We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in the strategic location close to all main amenities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AC Hotel Atocha
Ranked #185 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the strategic location close to all main amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Have been here for business trip, the hotel is very close to the Atocha train station, very central in Madrid. Very modern hall, nice and comfortable room, I like the style with glass shower in the middle of the room, bang & Olifson phone, and plenty of spaces.
Breakfast was great as well lots of choices, fresh baked bread, and good quality food.
People at the reception very professional, nothing to complain, I might say they are not very well preparred at customers issue, for instance I forgot my toothpaste it was late night and we're not able to provide me with a teeth brush set...
Overall good experience, I would consider staying at this hotel when in Madrid for pleasure trip as well.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank giomaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    366
    132
    27
    24
See reviews for
76
299
56
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great looking rooms, excellent design, but front step attitude horrible. Wife waited 30 minutes in lobby with 4 suitcases and baby in carrier before staff even offered to help her to her room, while I dropped of the rental car. Bathroom lights are on a sensor that cuts out and staff response was we know but there is nothing we can do about it. Marriot needs to teach staff "Can Do" culture if they don't want this joint venture to bring down their reputation. I've stayed in other AC Hotels before the joint venture without any issues, so this is my first AC Hotels by Marriot experience and I was highly disappointed.

Room Tip: Wall are a little thin, so ask or and end or the corridor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MemphisBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Beautiful hotel and room but the showers are a glass see through box! We are far from prudes but we like our privacy when we shower. This place is fine if you are traveling solo but if you are a parent and child - unless you are nudists you will not like. As husband and wife, I still value my privacy and don't want my husband and vica versa watching me while I shower. It's all a bit too weird. I wouldn't even like this on my honeymoon. We left immediately and asked for a refund. They hotel understood as it was not mentioned on Hotels.com that the showers are see through. They could not refund us but Hotels.com did refund us when we returned home. The AC was very helpful in helping us find alternative nearby accommodation. They had a great staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nylongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel is some 7 minutes on foot from the airport bus stop (you have to walk through the Atocha station to get it the other side), 15 min on foot from Prado museum, and 30 min on foot from Plaza Mayor-area. In other words, it is not very convenient for those staying in Madrid, but extremely convenient for those with early morning trains out of the city.

The decor is modern, black and white with a lot of steel, which makes the room very elegant, but maybe not a place to go for a romantic get-away. I loved it, and especially the shower, but to some it might feel cold and unpersonal. The room was very quiet, well-sized and clean.

Although close to the main train station, the area felt safe, even late at night.

The cons:
No free wi-fi in the room!!!
The breakfast starts at 07.30 a.m., which is relatively late for a place whose guests stay there in order to take early morning trains.
There was no bread or other bakery good at breakfast, although, judging by the presence of jams and sliced hams, they bread was supposed to be served as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo-dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a good location, close to Atocha train station and very walkable to many museums and parks. It is a modern facility, but not a very friendly staff. The restaurant and bar service is pricey. They provide a bar refrigerator and glasses, but do not have ice available!

Room Tip: Request a room at the end of the corridor and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Back again and happy to be in the same hotel and the same room. Hotel staff basically unchanged and very welcoming. For those that have said the staff is not so friendly, try to smile and say a few words in Spanish before jumping hard into English...you will be happy you did. I find the front desk team to be very welcoming if you take a little bit of time on your own. They are not concierges so don't expect that kind of city wide knowledge. But they will help you and share their recommendations. The rooms are as most people have described, clean, modern, and very functional. Wifi mostly very good and is free in the lobby. The area does have a lot of good restaurants and you are only about 3 blocks from 3 supermarkets. And did I mention they stock the minibar with free drinks, including beer if you are so inclined. The TV has 3 English language channels (French English news, BBC, and CNBC). Spanish channels are great to watch futbol...which they take very seriously here! I suspect that most people that come to this hotel are only here for a few days so their experiences can sometimes be hit or miss. business travelers mostly want "reliable" experiences..wake up calls on time, breakfast functional and wifi reliable. i'm here for work and this hotel delivers. for tourists, this is also a good spot because of relatively cheap and quick access to metro / bus services. the neighborhood is a mixture, some good and some not so good, but isn't this the same for a lot of cities? Just watch for the doggie landmines and you will do fine. And take the warnings about pickpockets to heart. Sad but true and most of the people here will lookout for each other. I've had several times on the metro where I did not notice my bag was only partially zip and a stranger alerted me to the problem...and no, not after something was stolen.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms in the main building, as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fceexp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
282 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have stayed here twice both business and vacation. The rooms are on trend with AC - quite modern. Business colleagues found the glass shower in the middle of the room odd. It is actually quite nice and well designed.
There are at least three AC hotels in this area, so know the address and directions. It is basically on the back side of the train station.
The breakfast room and lounge are quite nice. The work out room is marginal.
The staff were quite helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
#158 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#140 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
#212 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#63 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#120 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#194 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Atocha

Property: AC Hotel Atocha
Address: Calle Delicias 42, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your AC Hotel Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing