Our room was clean, comfortable and well designed we also had a little balcony overlooking a square. The bathroom looked new, clean and had a great shower.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and when we needed an extra bed quite late in the evening the receptionist was very helpful and pleasant about setting it up for us and making sure we were all comfortable and happy.

The hotel doesn't offer breakfast but they have a coffee machine and snacks in the common area and can also recommend some places to eat.

The only negative was that the walls were a bit thin so it got a bit noisy at times but overall the quality, location and price of this hotel made it a great base for exploring Madrid!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just 5 mins walk to Sol.
LIFT!!! LIFT!! LIFT!!
Opposite hostal a lot of cafes n restaurante.
Best for muslims as few HALAL rest just rite in front of the hostal! (4 may be)
I love the room n SHOWER especially!! Even 4 star hotel dont even have that kind of shower/bathroom. but to be honest a bit expensive compared to other hostals n the one i stayed before. But off course the location, Gala is the closest to Sol.

Tips;
if u guys arriving with metro, just go down at SOL station n drag your bag, still less than 10 mins. easier instead of changing your metro to the other line n to get down at St Domingo (SD). Tho the SD station right in front of Gala, but the hassle to get to the other line/ platforms with no lift! and even to get out frm SD. Unless u dont have any suitcases! But still if u dont have any baggage, better to walk from SOL, believe me!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_rafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stay in a triple room, the room was nearby to the reception area.
The wall was so thin that we can hear what the people said in the reception area. It was quite noisy during the check in and check out time.
The room was too small for 3 persons, the room size was so tiny, it was smaller than a standard triple room. I think it's size seems like a single room or max for a couple in a double bed only. There is no space for the suitcase, we can't fully open it.
We had no extra space, every time when we get back to the room, we can only stay in our single bed.
Also the door lock of our room didn't work very well, everyday, we need to try many times to lock and open it.
I don't think I will stay here again.
The only Pos is location, it close to the Metro station.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chungkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
11
Reviewed 24 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Rooms were clean and they had the BEST showers. Staff were helpful, supplied hairdryers etc when I asked. The only problem was they stuffed up our booking and gave us a triple room instead of a double which is what we asked for. But apart from that the hostel itself is quite nice and modern inside. There is no kitchen however.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unknown66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I got a single room. The room is small but enough for solo. Bed is very comfy. I had my own bathroom which was important to me. Rain shower in the bathroom. What else would you ask for after a whole day in Prado or Reina Sofia? The location is super. It's one street across the metro station and later I realized it's walking distance to all those sites. Walking one or two blocks and you would be on Gran Via.

Staff was very friendly and nice. They told me how to take the metro to the airport, which can be a little tricky. There is no phone in the room but if you need a wake up call they would come to knock at your door in the morning.

I guess the walls are really thin since I could hear the girls next door giggling. But the staff tried to tell them to be quiet. I bought my earplugs so my neighbors did not bother me too much.

Room Tip: Ask them for the free walking tour in the city. I took one and i liked it.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#108 of 438 in Madrid
451 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#89 of 438 in Madrid
624 reviews
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#240 of 438 in Madrid
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#86 of 438 in Madrid
1,338 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#142 of 438 in Madrid
616 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Main Street Madrid
Hostal Main Street Madrid
#32 of 438 in Madrid
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Address: Costanilla Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#86 Family Hotel in Madrid
#98 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £52 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing