We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel”
Review of Hostal Zamora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Zamora
Ranked #210 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is well located in the center of Madrid with close access to Metro. The staff was extremely friendly and always ready to help. We had a 4 beds room with plenty of space, quiet when the window was closed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LaurentDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

The place is really well located near Gran Via and a metro. Our room was on the 4th floor but there's an elevator. It's really clean and nice bathroom. We had a 3 single beds room and it was just what we need. It's quiet and relax. Air conditionner was working.

Room Tip: Take a room on a high floor because the square is noisy all day long, even at night on friday and sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Anonymous12345768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Firstly a Madrid mate if mine told me not to bother with a city hotel as they are expensive. The hostal is well located in the Chueca area next to a pretty square. Prado museum etch are 10 minute walk away. The hostal is family run and José on the desk is friendly, patient and helpful. He explained the hostal really carefully, recommended an excellent local tapas place for me ( el Tigre) and also a cool place for breakfast ( try Don ulpiano, it's literally 10 seconds from door). The key is dropped off and collected which works well, the door is kept locked but Jose appeared in seconds. After 11 pm the front door is locked but I was buzzed in immediately. My room was the cheapest option, the single, room 11. Great shower and room clean and OK size but by no means luxury but I didn't expect that. Rooms overlooking square might be nice though as it's pretty.
There are many hostels in the area but I would recommend this one mainly for location and the friendliness of José ( gracias José) who tried hard to understand my pigeon Spanglish! The bed was basic but I slept really well !

Room Tip: Room 11 is quiet and far away from desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The best thing about the Hostal Zamora is the Fernández family who run it: helpful, generous, and friendly. The rooms are well kept and and kempt. The location is superb for all kinds of different activities in Madrid... truly centrally located.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Hispanophile46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTAL_ZAMORA, Recepcionista at Hostal Zamora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We appreciate your dedication to express his opinion and we are also glad that they liked the stay at the hostal and we hope to see you soon in our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Hostal Zamora (more of a hotel), was a decent stay and a great value. Location is near Ciebles (where you can catch the airport express bus for 5 eur). The rooms were basic and small (by US standards) but very clean and functional. Also, the windows were new and thick which blocked out a surprising amount of sound from the plaza below. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank gregtakayama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTAL_ZAMORA, Recepcionista at Hostal Zamora, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We appreciate your dedication to express his opinion and we are also glad that they liked the stay at the hostal and we hope to see you soon in our establishment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My son and I booked tickets for a Real Madrid football match and were looking for a reasonably priced hotel with easy access to the stadium. Hostal Zamora is in a great location and is excellent value for money. We could walk to the old town restaurants and the Prado museum and it was an easy metro ride to the Bernabeu. The staff were very helpful and the room was clean. I would definitely reccommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DavidA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTAL_ZAMORA, Recepcionista at Hostal Zamora, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

We appreciate your dedication to express his opinion and we are also glad that they liked the stay at the hostal and we hope to see you soon in our establishment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This place was fantastic. The staff were extremely helpful with any questions/concerns we had. The room we had was on the front of the hostel looking into the square. The room had 2 single beds and a lovely bathroom. The rooms very small but very clean. The location is brilliant, close to everything we needed. Right off Gran Via, lots of shopping and great restaurants really close by. Will def stay here again in the future :)

Room Tip: Room number 8 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcameron17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTAL_ZAMORA, Recepcionista at Hostal Zamora, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

We appreciate your dedication to express his opinion and we are also glad that they liked the stay at the hostal and we hope to see you soon in our establishment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#231 of 438 in Madrid
223 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
#255 of 438 in Madrid
130 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#154 of 438 in Madrid
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#278 of 438 in Madrid
162 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#226 of 438 in Madrid
260 reviews
Huertas
Plaza D'ort
Plaza D'ort
#388 of 438 in Madrid
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Zamora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Zamora

Address: Plaza Vazquez de Mella 4, 1. Izda., 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £40 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Zamora 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostal Zamora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing