We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and Great location”
Review of Hotel Villa Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Villa Real
Ranked #36 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great price and Great location”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a layover. It is in a fantastic location, you can walk everywhere worth visiting in Madrid from this hotel. The rooms are decent, and it is surrounded by great restaurants. My only complaint is the AC is only available seasonally, so my room was so warm even with the window open at night. This was a surprise, so I would rate the hotel at 4 Star instead of a 5 Star.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyaLetrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at the Villa Real
All kind of comments help us a lot to progress.
Regarding your comment on the AC I would really like to show you our improvements so if you travel back to Madrid and you choose Villa Real again I kindly ask to contact me in order to be able to assist you personally.

Best regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    542
    149
    42
    20
See reviews for
326
793
94
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Villa Real on a Thursday morning, exhausted from our flight overseas to Madrid. While our hotel room was not ready, the staff invited us to enjoy breakfast while we waited for the room to be ready. By the time we actually made it into the room we had been to the train station and had our tickets in hand for our day trip to Segovia and our AVE train to Barcelona. The hotel room was an excellent value - the room is exceptionally large for a European hotel, it was clean, and all the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful (even to Americans who did not speak much Spanish). The breakfast, lunch and desserts were delicious and the place felt (almost) like home. What a great place to stay in Madrid!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your possitive comments about our hotel Villa Real
We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you during a future visit to Madrid.

Kind regards,

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was on a fairly expensive tour and this was the only 5 star hotel we stayed in. My only complaint is that unlike the other hotels there was no bottle opener in the minibar. The breakfasts were great, the computer in lobby (free) easy to use. View from balcony very nice. Walking distance to Thyssen museum. Great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrademexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do really appreciate.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at the Villa Real hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Here for a couple of nights on business. Never stayed 5 star so didn't know what to expect. Has the same as any other hotel - comfy bed, toilettries etc but most important "free" WiFi. Food is good and also very close to many other bars and restarants. Staff very pleasant, welcoming and helpful. Was very hot despite air con.

Room Tip: Nothing particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Well, we've just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel (April) and it was a lovely experience. Our flight landed early so we arrived at the hotel at 12pm. The hotel had our room waiting and we were allowed an early check-in and also provided with complimentary drink vouchers from the hotel bar - a great start. Room was 518 and was across 2 floors with a terrace with chairs and table outside. First floor: spacious lounge with sofa bed, tv, wardrobes, safe, minibar, marbled shower, sink and toilet - perfect for the kids. There were stairs which led up to our bedroom. The room was a little cramped, but spacious bathroom (shower, bathtub with shower, toilet and double sinks) all decked out in marble. I have to say the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in in a hotel - excellent quality mattress. The rooms were very clean and all toiletries provided. The hotel staff were very helpful and the front desk acted on all our requests. We requested a late check-out as our flight was not until the evening - late check-out 3pm was provided. All staff were well mannered and smartly uniformed and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location and in walking distance to all areas. It is located opposite the Palacio de las Cortes (Spanish Parliament), a 10 minute walk to Puerto del Sol, 5 minute walk to the Museum del Prado, 10 minute walk to Retiro Park, a 5 minute walk to some great Tapas restaurants (Plaza de Santa Anna). We would definetely stay at the hotel for future visits to Madrid as the city is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here four nights, and occupied two rooms. Room 505 was small with a double bed. Room 508 was two story, with living space on the main floor and bedroom upstairs. Rooms are smallish but enough for a comfortable overnight stay. Baths are marble with stool, bidet, deep tub/ shower, and two lavatories. Nice soaps and bath salts, but had to ask to be replenished once. The rooms are clean, comfy bed, and the rooms were cleaned/tidied well in late morning. Doorman named Daniel was very attentive; he reminded us of Antonio Bandaris. Food in the restaurant/bar was mediocre. The lamb burger and couscous were without flavor. Drinks in the bar were tasty and large. Breakfast was discounted at 15E, seems high, but quite good with awesome fruit, pastries, many meats, eggs to order, fresh juice, etc. they advertise a gym, which s essentially three aerobic machines and a steam room. The pool was not open yet in April. It's on a quiet square next to the Congress, so there were police across from the Congress at all times; they were friendly and visited the corner market often. The building across the street has a glockenspiel, so nice bells on the hour during the day. Madrid is very walkable, and this hotel was nicely situated for our walks to museums and restaurants and metro.

Room Tip: The center rooms on the fifth floor facing the street are two story with ample balcony with table an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grand_A_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so glad to hearing you had a fantastic stay and you would stay again Villa Real.

Thank you very much for your nice comments as it is always interesting for other travellers

We do hope to see you again next time you return to our city

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We just spent 6 nights at Villa Real in their junior suite. Very worth it, and reasonably spacious. Ours was on the 5th floor, so we had an actual terrace with table and chairs outside. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable, although housekeeping was a little lax at times - but a call to the front desk always rectified everything within minutes. We arrived early, and the room was ready. Location can't be beat, and great restaurants and museums are a fast walk. And there was actually room in the refrigerator/mini-bar for stuff that we bought and needed to keep cold.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#21 of 436 in Madrid
1,939 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 436 in Madrid
1,495 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Real

Property: Hotel Villa Real
Address: Plaza de las Cortes, 10, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Madrid
#28 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#30 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#35 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Real 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Real is a five-star hotel in the centre of Madrid, located in the Plaza de las Cortes, right in front of the Spanish Congress of Deputies and just a few minutes on foot away from Puerta del Sol. It is a unique location for exploring the sites of 'Madrid de los Austrias' on foot and enjoying the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing