We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Stylish!”
Review of Hostal Gala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Gala
Ranked #149 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super Stylish!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I'll be honest, I was a little worried about booking something with "hostel" in the name (even with all the great reviews), but all my fears were washed away as soon I stepped in the door! Super clean and super stylish, the place is one of those rare gems where the actual thing looks even better than the photos. The staff was really helpful and it's in a really convenient location. If there were more places like this around (for the price) then I would have to quit my job cause I'd be travelling all the time!

Room Tip: Our room had an adorable little mini balconey - ask for that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IN2665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    220
    57
    8
    6
See reviews for
88
201
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Best value for money accommodation I've ever had in Madrid. Located in a building at the end of the pedestrian shopping street Preciados, next to Metro station Santo Domingo, on the 2nd (reception, rooms) and 3rd floor (apartments). Black-and-white minimal design, comfortable modern rooms with bathroom, and the biggest plus: friendliest and most competent reception ever, that makes you feel at home. Only drawback: central A/C on 2nd floor seemed unable to cope with the heatwave of nearly 40 degrees that had hit Madrid.

Room Tip: opt for apartments on the 3rd floor: they are luxurious, have separate A/C units, living-room and fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RexTsatsaroglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I had never been to Madrid. Hostal Gala has really CUTE rooms (if you have one with a window facing the front, so be sure to ask for that. I first had a room in the back facing a light well and it was depressing. But they moved me the next day and really took care of me.

The desk clerks are SUPER FRIENDLY, all speak PERFECT ENGLISH, and know the city well. Irene was especially awesome.

The location was convenient, close to three or four metro stations all within a block or two away.

The room facing out was light and bright and very clean (except for a bit of mold near the shower). The rooms all have private bath and air conditioning (but it does take a few hours for the room to cool down). I especially liked the gauzy curtains I could close but still let light in, and the room was very well INSULATED FROM NOISE from the street. I slept really well.

The only big negative for me was NOISE from inside the hotel. Sound really carries along the long hallway of the hostal along all the rooms, and when people check in you can hear everything they say.

But I do RECOMMEND this place. For $80 a night in summer in Madrid? Really, really good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out along the front of the hotel. You'll get a lot of light that way and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed there only for a night in august 2011 as I landed in Madrid by myself before my friends got there. I was very worried since i was a solo female traveller but it turned out the be a great experience! The place is clean and modern, it looks just like the pictures no joke!! The staff was super nice, gave me lots of tips and I guess they could tell I was nervous because they came to check up on me twice :) Location is convenient as well, lots of cafes and restaurant around the hostel. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseVelvet14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Booked after 2 other hotels couldn't accommodate us as a group of 9 (hen party, ages 28+)

Arrived, outside doesn't do it any justice, neither does the word 'hostal', but the rooms were amazing.

We stayed in the apartments 'sydney' and 'london' with kitchen, dining and lounge area.

Decor was so cool with black and white theme.

Service was also brilliant, so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We had a large double room, plenty of space. Our room looked just like the photos, first time that has happened to us. Brilliant location, easy walking to major attractions. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanMcDoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#87 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#94 of 441 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#85 of 441 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#56 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#144 of 441 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Malasana
Ibis Madrid Centro
Ibis Madrid Centro
#82 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Property: Hostal Gala
Address: Costanilla Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#74 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#86 Family Hotel in Madrid
#98 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing