We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in central Madrid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Ranked #33 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in central Madrid!”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at the NH Palacio de Tepa for four nights in June 2011.

This NH hotel is very new (less than a year old) and it certainly had the feeling of a top notch hotel. The hotel and our room itself were impeccably clean.

We had a room on the top floor (the 5th floor). It was very large with exposed wood beams. There was a ton of closet space for unpacking our clothes. The room looked out on a sort of courtyard so it was very quiet. The service from the cleaning staff is to be noted as our room was checked twice daily and was always in spotless condition. One issue we did have with our room was the hot water (or lack thereof). Showering between 8 and 9 proved challenging as we found there to be very little hotel water during this time (which is too bad as the shower was very nice). Perhaps because the hotel primarily serves business travelers too many people are showering at this time. The hotel needs to address this issue. Another issue with our room was that the towel warmer did not function. Perhaps a kink considering the newness of the hotel, but still something that needs to be fixed. The hotel has very good free high-speed wireless.

The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic for tourists. Nearly everything you want to see (e.g., Museo del Prado, Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor, etc...) is within walking distance. The metro in Madrid is also cheap and efficient and the "Anton Martin" metro stop is 200 meters from the hotel, so that too is an option for getting around. There are many good places to eat and shop near the hotel as well. We generally like to walk everywhere when we travel and the central location of this hotel definitely made that possible for us.

We would highly recommend this hotel to others. It is a 5-star hotel, and while it may not be on par with the Ritz and some other leading 5-star brands, it certainly met our expectations and provided good value for our money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    329
    64
    15
    7
See reviews for
184
537
37
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

This hotel is located on a busy square. If you are looking for lots of noise, restaurants, etc. close by, this is a good location for you. It is within a 15 minute walk of the Prado. Our travel agent booked us into a "superior" room. This room was on the top floor and was very small, much smaller than a room in most motels in the US. The bathroom was the size you would get in a Days Inn. There was no window - just a large skylight in the angled roof, so seeing out wasn't really possible. We went back to reception and asked to be upgraded to a junior suite. Luckily they had one (only 25E more per day) and we requested to be on the interior courtyard so that all the noise from the square wouldn't bother us. They put us in a very nice suite that was about 3 times as big as the original room. This hotel has free WiFi and was the only one on our 3 week trip that had a coffee maker in the room (expresso). The breakfast was fine but they really don't have a restaurant - just a bar that opens around noon with tapas. Since our trip was a package deal, I'm not sure what these rooms go for - it may have been a good value for the money. But the gracious service we received elsewhere was missing and it just didn't rise to the 4 star level.

Room Tip: Junior suites if you want room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msdillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I just returned from a five day visit to Madrid, we stayed at the Palacio de Tepa... The hotel has a wonderful location, right in the hustle and bustle of " the real "Madrid.
A stone's throw away from fine tapasbars and lively little squares where you could sit around all day ! It is a short stroll to that splendid Prado museum and shopping is just around the corner...
The Palacio is beautifully restored with respect to older features.... Good clean rooms, housekeeping excellent, breakfast very good.... friendly people... although it surprises me again that few people speak a second language. !

Room Tip: Book early on a bookingsite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisabetNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

NH Palacio de Tapa

Very good hotel in the heart of Madrid. Rooms are big, clean with very good service. Food was also very good. I stayed there for 1 week and it was very very good experience to stay there. Hotel Staff is very helpful, polite and knowledgeable.

Only drawback was that rooms are not equipped with Irons for clothes. Apart from this no negatives for this hotel. Thanks to Hotel for making stay comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Palacio de Tepa is such a find and its website really doesn't do it justice at all. This is a very reasonably priced, modern hotel in a sympathetically restored palace. As it only opened in October 2010 everything is super clean and new. The staff are amazing, really friendly and helpful and the rooms are well appointed with great connectivity for electrical/IT equipment, marble bathrooms, very comfortable beds, free fast wifi and quiet rooms. The choice at breakfast is enormous - there's not much they didn't have and well presented. Smoked salmon scrambled eggs or eggs however you want are all on offer. Last night they upgraded me to one of the deluxe rooms on the top floor beneath the eaves - absolutely stunning... This is a great hotel for either business or pleasure. Will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonTravel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Just stayed here last night on business, best value for money for a 5* in Madrid. Perfect central location in a nice and happening part of town (next to Plaza Santa Ana) and within walking distance to many landmarks and tourist attractions. Found a live music bar nearby and there are lots of cafes, pubs and Spanish restaurants in the area.

The hotel itself perhaps was a palace as the name suggests, and compared to many NH hotels in Madrid this is probably one of the best. Discrete with understated elegance, not as grand as properties like the Westin Palace, but more like the Park Hyatt style. I had a top floor attic type room with a small window so it was a little dark for me to catch up with work, but otherwise it has a lot of characters and serve well for leisure travellers. Free wifi for 12 hours. Breakfast was lovely too.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaveVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Its a good hotel, new, clean and well located. But its no luxurios or hip . No spa inside hotel, no bar inside. Rooms r great but u cant regulate airconditioned so it was only hot air or nothing. If u open windows its very noisy.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexjamessabbymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 435 in Madrid
1,476 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#36 of 435 in Madrid
1,728 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Palacio de Tepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Palacio de Tepa

Property: NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Address: San Sebastian, 2 | Barrio de Las Letras, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#14 Business Hotel in Madrid
#16 Family Hotel in Madrid
#27 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Palacio de Tepa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 19th century palace located in Madrid's Las Letras district, the NH Collection Palacio de Tepa is surrounded by history and romance. Just a five-minute walk away, the famous Plaza Mayor and next to Plaza Santa Ana enchant tourists and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your NH Collection Palacio de Tepa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Palacio De Tepa Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing