We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite a nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe de Levante - CLOSED

Cafe de Levante
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centro
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quite a nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We enjoyed a lovely lunch here, 3 starters which were really nice. Staff were very good & a nice atmosphere!! Seems to have improved dramatically since some of the other reviews.great location to in between Sol & Plaza Santa Ana.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WesDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    9
    8
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pau, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We ordered two paella (1 with chicken, 1 with fish) for 4. We waited about 45-50 minutes...to get too hot and completely unsalt food. Lot of overcooked rice and very poor quantity of chicken/fish. We also get ripped off with the unasked/charged bread.
Not only the whole meal was very poor, it was overpriced. 2 paella (4 pax) + 1 jarra de sangria (+ 'bread') for 96.20€ ! Unbelievable.
There are so many better places to go in Madrid!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dry prawns, lousy service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Typical tourist place, ok food. When the waitor looses a fork in your wine glass and does nothing, and one of the guests tells the waitor that the king prawns are dry and taste nothing - still nothing happens. Well, you get the idea. Reluctantly they didn't charge for the king prawns,
Find someplace else!

Helpful?
1 Thank pnome
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“next door to hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

great paella and freindley service. nice to sit and watch the world go by.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wiggy114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Minimum service and bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We went there because we wanted to watch the football game Madrid-Bayern and it was the only restaurant where we found a place at the time of the game. We quickly understood why.
The service was minimum and the waiters were more interested by the game than by the customer.
We received bread as soon as we sat, and the bread was in a big open box open on the side of the restaurant. We order garlic gambas that were actually 4 gambas and lots of shrimps and not really tasting garlic. the shrimps were served with rice, the all thing bathing in oil.
We had 1 starter - 2 main dishes, 1 beer and 1 sangria for 50 eur.
Never again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Modi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de Levante also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing