We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Gala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Gala
Ranked #149 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was a bit apprehensive at booking a ‘Hostal’ rather than a hotel for our 1 night stop over in Madrid, however – we were pleasantly surprised. We booked the economy room at €49 as we hadn’t come to Madrid to enjoy a hotel room. It was clean, towels were provided, air con worked great, the standard double bed was comfortable and the shower amazing. Wifi worked great and plenty of sockets for phone/laptop charging. Location is excellent, right near 2 or 3 metro stops and also a stones throw from El Corte Ingles, the supermarket.

We didn’t have a balcony but weren’t too bothered as there were several bars nearby selling 5 or 6 bottles of beer for €3 - €5 which were great for people watching.

We didn’t have any problem with noise – probably because we were too tired to notice.

The staff on reception spoke great English and were very willing to help with any questions. The only problem we had was checking out. We had to wait a while as several people were checking in and out at the same time and this made us late for our booked bike tour. Just a small suggestion that they could give you the option of payment on arrival as you can’t add anything to your room anyway – this would speed up the checking out process.

Overall, great place to stay, I would recommend it and would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you're just looking for a place to comfortably rest your head and a decent shower - I suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cup_of_Katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galmad, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you had such a great stay and we hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    218
    56
    8
    6
See reviews for
88
200
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

One of the best hostels is stayed in. Friendly service, will go above and beyond to help guests!
Rooms were great, had our own private double room an ensuite. Couldn't complain one bit about this hostel, can't rate it highly enough!
Price was good for the location and facilities. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in madrid!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess_address
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galmad, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are always glad to welcome you here again in case you come back to Madrid one day. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed recently at this hostal. The service was good and the location, perfect
The rooms are clean and well decorated
The hostal is a bit noisy though, because the walls are very thin so you can hear people in the corridors or other rooms
Also some details in the rooms are missing (plugs, place to put the soap in the shower, etc)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

This was, by far, one of the best hostels I've ever stayed throughout Europe (and I've been in many places). If you're lucky enough to get a window and/or balcony overlooking the little piazza it will be even better. The staff were always court and when we complained re loud music and noise coming from a bar below (it was a public holiday so it wasn't really their fault, or the bar's fault) they immediately sought to change our room to a quieter area.

I also liked the simple and clean interior design.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korgan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Very well-located.Hostal Gala is close to several subway lines, which made coming in from the airport a breeze. And its central location made it possible to walk to pretty much any destination in the heart of Madrid.

If you want to be cosseted, this isn't your place. On the other hand, I was concerned it would be incredibly bare-bones, living up to the hostel name, with incredibly bare-bones accommodations, and it was several steps above. We weren't looking to hang out in our room so Hostal Gala proved a wonderful base. It was spare, but clean. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The only two negatives: The walls are somewhat thin. And while they say they have wi-fi, it regularly didn't work in my room.

Room Tip: If you're traveling as a couple, say so, or you might get a room with several single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I had a really great experience at Hostal Gala! The location is very central and convenient. The staff was consistent, friendly, and knowledgable! I was also very impressed with the communication of the staff after booking. I received and email asking when we would be arriving so that they could try to have our room ready! I believe our bed was a memory foam and was very comfortable. Nice bathrooms, although the room was a bit small. The only negative I can say was that the room next to us was being renovated so it was quite noisy, but only during the day. The square outside can be a bit loud at night as well, but it really didn't bother us, and it is just expected when you are in a city that is known for it's nightlife! I would definitely stay here again, and will recommend to anyone traveling to sexy Madrid!

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from reception and with a balcony. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I rented three apartments at Hostal Gala for 13 people. Each of the apartments were of very good quality and the design of the room were very modern. The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and the hotel/apartments were in a central location - what else do you really need? This is a great little find at such a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Next time I would contact the hotel directly to see if I could get an even better deal on the room r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PodNavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#70 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#93 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#90 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#53 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#144 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Malasana
Ibis Madrid Centro
Ibis Madrid Centro
#81 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Property: Hostal Gala
Address: Costanilla Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#74 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#86 Family Hotel in Madrid
#98 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing