We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, great location”
Review of Hostal Gala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Gala
Ranked #189 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This hostel is great. Staff are very friendly, nice rooms and good location. Even though you are close to the city there is not that much noise. The only issue is that there is no kitchen, but there are plenty of places around the hostel to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Outstanding staff and service, wonderful room which is squeeky clean. Free WiFi, and a wonderful bathroom which is always clean.. Amazing location and walking distance to everywhere. Very well priced if compared to many other hotels in this location and this quality.

They could include an English channel on TV such as CNN or BBC World news as all the tv channels are Spanish, but that was not a problem for me.

Room Tip: Perhaps Choose a room not facing the main street as its slightly noisy at night, but its not a huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Irvine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Guided by Tripadvisor, I booked one night here for a stopover on my way elsewhere, and liked it so much I booked for my return as well. It is indeed very central and has a nice inexpensive flair to it; each room is a bit distinct (at least the wallpaper) and I recognized numerous accessories (glasses, mirrors, ironing board, toothbrush holder, etc.) from Ikea. The staff were very friendly, fluent in English and generally quite helpful. My first room directly overlooked the plaza which was overrun in the evening with the clacking of skateboarders, but the noise (at least on a weeknight) died down and the night was quiet.

The location is indeed a little tricky but I had no problem spotting the signs on the building and finding my way to the second (third?) floor. Wifi was not super-strong but quite adequate. The hotel breakfast consists of packaged muffins and vending machines; it's true that there are not a lot of early morning places open but it was easy to go out and find other things.

Central Madrid is very walkable (with a good map) and Gala is close to lots of lively spots and tourist stops. It is about a 20-30 minute walk to the Prado and the other big art museums, but I'd rather stay at Gala again than find something closer.

Having never stayed elsewhere in Madrid I can't offer much of a comparison, and it seems to have lots of these single-floor hostals (I saw one building with four different hostals on different floors). But Hostal Gala certainly offered good service and style for the price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank traveller111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Immaculate modern accommodation in a very central location. We booked a triple bed room which was basic but had everything we needed. The power shower is great!!! A wee bottle of cava in the room to welcome you on your stay is a nice touch. It can be confusing trying to get to the gala as it is based on the second floor of the building but once you know this it's easy to find. You can buy vouchers which you can then take to an external restaurant to exchange for breakfast. We never done this as we preferred to go for a morning stroll and stop wherever took our fancy.....hundreds of places to choose from!! There are coffee/ juice machines based near the reception and they also put out cakes/pastries each morning which you can help yourself too. All of the staff that we met were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting Madrid - everything is on the door step.

Room Tip: My only one wee niggle about my room was that it faced a rock bar that was open until after 4am. Alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PJH1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Hostal Gala is conveniently located within minutes to 2 Metro stations: Santo Domingo and Callao; and you can pretty much walk to most attractions under 25 minutes. The room is small but clean and functional. The staff is very helpful and friendly. One drawback is the poor soundproofing between the rooms and the corridor because we could hear the conversations between the receptionist and the guests. Another improvement is to have better signage. Google Map definitely helps, but I still wasn't sure until I saw a very small sign by the door. Later I saw a faded sign on a 2nd floor window but you probably will never notice it.

Luckily it's right across from Sushi Club so you can use its sign to orient yourself. The funny thing is that we actually walked past the nondescript building a couple of times when we came back to rest.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djc2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Walking distance to all major sights. Good reastaurants nearby and many choices for breakfast places. Staff really helpfull and friendly. We were staying 5 nights and only minus was that wifi was not working well at our room. On the otherhand it was working better in bar on the otherside of street, so in the end not bad at all :-) Really good hostal to stay in.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Timo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights from 14 to 17 Jan 2014 , at a double-room with a private bathroom, for about EUR50 per night.

In terms of location, it was very conveniently sited near the Callao metro station which we alighted from after taking the metro from the airport. The Callao station is only a 5-7min walk away. There was also a supermarket located across the road on the left side of the Hostel. It was also walking distance to the Gran Via and most of the key sights via the metro stations.

My friend and I stayed on the second floor where the reception was located. The room was clean and there was clear effort to decorate it with a nice painting and matching wallpaper on one wall where the bed was. However, the entire room and the bathroom looked “tired” and old even though they had been painted over. Two small sachets of soap and clean towels were provided. A hair-dryer can be borrowed from the reception without any cost. Other than that, there was a small flat-screen television attached to the wall (mostly spanish free-to-air channels), a small wardrobe, 2 chairs and 2 charging sockets. Compli wifi was available but reception was patchy (we subsequently found out that the router was accidentally switched off which explained why the wifi was patchy for some periods of time) The room was small but since we didn't have much luggage with us, we have no complaints.

In terms of noise, it was relatively quiet during the time we stayed, even though we could hear some footsteps and voices through the door/walls.

The reception staff was friendly and helpful. They were able to arrange free walking tours that start near the hostel as well as taxis when we needed to get to the airport. However, because there is only one person on duty each time to assist guests to check-in and check-out/answer queries, do be prepared to wait a while if there are other guests before you as the staff patiently caters to them.

In terms of amenities, they do not have a pantry or kitchen (or at least not on the floor that I stayed at). There were 2 vending machines, one that sold snacks and the second one, hot drinks for a fee and that run at stipulated timings on the second floor, where the reception is located. In the morning, there is a small basket of cakes/biscuits for the guests. The lack of a pantry/kitchen didn’t trouble us since there was a supermarket nearby where we bought bottled water and snacks. There are also restaurants around the hostels so there wasn’t a need for us to prepare our own meals.

I did not give Hostel Gala Madrid full 5 stars because of the following:
(1)While it was easy to locate the Hostel building on Google maps, we had difficulty trying to get into the building itself as there were no instructions given to us beforehand. Turns out that one has to press a buzzer on the building (you have to press the buzzer that is labelled correctly for the Hostal) in order to gain access into the main door of the building. Within the building, thankfully, we bumped into other guests who informed us to go to the second floor where the reception was located. Otherwise, we wouldn't have known where or which level to to check-into. The building itself looked like an office buiding with other tenants, so be careful not to press the buzzer for the other building tenants! The other small "complaint" i had was that I find it impossible to open the main front door of the building with the key that was provided. However, and thankfully, my friend had less difficulty and was able to open the main door after he had mastered the "technique". Apparently, there is a certain angle to position the key and to turn it, in order to open the main door.
(2) The hostel building itself was rather old and they have installed sensor lights which I appreciate is more environmentally-friendly. However, these sensor lights have a tendency to switch off very quickly so it startled me the first time it happened and the entire building plunged into total darkness (there were no windows inside). To resolve this, you can try to find the light switch (but only turns on the light for a limited period fo time) or wave frantically at where you think the sensors are located to turn the lights on.

Other than the lack of instructions to gain access into the hostel building and the lighting issue, I find that Hostal Gala fits the bill for a decent place to stay at in terms of location, affordability, cleanliness (in spite of the rather old premises) and service in general.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WP K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about our establishment with all the other travellers. It is very important for us to know also our negative points to keep on improving constantly. We are glad to hear that all in all you had a good here and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#231 of 438 in Madrid
223 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#154 of 438 in Madrid
631 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#87 of 438 in Madrid
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#104 of 438 in Madrid
460 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#86 of 438 in Madrid
1,186 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#226 of 438 in Madrid
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Address: Costanilla Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#74 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#86 Family Hotel in Madrid
#98 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £43 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing