We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food, beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of VivaBurger

VivaBurger
Reserve with
VivaBurger is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #271 of 10,433 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: La Latina
Worcester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We ate outside on a sunny spring lunchtime, the waiter was great and when he realised we were English called his colleague who translated the menu for us! So helpful! We had the 'Menu del dia' great value at 13 euros - bread, drink (mine was a glass of wine, included!) fabulous choice of the salad bar (love the tofu/garlic salad dressing!) then there was a choice of 5 fresh main courses. I had the vol au vent marinara - great flavours! I was too full for dessert but had an iced coffee (not included) Totally amazing - would definitely recommend, even for non-veggies! Inside the loos were very clean and the decor is quirky/hippy - love it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hyacinth_Bucket_Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    174
    50
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
154 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Variety & Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A great choice for veggies, vegans and carnivores too. The buffet has a lot of variety, great foods and interesting combinations. They also present some traditional Spanish dishes in a vegetarian style. A great way to get to experience the flavors of some traditional dishes. The buffet is well marked vegetarian or vegan. Incredible juices and a great selection of liquor. The people are super friendly and the decor is fun and funky. Great value. An absolute must try in Madrid!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aps101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very good vegetarian restaurant, very well situated (in a beautiful area in the center of Madrid). The service is also friendly and good. It seems it's also very clean. I came here with non vegetarian people (i'm vegetarian) and they really liked it. I will eat there some other times with pleasure. I would recomand this restaurant to my friends without problems.
PS : As a chocolate lover, I advise the chocolate cake, it's very good !

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Selma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Great food, excellent attention, wonderful location, carrot cake and brownie a must to try! Worth the guilt! Definitely we are coming back.

Helpful?
1 Thank TKGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A disappointing change to a pretentious wine bar”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I reviewed this place in the past, and very favourably, and am writing a new review as the place was refurbished and completely changed.

I have no words to describe how disappointing the new viva la vida is in comparison to the old one. I've been going to this place for many years and have also tried vegans and vegetarians all over Europe, from Sweden to Portugal, Viva La Vida was in my favourites. Unfortunately the place was just revamped into some pretentious wine bar with mediocre tapas. The rations are small and pricey (and VLV was already on the pricey side but the originality of the food and being able to taste many things made up for it); there were very few vegan ones, and they weren't even indicated, most of them have to be made vegan on request. The half of the buffet which was salads is less plentiful, has less interesting stuff and you'll have to pay almost 7€ for a small bowl and 12€ for a bigger one. All the pretty decoration has left as well and been replaced with well, not much except blue paint. I didn't see any desserts, out or on the menu. Most of the place is now occupied by a bar.
The owners and staff didn't seem to care one bit when I politely expressed my slight disappointment at the change, it seems clear this has been turned into a place to make money and not tasty veg*an food. Don't bother.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank SwannSwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed VivaBurger also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to VivaBurger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing