We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,315)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveller rating
851
365
73
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
851
365
73
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza del angelgreat locationjunior suitetapaswalking distancetop floornespresso machinesanta analoved this hotelexcellent hotelroyal palacemajor attractionswould stay againprado museumlarge bathrooman upgradebreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
538 - 543 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a great time at Nh pa;acio de tepa. You can walk to almost everywear in the historic center.
The neighborhhod is great, a lot of retaurants arround, tapas bars and nightlife.
In just a few steps you have plaza Santa Ana, with several options of eating, drinking and enterteiniment.
The hotel is great, the staff was very kind. Rooms very decent, and clean and quietly.
Excellent place for a romantic geteaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luisandrekleiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Palacio de Tepa is almost the perfect hotel for a weekend in Madrid. It is centrally located, less than half an hour's walk of anywhere you might want to visit and a 2 min walk from Plaza de Santa Ana with its cafes and cervecerias (beer bars).

A recently renovated Palacio, the rooms are well designed with excellent lighting, two shutters (so lovely blackout conditions for sleeping and good sound insulation), a huge, comfortable bed and a pillow menu.

The reception areas are stylish and the staff is helpful and friendly.

The main restaurant where breakfast is served is less attractive. Comprising a strange collection of small, high rooms, the decor is minimal to the point of stark and service is peripatetic. One morning tables simply weren't cleared so new arrivals had nowhere to sit but the next day service was exemplary, so perhaps day one was a staffing blip. As people have mentioned, breakfast is expensive but it is very varied. It had the most extensive 'make your own muesli' section i have ever seen and a good variety of pastries and breads but a very limited hot menu and no bacon.

Just one area really let this hotel down - the wifi. Firstly you need to get a long numerate user name plus pin - every day! Then the signal fluctuates between full and non-existent on a minute by minute basis, everywhere except reception. Every time the signal is lost, you have to log in all over again. So just picking up my emails one day took over 40 mins and required 27 log-ins! People expect to be able to stay in touch these days, especially in a hotel of this calibre, so this one oversight means that we couldn't really recommend this hotel unless you truly want to leave the world behind for a weekend.

Room Tip: I heard that the suites on the top floor were lovely but our standard room on the 4th floor overlooked the main street but was still quiet with a lovely rooftop view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lazzagear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

OVERALL: We spent two nights here during a 10th wedding anniversary trip to Spain. This hotel is terrific and beautiful. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Madrid, although there are more affordable good options. The LOCATION is perfect for us because we could step out the door into a lively square or to many restaurants and bars, and also easily/quickly walk to any sites. Super easy spot to hail a cab

ROOM: We stayed in 208 - a duplex junior suite. VERY nice with a pleasant view to the street. It was a bit loud, but having lived in NYC, this didn't phase us much. On the first floor is a sitting area (couch, TV, tables), desk, closets with mini-fridge and safe, a large window with small balcony (not for sitting), and the bathroom. Upstairs is the bed and another TV. The room was perfect for us, but inappropriate for anyone that may have difficulty with narrow/steep steps. The steps have designated (dim) lights which helped when going downstairs to the bathroom at night. The fridge is well-stocked (and better priced than most). There is a hot pot for tea and a nice Krups coffee maker. The closets are large with plenty of storage. BATHROOM is great but we were surprised by the single sink and missing bidet; although I can recognize they probably didn't have enough space for a bidet. Great shower (a rain head and hand-held), but the rain shower head was a bit too short for a 6' person to stand straight underneath. There were two sets of toiletries (Bulgari and NH brand) which I thought odd, but who's complaining about that? Wifi was free for 100 mbs at a time, and login was a bit overly complicated (but probably more secure) - this didn't bother us, but noteworthy.

SERVICE: Excellent. Check-in was a breeze. Concierge (Juan?) gave perfect recommendations for a good cocido de madrilenos spot and a casual-but-great restaurant for dinner on our anniversary night. When asking for recommendations, he must have noted our anniversary and had a bottle of champagne delivered to our room with turn down service. It was such a wonderful surprise and thoughtful gesture - one of those little things you really appreciate.

RESTAURANT/BAR: Good food, good vibe, great decor, and good service. We had a few tapas that were twists on the classics and were presented more creatively plated than most places.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to travelers looking and willing to splurge for a night or two.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuniete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel was perfectly located to walk everywhere. The staff--especially Juan, the concierge--were professional, pleasant ant very helpful. Restaurant suggestions were great! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. They weren't huge but that was not important to us. The breakfasts were the best we had in Spain. We definitely would stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Excellent place to stay, but pricey considering current economic climate.
Friendly and efficient staff.
Breakfast is quite expensive; should have option of continental breakfast rather than full fledged one.


  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
2  Thank RSoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews