We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we liked it a lot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Zamoran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Zamoran
Ranked #179 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“we liked it a lot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Hostal Zamoran was basic but we got what we paid for. We stayed in December 2010 when even Madrid was having heavy snowfalls, and unlike other reviewers we didn't find the rooms cold at all. The location is brilliant, our party were aged from 19 to 50 and we all loved the area. It could have been noisy at night but we honestly didn't notice - the metal shutters and heavy curtains effectively shut out all noise and light and I had a better nights sleep than I normally do in my own bed. The street is perfect for shopping, lots of designer goods alternating with little "pound shops" - something for everyone. The staff spoke a little English but tried hard to communicate and extra pillows and towels were provided on request. Am planning to return to Mardrid in warmer weather and would definitely stay here again, which has promted me to write a review at this late stage. If what you want is a clean and comfortable base in good central location then you wont be disappointed with Zamoran.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertienBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    27
    9
    15
See reviews for
23
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We rented an appartment, the rooms are very basic but clean. the owners are nice and speak a bit english. the location is right in the city and easily accessible, but the biggest problems is that the appartments are located at calle de hortaleza, one of the busiest nightlife streets in madrid. bring earplugs if you want to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexx93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

They have a good central location, but the rooms are sub-standard, as is the service (one has to keep asking them to put the heating on). Also, you can hear practically everyone else in the hostal - the walls are really thin. The wifi only works at the reception.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dibjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel/Hostal does exactly what it needs to. It provides good clean accommodation right in the city center. The staff were friendly, the room was exactly like it looks on the website, and the price was great.

The one downside is the local area itself, which is pretty rough. If your coming back to the hostal after 10pm your bound to see " ladies of the night" etc, and you need to be very wary of pickpockets. Through the daytime the street is a normal shopping street, and perfectly friendly.

The rooms were also pretty quiet, which seems a rarity anywhere near the center of madrid!

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ppyrgic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#179 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Malasana
Hostales Breogan & Kryse
Hostales Breogan & Kryse
#207 of 283 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Alistana
Hostal Alistana
#157 of 283 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
No photo provided
Ginebra
#122 of 411 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Las Murallas
Hostal Las Murallas
#136 of 411 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Palacios-Ribadavia
Hostal Palacios-Ribadavia
#116 of 411 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Zamoran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Zamoran

Property: Hostal Zamoran
Address: Calle Fuencarral No 18 | 2º Izq, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Zamoran 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Zamoran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing