We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place with a great quality/price”
Review of Hostal Gala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Gala
Ranked #187 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

If you are in Madrid for a short-break with friends and you are looking for a place to share all-together, than Hostal Gala is perfect for you!
Location is great: just a few steps from Gran Via and less than 5 minute from Sol!
Staff is really nice and willing to help!
And then there are the rooms (or apartments): our was very spacious and bright, quite enough and with all what we need (kitchen included)...all for 30 euros per night per person!
I would surely come back, if returning to Madrid!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank PiccoloU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the Hostal Gala during the first week of December; first in a 6 pax apartment and later in a double room and 4 pax apartment when we returned to Madrid from a road trip to Seville and Cordoba. Both stays were great! The apartments and rooms were clean, well maintained and the hostal so well located we had no trouble getting around. It is close to the main Gran Via and easy to get to the wonderful museums in Madrid. There are a number of excellent restaurants around and shopping is just terrific close to the hostal. We were so glad to find this accommodation at an affordable price especially since there are 6 of us travelling and the cost can total up to quite a lot! We had rooms overlooking the main square and there are activities during the evenings especially on the weekends, but it was fun to be able to see everything going on from our rooms. Certainly there was some noise but not terrible at all and we had no trouble sleeping.
The reception staff, especially Irene (thank you for everything!), are wonderful. Friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the Hostal Gala!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank SGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

My 3 friends and I decided to get away and spent the weekend in Madrid. We eventually arrived after spending what seemed like forever stuck in what the taxi driver descibed as 'mucho traffico'. What we found went far beyond our expectations. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful giving us a list of places to visit such as museums, gardens, an extrodinary flee market and the best places to eat. We had an apartment which was clean, spacious and modern with plenty of facilities. The shower was a particular highlight, possibly the best I've ever had! Location was brilliant as we were just round the corner from Gran Via, the main street for shopping, no more than 30 seconds walk. Would easily pay double the price to stay at this hostel, would recommend for anyone coming to Madrid. Absolutely fantastic!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kyle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

It is very important for us to know that our guests are happy with their stay here and we want to thank you for taking your time to write this review and share your opinion with all the other travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

our stay was most enjoyable - a lovely room with french windows opening onto a small balcony (there was a little noise from outside some nights); small but perfectly adequate bathroom (with impressive shower); soft towels; comfy bed; heating (much needed as nights got colder) - and very helpful, friendly reception staff
and the hostal is right by a metro stop
from my research on the web I'm not sure all rooms have heating - definitely worth checking in the colder months - it's why we plumped for a superior room

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirl.ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We really appreciate your review on Tripadvisor and would like to thank you for writing it. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding your doubt about the heating: we do have heating in all of our rooms ;) We hope to see you soon, and in case you need any information or help, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked an apartment (5 person) and were utterly amazed at the standard of the hostal. The receptionist was more than welcoming and spoke superb English. A solid 8/10.

The apartment itself was superb and was spacious, clean and simple. The shower was incredible! Kitchen was a nice surprise.

The hostal could only be ruined by the one thing and that was signal of the wifi, luckily it pulled through and got us through the lonely nights. The shower was amazing, if I haven't mentioned already!

Really great location near to lots of tapas bars, metro and the Main Street.

Would recommend to anyone and really can't complain about the price. The shower was also incredible!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamiey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing this fantastic review. We are happy to know that you had such a good time and we are looking forward to seeing you again when you are back in Madrid!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had 1 night only to spend in midtown Madrid, so location was important. It has great location on an alley from gran-via. The sign is not so clear so it took some time to locate. Its in an apartment house and the lobby is On the 2nd floor. Whole level is the hostel. Rooms are tiny but satisfactory. Clean, warm, TV, wifi a little weak. Street is not heard but the inside activity is noisy!! No much privacy in this manner. Also, there's not much of a lobby, so if you wake up early you have nowhere to sit (there is a hall but its cold and dark), no free coffee early in the morning, which is crucial if you wish to leave your room and read emails till your spouse wakes up, the coffee machine is off due to noise. Well outside you can find nice places opened early, cigarettes are a problem. Breakfast is not included. But, if you are out late, location is helpful, you just walk few minutes and you are at the hotel. Price is low and staff was very!!! Helpful, good english, map etc. this worths it all

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Udi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor. It is very useful to us knowing what you did not like, to improve our service. We hope you'd still choose our establishment next time you are in Madrid and we will be happy to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Clean, central location, friendly staff and reasonable price. Would return again in a minute. Great find! Close to many of the major sights and public transport as well as many restaurants and wine bars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time and write this review and we really hope to have you back here next time you are in Madrid. Please feel free to contact us at any time in case you need information, help or anything else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#229 of 440 in Madrid
224 reviews
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#117 of 440 in Madrid
466 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#158 of 440 in Madrid
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#87 of 440 in Madrid
634 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Main Street Madrid
Hostal Main Street Madrid
#54 of 440 in Madrid
540 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 440 in Madrid
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Address: Costanilla Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#74 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#98 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £48 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing