We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The feel of a boutique hotel... Nothing but WONDERFUL things to say! :)”
Review of Hostal Gala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Gala
Ranked #170 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Hostal Gala made my time in Madrid amazing! This place has the feeling of a boutiqe hotel. It was so awesome!

1. Located right at one end of Gran Via, the main street and shopping district
2. Located right next to Puerta del Sol
3. Located a few streets away from Fuencarral... which is where all the hip bars and clothing boutiques and cafes are
4. The staff are SO friendly and generous! When my suitcase had been left behind in Miami, they called my airlines and spoke to them in Spanish. Next thing you know, my suitcase arrives before the scheduled time they said they'd deliver it. Hmmm.
5. There are pastries available in the morning
6. There is a tv in every room... and the rooms are REALLY clean and modern. The beds are SO comfortable... I would fall asleep instantly!
7. The showers are the BEST. They have hot powershowers with multiple jets, wow! What a relief to enjoy this after a long day out sightseeing ;)
8. There is an elevator! Good because its a few floors up in the building.
9. Affordable! Seriously, better than a hotel in quality, cheaper than a hotel in prices!

Look no further than Hostal Gala... I seriously could not stop gushing about what an amazing experience I had. I have to thank the staff for helping me out in every way. They also have maps and can show you where to go on your stay. Everybody speaks perfect English and they will go above and beyond to make sure you're comfortable. ALSO, daily room cleaning!

I don't know if this is the best place for solo travelers... but if you want a clean and safe environment and you're with at least one other person... I would say go for it! You will really love it!

Room Tip: I chose a twin bed, private room with private bathroom. It is perfect for two people.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Gala
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

Ignore the word "hostal", this is a stylish designer hotel for the best price imaginable in Madrid.
Starting at about $53, when the average hotel is $130 or so, and right in the middle of everything - what a nice surprise. The staff are meticulous and friendly - your room will be kept immaculately clean, every single day. Breakfast is not included in your hard to believe bargain room rate, but you are right in town, and a short relaxing walk from a nice little restaurant breakfast (for the almost $80 a day savings off the standard hotel, you and your family can eat where you like all day and still have money left). That's not even all you can do to work some savings into your Spanish holiday.

Two words: shoulder season. I've said it before, I'll say it again - travel during the shoulder season is a great way to save money! Almost everything is cheaper - from airfare to accommodations - and there are far fewer crowds. Before you just hand your travel plans over to a professional, run your travel dates through google and see if you can't score some really bargain flight tickets yourself. And because airport parking is expensive, and aggravating, take advantage of hotel and park package deals where you stay the night before you fly in a listed hotel and leave your car with them for the length of your vacation. I get these on Stay123.com, and then that's one travel hassle off my mind, with a savings of often 50% or more over airport parking.

Once in Spain, or traveling anywhere for that matter, don't just fork over ridiculous hotel telephone charges. If you use Skype or Vyber, you can make phone calls for free over wifi - and wifi is available in cafes and libraries all over Europe. If you're staying at the Gala, wifi is free right in your hotel room.


Visit smaller towns. If you visit smaller towns, you'll save a bundle of money. Everything is cheaper once you're out of the big three (Madrid, Barcelona, and Seville.) Even if you're only a few minutes from town, you'll see the prices go down exponentially.


Although the Gala is a real steal, I usually try to rent instead of staying at a hotel. There are a variety of low-priced flats and rooms to rent for your holiday. You'll save money on eating out, (kitchen facilities) and have much more room to yourself.

Tapas! Spain is known for its tapas - light, small dishes that compose evening meals. They are delicious - and inexpensive. You can make a nice meal out of a couple of them - and enjoy some convivial company along the way!

Eat out at lunch. As with anywhere in Europe, restaurant meals are cheaper at lunch time than for dinner. And, unlike here in the U.S., lunch does not mean a sandwich, it usually means the same great food you can expect at dinner, for about 1/3 of the price! If you're going to eat out, eat out at lunch to save money.

Research the free. Most museums have free days. Check local events calendars for free concerts, art exhibits, or fun things to do. Head to the beach.

Take the bus! It's the cheapest transportation option - besides walking (which I am sure you'll be doing plenty of).


And, saving the best for last, invest in a City Pass/Discount Card. If you're in a large city and want to see the sights, buy a City Pass or Discount Card. These will get you admittance to a plethora of attractions for free or at a fraction of the usual cost. More often than not, these will include public transport.



9. Unlock your phone. Ask your cell phone provider if they can help you unlock your cell phone. When you arrive in Spain, purchase a local SIM card. You'll save a ton on phone calls, both locally and internationally. And, as I said, you can also avail yourself of skype and g+ hangouts, for free, if you have a good internet connection.

10. Know (or learn) Spanish. By speaking the language, you can ask locals where they go to shop, eat, and play. You can buy food in the local markets. You can shop at grocery stores knowledgeably. You'll also be able to function off the tourist track - and we ALL know that saves a great deal of money.

Room Tip: Away from the street, of course - you're in the middle of town here.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Conveniently located, very clean hotel (seemed much more than a hostel) with a super friendly and helpful English-speaking staff. The outside door's bell wasn't working when we arrived, but this problem was quickly cleared up (and in any case they give you a key to the outside door once you check in). We're a family of three (teenage son) and all three of us were happy with the facilities. One small problem, even though there was a special massage shower, we couldn't use it because the shower doors didn't close tightly so the water would have gone everywhere. Oh well, a small glitch in an otherwise very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMAydinli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Very convenient location. Restauarants and cafes across road. Small convenience store next door.
I found the beds uncomfortable and very hard. Also, there was only a very small shelf in the room with a high stool, if you wanted to write something. I write up our day's events each night, and this was awkward to do.
It was difficult to tread quietly in the corridors as the floors creaked very loudly as you stepped on them.
On Friday and Saturday night, there was a lot of noise from the clubs underneath the hotel block, on the side facing the park. They were still going (yelling and screaming) at 6.30 am. The park was full of cans and rubbish and broken bottles afterwards. The revellers were also urinating in the park. Wonderful view from our window!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishoo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just got back from a trip in Madrid. The moment you get out of St Domingo metro station look to your right and there you'll see Hostal Gala. Yes this hostel is close to the metro and close to most attractions in Madrid. The room is nice and really cozy. When we were there the temperature dropped to 2c during the night but the hostel maintain the room warm and cozy that i wasn't even using the duvet at night. It's a modern and simplistic style room. The shower/toilet is also a good size one and is really clean. The only problem I had is the noise outside which lasted until early in the morning. I am a heavy sleeper especially when I had wine before sleeping but the noise didn't spare me. It woke me up 2-4 times during the nights we were there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippydory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This 'hostel' is more like a Design Hotel right in the middle of Madrid. Very friendly staff (!!), reception is open 24 hours and the rooms are very stylish. We stayed with 5 people in one of the appartments which was very spacious and beds were very comfortable. Rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels given. Our expectations were certainly exceeded and we can only highly recommend this place for people who want to enjoy a stay in Madrid with beeing out and about most of the times. The hostel does not serve breakfast, but there are several places nearby (e.g. right across the street is one where they serve a lovely continental breakfast buffet (approx. 15 Euro)). We will for sure come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We really enjoyed ourself staying here!

Location is great and close to hopping, bars and restaurants. The room was very nice and clean. The bathroom very modern and the room was lovely to stay in. Was a reasonable price for such a good quality room. Reception staff friendly!

My only let downs were the internet cutting out often and the banging at 8am on our wall from works.

Otherwise a very good stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#108 of 438 in Madrid
451 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#89 of 438 in Madrid
624 reviews
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#240 of 438 in Madrid
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#86 of 438 in Madrid
1,338 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#142 of 438 in Madrid
616 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Main Street Madrid
Hostal Main Street Madrid
#32 of 438 in Madrid
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Address: Costanilla Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#86 Family Hotel in Madrid
#98 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £52 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing