We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasant experience”
Review of Museo del Jamon

Museo del Jamon
Ranked #342 of 10,773 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Malasana
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It was the first place we ate right after our arrival in Spain. We got in and heard a woman working there yelling. So we went to another person to get served. We ordered a cana, the iberico sandwich and another sandwich named after the place (museo sandwich or something like that). The whole time we were there the woman kept yelling madly at other employees. Really not pleasant. The sandwich had a thin slice of iberico ham almost see-thru and the bread was very dry. The other thing we ordered was not what we expected. Disappointed with the food but it was really cheap. However, we got olives for free tapa and those were the best olives I ever ate!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piggy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,009
    1,953
    913
    266
    208
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
824 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“Rather amazing!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I found this place by pure hazard. So, one evening, I decided to get in to have a look and maybe have a drink there. Wow! You have never seen so many Spanish Jamons (far hams) hanging there! The place was absolutely packed, I managed to find a quiet corner to order a glass of Spanish red wine with tapas of jamons of course. Well, I loved it! I really enjoyed the lively atmosphere. If you want to have an idea how evenings become a fiesta in Madrid, drop by there for a while. You'll be right into a Spanish fiesta! Ole, me gusto mucho! Salud! Adios muchachos.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
530 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Cheap drinks and tapas”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

€6 for 4 Amstel Radler and a tapas to share or €8 for 5 Heineken and a tapas to share. Bargain! The waiters were a little surly but that is all part of the charm, there are even lots of hams hanging up everywhere and some delicious looking pastries.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ninjakitten007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Quick Bite That has Turned into a Full Delicious Meal!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First of All, i want to clarify that we enjoyed the amazingness this place has to offer, several times during our holiday in Madrid, well I will explain the most significant and various experience we had. For several days we bought there some amazing bocadillos with queso or with the most amazing jam on, not the best Pata Negra available but was treated like the most expensive one, well hand-cutted and assembled. The bread which was like a small version of a sub or a hero sandwich was crusty, fresh and very soft on the inside. All for One or Two Euros each. You can't beat. Than We decided to enjoy dinner in there, well we decided to put the place to the test ordering first two filetes de ternera aka beef steak and trutfully a paella, cause we were in the mood for it! BOTH WERE EXEPTIONAL AND FRESH…than we went to heaven

- Jamon Pata Negra Duroc
- Jamon Iberico de Bellota
- Paleta de Serrano
- Jamon Serrano
- Morcilla and Chorizo
- Manchego cheese
- Jamon Granadino


Awsome Charcuterie!
10/10

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Menu del Dia”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

There are six Museo del Jamon restaurants, and we visited to the one in Carrera de San Jeronimo. As you walk in there is the downstairs bar area, but we wanted a sit down meal, so we headed upstairs. As a measure of the popularity we had to wait in line for a table at 3.15pm. It was crowded and noisy, but we soon had a table and the menu (Euros 8.40) was varied, and inviting. The food was hot, freshly prepared and well presented. All in all we enjoyed our meal and even thought about going back the next day

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnypeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo del Jamon also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museo del Jamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing