We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Art Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Art Madrid
Ranked #8 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at the Art Hostal for 4 nights. The location is perfect within walking distance to all the central attractions so we really couldn't ask for more. The staff are so friendly & spoke amazing English so we had no problems with them. Our room was a good size, at the front of the building with a lovely balcony & 'yes' a little noisy at night but it is a very lively city. Beautifully maintained property, very clean & safe with 2 entry keys. Ideal location for travelers & well worth the price. We'd highly recommend Art Hostal for any age group, we're not young but travel as if we are!

Room Tip: Most recommend an inside room but we loved the front street view room. Light, airy & the beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLWToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus Miguel L, Gerente at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write about us. We appreciate your nice words and we are grateful for your feedback as it is very important for us in our aim to improve.
Hope you felt like home and hope to see you the next time you have a stop in Madrid.

Sincerely yours,

Jesus Miguel Lopez Segundo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    176
    45
    7
    3
See reviews for
59
223
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SE England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We strayed at the Art Hostal for two nights for a short break in this beautiful city. It turned out incredibly well because the hostal is very centrally located so it was within easy reach of the everywhere we wanted to go. The staff were very friendly and our room was small but perfectly comfortable for a couple of nights, I would recommend this place to friends without a second thought.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyPritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus Miguel L, Gerente at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write about us. We appreciate your nice words and we are grateful for your feedback as it is very important for us in our aim to improve.
If there is another short or large break in Madrid, just let us know!
Our desire is to give all our customers the best service and the best acomodation.

Sincerely yours,

Jesus Miguel Lopez Segundo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

The hostel is right in the center of Madrid.5minutes to puerta del sol and to plaza mayor.The room is tiny but it's enough for a good bath and a good sleep.Just what you need if you want a place to rest after a long day or night out in the city.The stuff is not that good in English but that is not really a problem!They are nice and they smile all the time!Although our room was perfectly cleaned everyday I noticed a problem..there was a bug in the bath..I killed it by drowning it..so its brother the next morning..that was the only unpleasant moment during our stay..oh!and the funny smell when you go into the room for the first time but it goes off as soon as you open the balcony door!
To sum up, pros:excellent location,really good price,nice stuff,cleaning-cons:we saw two bugs in the bath,the smell when you get in (vanishes easily),a bit noisy but we didn't mind,we would prefer two pillows instead of a wide one-for two pillow.
When we come back we will definitely chose hostal Art Madrid again!

Helpful?
Thank Voula K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jesus Miguel L, Gerente at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write about us. We appreciate your nice words and we are grateful for your feedback as it is very important for us in our aim to improve.
Regarding the unpleasant moment with the bug into the bathroom, we are very sorry. Thank you for having warned us, as it was the first time it happened. The establishment is fumigated 2 times a year, to avoid those unpleasant moments for our customers and also for us.
We would like to apologize also for the unusual smell felt entering the room. We will change our freshener for a softer one.
Our desire is to give all our customers the best service and the best acomodation.
We feel sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and hope that the next time would be a much better experience.

Sincerely yours,

Jesus Miguel Lopez Segundo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oliva, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed two nights in this attractive guest house, which is perfectly located in a quiet side street close to the Metro for Atocha station and only a few minutes walk from Puerto del Sol and the city centre.The rooms are small but adequate, the beds are very comfortable and the showers are spacious and hot. The décor is colourful and interesting, with lots of artwork, and everything is very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, and will look after your luggage on the day you leave if you want to spend more time in the city. Breakfast is not provided, but you can buy a voucher for a continental breakfast at a nice local bar. The only minor complaint was a lack of storage in the rooms, which would be a problem for an extended stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milldene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus Miguel L, Propietario at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for you confidance on our establishment!
If there is to be a second time for you or for your close friends to came and see Madrid, please send us a mail. And, with referece to the offer posted on Tripadvisor, we are going to make an addicional 10% offon the published price on our website.

Best regards!

Jesùs Miguel Lòpez Segundo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Situated on the 2nd floor of a modest tennant house right in the centre of Madrid (5 min walk from Puerto del Sol and Plaza Mayor) - elevator available and working. Nice but small rooms, good facilities (unless you need a big screen TV), including heating, air conditioning and cosy but functional bathroom. Great service - people there seem really care for how satisfied the guests are. Even though poor Englich, they would be patient in understanding your needs and explaining what needs to be explained. Breakfasts (continental but nice) in a stylish cafe next door (you need to walk out of the building) - the only inconvenience that it starts no sooner than 8.45 and is not served on Sundays. Compensated by numerous cafes at plazas Benevente and Molina nearby, opened earlier.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawel411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalartmadrid, Director de Recepción at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Hello Pawel,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so glad to accommodate you. Our aim was to give the best service and accommodation to our guest. During your stay, I was not able to attend you since I work in the morning shift and luckily the next day you checked out early. Regarding the breakfast we actually works with two cafe bars, Cafe y Tapas and Cafe del Patio. In Cafe y Tapas they opens at 8AM so you can have your breakfast earlier and with the Cafe del Patio they opens at 8:45AM else you can also have an option of having a breakfast in nearby bars who opens earlier.

We deeply apologize with the inconveniece your exprienced during your stay. Your feedbacks would be a great help to the company for improvement.

Cordially yours,


Maria Concepcion Estrada Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varazdin, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hostel is simply great! The staff was extremely friendly, there was no linguistic barrier and they were very professional...on the first day the receptionist even took me to the room, showed me around, explained the central heating etc.
The room is very good, nice bed, large and comfortable. Be sure to ask for a quiet room (just as I did) because it overlooks the inner side of the building and there is absolutety no noise from the outside.
The hostel has a great location, 2 minutes from the metro and some 5 minutes from Puerta del Sol. Plus, there are a lot of places to have breakfast or lunch in the area, and the hostel as such is locked permanently, so you get a key to the main entrance when you check in...gives a very safe feeling.
Excellent value for money, I'll definitely return there!

Room Tip: Ask for an inner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIster P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalartmadrid, Director de Recepción at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback to Hostal ART Madrid. We are gratefull in choosing to stay with us. It is our main goal to be of service and deliver the best accommodation to our guest. Whenever you wish to come to Madrid, your home is open for you... Hostal ART Madrid! We will be glad to serve you...

Respectfully yours,

Maria Concepcion Estrada Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We found this hotel on the web and I love that moment as I saw.Comfortable,lovely and safety! Location is perfect!! it was so central only a few minutes walk to Plaza Mayor, SOL, etc.

Only 1 thing disturbed to us.The toilet was very noisy.I didn't why but sometimes we wake up and said at night ,"what is that noise?" we didn' tell to reception for this problem.we loved our room.

All staff didn't speak English very well but it didn't a problem for me because I did a lots of practice for my Spanish! :)) I would highly recommend the Hostal Art.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalartmadrid, Director de Recepción at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your feedback. The management has already resolved the problem with the bathroom. We would appreciate if you would let the hostel regarding the problem as soon as possible so that we can do something. However, it has been checked by the maintenance. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience. The hostel has a bilingual employee to deliver the best service to you.

We will be glad to accommodate you for your next visit!

Kind regards,

Maria Concepcion Estrada Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#49 of 444 in Madrid
561 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 444 in Madrid
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
2,307 reviews
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 283 in Madrid
498 reviews
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#13 of 410 in Madrid
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Art Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Art Madrid

Property: Hostal Art Madrid
Address: Conde de Romanones 9, 2 piso, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Art Madrid 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Art Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing