We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Real
Nearby Hotels
ILUNION Atrium(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$232
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon(Madrid)
US$160
US$130
Ayre Hoteles
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ILUNION Suites Madrid(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$257
US$116
Melia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$153
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Occidental Castellana Norte(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,935)
Filter reviews
1,935 results
Traveller rating
1,126
581
161
44
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,126
581
161
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssplit levelfree glass of champagnegreat locationsister hotelthe congresstapasfive star hotelwithin walking distanceprado museumduplex roomliving areamajor museumsshort walkexcellent hotelsmall balconyplaza mayorreina sofia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
844 - 849 of 1,935 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was looking for something a bit better, and the choices in Downtowm Madrid include The Palace and The Plaza. I saw the reviews of the Villa Real and these two, and the Villa Real sounded new and fresh. It was fantastic. Right near the other two old ladies. The Villa Real gave me a Junior Suite which was amazing. Larger than most apts. in Madrid. The entire hotel, including the rooms, are decorated with ancient mosaics and other art work, but yet appears modern.In my suite, the open living space had a futon kind of leather couch which I suppose would open up to a full bed. There was a fridge, minibar, safe, big flat screen TV with lots of satellite stations, a large desk and work space, large window, small balcony, and a closet. The bedroom was a separate room with two twins converted into a king, ample closet space, drawers, and a convenient large cushioned bench. Lighting near the bed was badly placed for reading in bed, but by removing the lamp shade you get better lighting. The big window is double paned and the room is extremely quiet. There was another large flat screen TV in the bedroom. The marble bathroom is very large with two vanities/sinks, toilet, bidet, and large tub/shower. I would suggest the management add a grab bar as the step up into the tub to use the shower is high. Amenities in the bath are very nice quality, and the towels are thick. Hotel staff is extremely helpful and attentive, all English speaking, from the bell boy who knew about bus routes (which are one block away) to the receptionist who knew about trains. The location of the hotel is excellent, a few hundred feet from the Thyssen, two streets from El Prado, and next door to the Congress, which was very exciting when Felipe VI King of Spain was sworn in during my visit. I didn't use the restaurant, but the bar was nice and appropriately priced. Breakfast buffet had a great presentation but the standard fair of juice, fruit, meats, cheeses, breads and croissants. You could order hot eggs if you want. All very good and the service very good. My only complaint here was the coffee was awful. Ask for espresso for something better. I had asked for a quiet room and got 401, which was near the service area and did get a little noisy in the morning and evening but not constant. There are no carpets in the rooms, so you do hear what's above you, but again, not bad at all. I sleep with a sound machine. The hotel burns incense in the hall ways. I didn't like that. Always felt that I smelt smoke.

Room Tip: I had 401 and it was very quiet. Not facing Placa delas Cortez, but the side street.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarinaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very glad to hear your positives and negatives comments. Please, be sure that your kind words will help us to improve our service and we will do our best for achieving the excellence.
Looking forward to welcoming you,

Warm regards

Antonio Martín
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent two nights here. I cannot say enough about the staff. They were so helpful. We were checking out on the morning of the new king's coronation which took place directly across the street. They discussed this as we were checking in and did everything they could to ensure we were able to drive away without a problem. The food was great and the artwork a feast for the eyes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilam54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for writing these kind comments about our staff. We work hardly to provide an excellent guest service to our guests. I will inform to our reception desk colleagues about your congratulations.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon,
Best regards
Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We are a family of four with two grade-school kids and we stayed here twice this month. Overall, we would rate this as an excellent four star hotel.

We reserved two double rooms each time. For the first stay we got rooms on the first floor with two adjacent non-connecting rear facing rooms. For the second stay we got rooms on the fourth floor with connecting rooms facing the square. Both stays were quiet and pleasant, no issue with noise.

The rooms are clean and spacious (compared to other European hotels we've stayed in). Bathrooms have marble everywhere, double sinks, bidets, nice glassed-in shower tubs and a complete set of amenities. The room safes are huge (which is great) but old (which means they are difficult to use). One of the safes had a door that was sticky and a little difficult to open. Curtains are OK, but not able to fully block out early morning sun in front facing rooms. A nice-smelling incense is burned in the upstairs corridors to mask unpleasant odors. Turndown service with chocolates and slippers is another nice touch. The free internet is relatively slow but works for 5 devices, and they offer a "premium" internet connection for an additional charge.

We did not dine at the restaurant or bar at the hotel so I cannot comment on them. More specifically, we did not use the breakfast buffet because it was not included. However, the excellent location of the hotel means that there are many nearby bars (e.g. in Santa Ana Square) and cafes serving breakfast. I should mention that there are two breakfast items that are local specialties in the city: churros y chocolate and tortilla de patate. For your caffeine fix, you can find cafe con leche or cafe solo in almost any bar.

The hotel thoughtfully surprised us with a free bottle of champagne for my wife's birthday. This was a very nice touch.

Room Tip: Front-facing rooms (facing the square) get direct morning sunlight and the shades don't completely block it. Request a rear-facing room to avoid early morning sun.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webbzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Suibdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for these kind comments about our hotel. We are glad to know that you loved our location and our rooms. We hope you have had a great time with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards
Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We really liked this hotel. The rooms are very unusual, but in a good way. The bed was really comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. I have read several reviews that mention noise, we had no problems. I am the lightest sleeper in the world and had a great nights sleep every night!

Some reviews have found the rooms to be untidy and tired. We didn't find that at all. The rooms felt modern and were very clean, with (as you would expect in 5 star) a great turndown service.

The bathroom was great and really clean. we found the staff really helpful and really nice. The complementary champagne on check in is a nice touch.

The location is a really great selling point for this hotel. It is within walking distance of everything and the staff are only too willing to help with directions and whatever you need.

We found the price to excellent as well, was the cheapest 5 star available.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our Hotel. We are very proud of knowing that you enjoyed a great experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kindest regards

Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

On our first visit to Madrid we booked the the Hotel Villa Real and were very pleased with the location, our lovely room with a balcony and the service from the hotel staff. We were even able to get into our room on a Sunday morning after flying all night from the US. Be sure to have a mojito in the bar--wonderfully made! Breakfast was more complete than many offered in hotels.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bargriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for these kind comments posted in this website about us.
We are pleased to know that you loved our hotel, our breakfast and the service provided by our personal. We always do our best to provide our guests a great stay with us.
We hope welcoming you in Madrid again.

Kindest regards

Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews