We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel in the centre of Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Ranked #31 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great hotel in the centre of Madrid”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I staid 3 night in this hotel together with my father.
We were very pleased with the helpful and friendly staff, you could ask them anything, and everything was handled with a smile in a very efficient way.
We had a superior twin room on the top floor. It was a very spacious room with wooden accents (it was under the roof). The bathroom was full of amenities from both Bulgary and the normal hotel supplies.
Our rate includes breakfast. The buffet was great with a lot of fresh fruits, meat, cheeses, sandwiches, breads, cornflakes, juices, yoghurts, ... You could ask every hot preparation that you wished for, and it was made freshly in the shortest possible time.
Overall I was very happy staying in this hotel, and I could advise everybody to stay in this hotel. It's central near public transportation, taxi, it's near bars and restaurants, walking distance from the most important touristic places in Madrid. It was just great!

Room Tip: superior room on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    321
    60
    15
    7
See reviews for
177
519
35
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlon, Belgique
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Location in Huertas (a lot of typical restaurants and bars) very central and walking distance to all major points in the city.
We got an upgrade to a very spacious junior suite. The room was nicely decorated.
Friendly staff.
Typical food and real flamenco show not far from hotel : Casa Patas.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIEBENMEERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Good location, very helpful staff. We had a superior room on the top floor which lived up to our expectations, modern, well equipped with exposed modern beams. Breakfast expensive and not included in the price, so we ate out locally at the many cafés in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

After just finishing a review on the Urban Hotel I figured I'd also leave a review on Palacio where we stayed on the second leg of our Madrid trip.

Room
We had the Superior room and was upgraded to a Suite. However after discovering that the Suite was a 2 flr plan with a bedroom upstairs and bathroom downstairs, we opted to go back to a Superior room. This was a decent sized livingroom area with a separate bedroom. We were on the 1st floor so not much of a view. We can see people walking around outside so didn't feel super private and at night it was pretty loud and rowdy. Nice to have a coffee maker with free coffee pods and a hot water maker. Heat didn't work great and took a while to heat the room.

Bathroom
Bathroom was tiny. Not a great deal of counter space or room around the toilet. Shower at least had good water pressure and heated up quickly.

Location
I liked this location better than Hotel Urban. This was further away from the touristy Puerta del Sol and closer to the Mercado San Miguel. However it does get loud because there is a great deal of foot traffic around the hotel. Try and get a higher floor and it may be more quiet.

Rest of Hotel
There is a decent gym where you can grab free bottles of water. There is also a restaurant in the hotel Estado Puro. The restaurant had cool funky decor and was convenient but the food was only average.

If you are looking for a super luxury five star hotel, this is not the hotel to choose. This is more of a average 4 star hotel and is in need of a makeover.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for more privacy and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelInEase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very good location. Very good Room, even with Nespresso coffee maker. Staff is very helpful.

The only big problem to me was internet connection.
Just NOT working, You get tons of preprinted free wi-fi codes from reception and then you're disconnecting, logging off every 2 minutes, any task is impossible with this. I was trying to get anything stable for 3 days, then Reception connected me by phone with Swisscom directly and they have fixed my room so i don't log off every 2 minutes till the end of my stay. I'm grateful for that, but it's not an easy solution for everyone. You should have long talk on phone to get connected, that's not normal.

Breakfast is very good, big variety of food, snacks, many healthy choices.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaKGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel was quite centrally located., nothing fabulous, and certainly not the 5 star they advertise them selves as. However, the service was adequate. However the Hotel was nothing to write home about. Will probably stay at another the enxt time

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VINOD110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Just came back from 9 days in Madrid. I was pleasantly surprised by the room, the friendly and helpful staff and the excellent location of this hotel. I did do a fair amount of research prior to booking, but you never really know until you get there. The location is perfect, near Puerta del Sol and lots of restaurants and shopping. The hotel decor was beautiful contemporary. We did stay in the suite on the 1st floor that had a seating area. I was very nervous about the small size of most European hotel rooms, and staying there for as long as I was, I really wanted to be sure that I wasn't going to end up in a room that was too small and made me feel claustrophobic. This room is definitely more on par with what most (spoiled) Americans, such as myself, find acceptable in hotel rooms...size, decor, cleanliness and amenities. The staff all spoke English well and were helpful in recommending restaurants. The gym is small, but adequate. For the price, I feel this hotel was a good value.

I would definitely stay there again if traveling to Madrid.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, it probably is worth it to go with the larger room or suite. Room was relativ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#17 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#47 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Palacio de Tepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Palacio de Tepa

Property: NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Address: San Sebastian, 2 | Barrio de Las Letras, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#14 Business Hotel in Madrid
#16 Family Hotel in Madrid
#25 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Palacio de Tepa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 19th century palace located in Madrid's Las Letras district, the NH Collection Palacio de Tepa is surrounded by history and romance. Just a five-minute walk away, the famous Plaza Mayor and next to Plaza Santa Ana enchant tourists and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NH Collection Palacio de Tepa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Palacio De Tepa Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing