We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, modern design, clean, comfortable rooms, friendly and efficient staff”
Review of AC Hotel Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Atocha
Ranked #198 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We read Tripadvisor reviews on several hotels in the Marriott group before deciding on this hotel and we were not disappointed. For the conditions; we received a friendly welcome at check in. As we booked 2 rooms (1 room for our teenagers) we sent a fax a couple of days before our stay to request rooms close together - on the same floor... We were delighted when they allocated us two rooms next to each other which showed good customer service. In addition as the second room was twin beds, the glass/see through shower was tastefully concealed with a black band for privacy. Both rooms were in excellent condition, modern, comfortable, spacious and clean. Luxurious shower, unlimited hot water. TV with English speaking channels, possibility to change films from Spanish into original version using the remote control. We didn't take breakfast in the hotel partly because we didn't get up early and we didn't want to pay 60 euros per day for it (4 people). Location; excellent 5 minutes walk from the train station/central bus station. Just a couple of metro stops to get to the city centre. A Shuttle bus service to and from the airport for 5 euros per person. The hotel is also ideally located in the museums district (Prado, Thyssen, Reina Sofia etc..) We were very satisfied with our choice and would return there.

Room Tip: High floor. We liked the annexe building with view of the gardens - very calm. It's a choice t...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for AC Hotel Atocha
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Chose the hotel through internet (tripadvisor) though had mixed reviews but we took the plunge and we were glad that we opted for it. The hotel is actually walking distance from Atocha train station, if you take the pedestrian gate through the departure building, otherwise taxi is a a few minutes trip except they charge you extra 5euros from the train station.
The room is spacious with black and gray theme done up in a contemporary style but the highlight is the shower which was most discussed in the reviews i read. It is in the middle of room with see through glass walls, but was a treat after a long train journey.
The staff was very helpful in suggesting us where to go for Flamenco performance and how to get there. They kept our luggage for free for our over night trip to Tolledo.
I would recommend the place especially if you are to travel via train and even otherwise getting into downtown is no problem as metro station is in the Atocha train station which 5 min away. Great squeaky clean place with spacious rooms.

Room Tip: we took a smoking room and it was spacious.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amoKarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I choose this Hotel as it was close to a client I was visiting in Madrid. It was pretty easy to find as it was just round the corner from the huge Atocha station. Saying that the taxi driver from the airport seemed a bit unsure where this was!

The Hotel is in a pretty quiet little street and the staff where very friendly and helpful, especially when I asked for advice for using the Metro. The Hotel is not too far from the main parts of Madrid but we didn't venture very far and found a local tapas place just round the corner which was excellent.

The rooms where nice, very clean with a good shower and a TV, note it did not have any international channels and even Hollywood movie where dubbed into Spanish (not a huge deal). Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety on offer.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would go back.

Room Tip: Close to the local station where you can get a taxi/train or metro. I had an early start for the air...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrycharleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel is new, well furnished and very clean. The entire property reflects a modern design with the use of dark gray and black. The location of the property is perfect if you have a quick train or bus connection to make in the morning. However, if you are looking to experience the heart of Madrid the property is far from the main area. It is in a redeveloped area with very little nightlife activity and dining options. The rooms themselves are not appropriate for multiple occupancy. The bathroom lacks privacy with a mirror reflecting the bathroom into the main sleeping area. If you are a solo traveler or a couple this will not be a problem. But as I was traveling with a modest friend it made showering and getting dressed more complicated. Also to be noted is that while separate twin beds are offered they are pushed close to each other. I found the breakfast buffet to be quite expensive for the amenities being offered. The fitness center is simply a treadmill and a stationery bike. Overall a clean, well maintained hotel with trendy decor and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a group be aware that the basic room offers no privacy. The room with two tw...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is extremely comfortable and good value. For all the positive things it has, it wound up being our favorite hotel in Madrid. If traveling by train around Spain it is often faster and easier to bounce off of Madrid (on the fast trains) than go directly between cities, so we used this hotel as a "home base" and stayed there four times in the space of 3 weeks. They very nicely stored some of our luggage for us while we were transiting around Spain. We tried a couple of other hotels too but this one won out for the balance of location, convenience, quality and value. You can also walk to the Reina Sofia museum, which is only 4 blocks away. And the Atocha metro stop is right nearby too.

As other reviewers have noted, it is more convenient to stay in the front building (but the rooms in the back building are larger). The front building rooms are plenty large enough though. The glass showers didn't bother us at all, but if you aren't very comfy with your suitemate then the lack of privacy could be a drawback. However, the quality of the shower more than makes up for it---multiple showerheads and great water pressure. The only downside is that sometimes the water changes temperature without warning. The toilet is separate and does afford privacy. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel is quiet---we slept very well. There are individual cllimate controls in the room. The hotel is very nicely decorated, clean and well-maintained (everything looks brand new and very modern).

It is a Marriott so it has all the amenities: hair dryer, nice cosmetics, etc. (EXCEPT someone to help you with your luggage---no bellhops!). Also it doesn't have a club room so there is no free breakfast for Marriott premium members. Thus we didn't eat breakfast there because the breakfast was so expensive, and there are lots of other better, cheaper options in the neighborhood (like the gofre/waffle shop at the train station). Most times we just grabbed breakfast at the station on our way out of town. If you are a gold Marriott member then the internet is free; otherwise they charge you 12 Euro, but it is fast and dependable internet. I agree with the comment that others made that the front desk staff could be a bit friendlier. Except for our first visit they never acknowledged I am a gold member nor offered any gold member amenities other than free internet.

If you're around at dinnertime try the excellent restaurant El Rincon Asturiana a mere two blocks away. (The neighborhood is plenty safe.) Great steaks and a truly delicious seafood boullaibaise (sopa de mariscos).

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building if convenience is important to you.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roeslers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were upgraded to a superior room (like a junior suite) on the 8th floor but although the hotel was advertised as non smoking this room was clearly smoked in and the smell was horrible. They attempted to clear it and then moved us to the same type room without the smoking smell but this really effected our two night stay and turned us against it. The suite was very modern and special with a glass shower in the room to one side with glass on three sides - unique and special and we enjoyed it very much to include the stainless steel floor. The location for touring Madrid was perfect and we are athletic so dould wall just about anywhere to incule the Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor. The Prado Museum is only a 15 minute walk. Average Breakfast but we were turned off by the smoking issue.

Room Tip: Try to get a superior room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6sandy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We traveled back to Madrid by rail during our trip and we arrived at the Atocha rail station in the middle of Madrid. I'd never been to the rail station (or the hotel) before and when we walked to the taxi stand the driver did look surprised when I asked to be taken to the AC Atocha hotel. He took off from the station and within three minutes, we pulled up in front of the hotel! It's located about 3 blocks from the station.

Our room was very comfortable (with another shower in the middle of the room) quiet and very well designed. The hotel was very busy during our stay however at no time did we feel rushed or left to fend for ourselves. They have a wonderful breakfast buffet and drinks and snacks available in the room. All in all a great property in a terrific location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
#158 of 438 in Madrid
1,277 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#129 of 438 in Madrid
368 reviews
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
#213 of 438 in Madrid
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#76 of 438 in Madrid
537 reviews
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#9 of 438 in Madrid
488 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#124 of 438 in Madrid
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Atocha

Address: Calle Delicias 42, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £88 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AC Hotel Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing