We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Location”
Review of Hostal Gala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Gala
Ranked #150 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Location”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I can't say enough about how helpful and friendly the staff were. One staffer went above and beyond for us on more than one occasion, which we certainly appreciated.

The hotel is well located, modern and clean, and the room was serviced daily. The downsides are that hotel is not sound-proof at all, and the wireless internet did not extend to our room. If you are a light sleeper and adverse to ear plugs, this is not the place for you. The street noise was not as bad as the noise carry-over from the common room and other guest rooms - someone had a nasty cough that kept us up the first night. Then we bought ear plugs.

As far as cleanliness, quality of staff and location go, I think this hotel would be hard to beat in the budget accommodation category. I have had few better experiences in the budget hotel category in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    220
    57
    8
    6
See reviews for
88
202
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The location is perfect, close to the main attractions of Madrid. It is very nicely decorated and my favorite feature was the huge balcony we had in our room. The staff makes it even more better since they are very friendly, they answered all of our questions, gave us directions and even some recomendations about what to visit while in the city. Overall, we had a really good time in the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This place is hidden amongst the architecture along a narrow st. Yet, once inside there is a genuine sense of invitation. You can visibly tell that a lot of effort has been made to make it welcoming, from the nice aromas, decor to washing and ironing services (at cost). I would base my recommendation of hostal gala on its exciting location, and comfortable sleep. A place that has free wifi is always a personal plus for me, but I think its hospitality is demonstrable of how friendly everyone was in madrid. All in all, the experience rivals in our best.

Room Tip: The door locks could appear more secure, yet in truth we never had any issues there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treepham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We're a family of four and so we booked the family room with one double bed and two single beds. We were not impressed with the front door, intercom system nor the lift but when we arrived on level 2 it was a different matter. The hostal is nicely decorated and very welcoming.

The room contained all the expected necessities and its size was good and very well kept and clean. A rather small bathroom but the shower was brilliant.

We had two balconies and one window and we were worried that the noise from traffic and nightlife outside would not allow us to sleep. This was note the case, each of the exterior apertures are equipped with very good quality double glazing. They are not 100% sound proof but we were not disturbed during our sleep.The walls between the rooms are paper thin and this was more of a concern! It was very hot during our stay and the room temperature was always comfortable so no complaints regarding air-conditioning either.

In terms of facilities, the rooms do not have a fridge or a microwave but receptionist offered to keep our items in their fridge whenever required. They also confirmed that they could heat our items using their microwave whenever we needed. They were also kind enough to provide us with an electric kettle so that we could prepare some tea in our room, in the morning.

Other members mentioned the coffee machine and cold water/soft drinks vending machines in the hallway. We also found these to be very convenient. Hotel also provides some free supermarket type , plastic wrapped cakes, pastries on the high table for guests every morning, which is a nice gesture, we thought. WIFI worked well from our room.

The staff at Hostal Gala are very friendly and english speaking. Always willingly helping us out and recommending some very good places to visit. They provided us with accurate directions and some good ideas and tips to make our holiday a memorable one.

The location of this little gem is probably the main key advantage. It is conveniently located in the very centre close to all the main attractions as well as the Callao, Santo Domingo and Opera Metro stations. We used to walk Puerto Del Sol square and get there within 5 minutes and Plaza Mayor within 10 minutes.

There are some decent restaurants in the vicinity too. We are not fans of the 'all you can eat' type but there is a restaurant called Topolino just across the road offering good all you can eat menus, at just Eur 8.95 per person during weekdays. Kids loved it because they could have both Pizza and Paella!

We were very happy with our choice of accommodation in Madrid. Hostal Gala satisfied our requirement and we highly recommend it! Try it out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DragonSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Staff were friendlier than most in hotels we stayed in during our trip through Spain (we stayed in all categories of hotels - from hostels to 5-star hotels). They spoke good English as well, which was very helpful since my Spanish is barely adequate. The location is good, within 10-20 minutes walking distance of everything you'd like to see in Madrid. There is a coffee machine in the lobby/hallway, which is convenient considering the fact that nothing opens early in Madrid. So if you're an early riser, you will appreciate that. There is also a free wifi. While the rooms had no fridge, the staff will store anything you need in their fridge.

Rooms are small even by European standards. While conveniently located in close proximity to all major sights, it is on the street full of night bars and prostitutes, so it was very unpleasant walking back to the hostel late at night. I haven't read that in any of the reviews anywhere before booking, but I wouldn't have booked it for sure. Although the public garage is relatively close to the hotel, there is no space to leave the car to unload the luggage. We have circled around for over an hour, until we were able to park briefly and unload the luggage

Good value for the money though!

Room Tip: Regular rooms are too small for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liv70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The hotel has an excellent location and great staff. The place is clean and stylish for the money in Madrid. My onl complaints are that it is very noisy at night from within the hotel and the AC in my single room was non existent. Between the hot room and the noise, I did not get a good nights sleep which prevented me from booking this hotel again in the second half of my Spain trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadukette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I'll be honest, I was a little worried about booking something with "hostel" in the name (even with all the great reviews), but all my fears were washed away as soon I stepped in the door! Super clean and super stylish, the place is one of those rare gems where the actual thing looks even better than the photos. The staff was really helpful and it's in a really convenient location. If there were more places like this around (for the price) then I would have to quit my job cause I'd be travelling all the time!

Room Tip: Our room had an adorable little mini balconey - ask for that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IN2665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#75 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#94 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#86 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#57 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#155 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Malasana
Ibis Madrid Centro
Ibis Madrid Centro
#83 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Property: Hostal Gala
Address: Costanilla Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#74 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#86 Family Hotel in Madrid
#98 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing