We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Ranked #29 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Although not inexpensive, we felt we received good value for such a spacious, well-appointed, immaculate, quiet room in a convenient location. I admired the tasteful, chic decor and was pleased with all the amenities provided (coffee/tea/expresso making supplies, bottled water, robe & slippers, toiletries, room safe, hairdryer, complimentary wifi, and drawer space). We were very comfortable and retreated to the room as an oasis. The numerous staff were also friendly and helpful. My only complaint concerned the lighting in the bathroom, which was not quite bright enough for applying makeup.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

I went there for business and I loved this hotel for its location, good room and professional staff. Breakfast is very good, good variety of food and juices. The annex restaurant is also very good for a quick dinner or a glass of wine before going to bed. I will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oriana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I loved this hotel. Fantastic location, superb room and great staff. If you have time, don't have breakfast at the hotel - walk to El Mercado San Miguel. Opens at 10am. Great bar in the hotel and fabulous restaurants everywhere. We walked everywhere from the hotel - even back to Atocha!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieB's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Beautifully located, well appointed rooms (though small showers) and the quality of service from the young staff is superb! Jesus in Front Desk, Juanjo in Guest Relations and the rest of the team really make this place worth a visit. Get a room in a high floor and enjoy the ambience in nearby plaza Santa Ana.

Room Tip: High floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tovarich1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

granted, we arrived at 9am from a trans ocean voyage in mid march, not exactly the height of the tourist season. never mind, the room was ready, the people at the desk were on target, happy to show us to our room (and a very nice room, i must admit) and offer any assistance they could. its a lovely hotel in an attractive central part of madrid - an easy walk to the prado (which looks magnificent and is a MUST visit if you like the history of art). numerous, delicious, unpretentious tapas places reside nearby. a good local jazz joint next door. a superb ( if not inexpensive) in house breakfast. expert directions to train stations etc.

immediately adjacent (basically attached) to the hotel is a lovely, fun little bar with, i am told, very good light food and delicious whose riojas. the bartender told me it was normally crowded only on the weekends anymore - and late (get used to late in spain) - but that the "crisis" has had a profound impact on business everywhere. i didn't see any strikers or folks looking for handouts. but the images of empty show rooms and street artist graffiti does send a signal that all is not entirely well. let us hope that newer signals from the government will help spain get over the hurdles they must confront.

but back to the hotel, it is well designed, well maintained and well staffed. very reasonable on the pocket book and very pleasant on the eyes. i cannot imagine wanting to stay anywhere in central madrid. beds are a tiny bit stiff but that may appeal to many. a real find, this one.

Room Tip: fifth floor is awfully nice with the vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ahoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Another hotel that delivers just about everything they promise! Loved the style, the service, the room and certainly the location. This is a very good alternative for Reina Victoria just across the street.
Nice trendy bar too, with excellent choices of drinks, although not cheap. But plenty of alternatives in the direct neighborhood, in any direction.
Only dislike: the free wifi. Yes, it is free, and the speed is acceptable. But it requires this stupid Swisscom login system which confuses your smartphone. It reports to be connected to a wifi (which is correct), but the wifi is not connected to the internet as you continuously need to login. So without realizing you are actually off line as your 3G is automatically deactivated. I just switched off the wifi on my phone during my stay.
Also on the laptop it is a pain, even with all the assistance tricks Swisscom is offering. This system is totally outdated and not suitable for a fine hotel like this

Room Tip: The hotel offers many 'inside' rooms which are absolutely quiet. If you can stand some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DVG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed just one night here in Feb. The room was situated looking out onto the San Sebastian church & was in a great location with a comfy bed & lovely extra touches. My partner had a gin & tonic in their restaurant downstairs with some crispy pig ears - phenomenal. Definitely worth it if you want value for a unique hotel with a lot of comfort & great staff.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 441 in Madrid
1,636 reviews
Huertas
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#22 of 441 in Madrid
2,078 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Palacio de Tepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Palacio de Tepa

Address: San Sebastian, 2 | Barrio de Las Letras, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#14 Business Hotel in Madrid
#24 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £129 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Palacio de Tepa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 19th century palace located in Madrid's Las Letras district, the NH Collection Palacio de Tepa is surrounded by history and romance. Just a five-minute walk away, the famous Plaza Mayor and next to Plaza Santa Ana enchant tourists and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, NHHotels, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Collection Palacio de Tepa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Palacio De Tepa Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing