We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the centre of Madrid, 5* at good prices”
Review of Hotel Villa Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Villa Real
Ranked #37 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Location, location, location... right in the Plaza de las Cortes, by the Spanish Congress you can find this little gem of hotel. Around 15 years old, if first opened as a 4 star hotel (I remember!) and with the years and some additions it became a 5 star hotel many years ago.

I got a duplex room, sort of a junior suite, which is the penthouse top two floors (5th and 6th floor) The living room (with TV) and half bathroom downstairs and the bedroom (second TV) and large bathroom upstairs, plus a fabulous terrace overlooking Madrid and the Congress buidling. All in all it is two small-ish floors but making for a very interesting room proposition and out of the ordinary.

At 168 Euros per night (internet rate) I found it very reasonable for such a room in the centre of Madrid. The room has a CD player, cable TV, wifi, safe, bar and all other amenities of a 5* hotel. It belongs to Derby hotels and guests here can use the fantastic terrace bar and swimming pool of its sister Hotel around the corner: Urban, a super modern 5* Grand Luxe hotel super-trendy. You can even charge your drinks at Urban to your Villa Real room: a plus. Visit its glass bar, a small super-trendy bar where many cool people meet. Pricey but oozes quality. Try their coktails.

The Villa Real hotel is small and friendly, the "business centre has only one computer and printer but hardly anyone uses it. When you step out you are yards away from some of the best museums in the Wolrd, such as the Thyssen modern Collection , the PRADO Museum and the Reina Sofia Museum. You will find yourself steps away from two of the best hotels in town, the Palace and the Ritz and walking distance to Puerta del Sol, a great square which is the "geographic centre of Spain" called Kilometre "0". From there you can stroll around shops and the old Madrid with its twisting and narrow streets, monuments and great restaurants.

So, if you want 5* quality at 4* prices, then I recommend Villa Real.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

Dear Sir.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed for 2 nights recently in this fine hotel. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. It's right near the Prado and the other museums and the botanical gardens. Loved staying at this hotel. Nice free breakfast, anything you could want.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2010

Dear Sir.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I'm so dissappointed with how this hotel handled my reservation. I had received several recommendations for this hotel and was anxious to book a room. I reserved an upgrade for the split level duplex room which has a large bed and seperate lounge area with a sofa. I happen to be traveling alone with my 2 children (9 & 14) in July. This was going to be a safe, small, well located hotel for us. Well, unfortunately, the hotel does not allow more than 2 people in this particular room-no exceptions. They conveniently offered a smaller room and a cot as an alternative (at a much higher rate). I just felt that after several emails back and forth as well as a phone call, that they were being a bit rigid and it was short-sighted not to make the exception. Did I say it was for only 2 nights...really now.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
Thank blockhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2010

Dear Sir.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

Please be assured that we have taken good note of every comment in your
Feedback.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

Anyway I would like to inform you that as you know, you have choosen a very special rate with limited conditions. This very discounted rate was only available for the duplex suite for a maximum occupancy of 2 people in the room, so we offer you the different options for your family with the best conditions, but this same rate was not available for the request you have.
I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed here when we first arrived Madrid, and then at the Urban Hotel when we returned a week later. It fairly pales alongside the Urban, and I have to agree with those who question it's 5th star. However, I actually found it's plainness and honesty quite pleasing, and classy in an unforced way; owners clearly went to lengths to preserve gracious fittings from a previous era. Bathroom was superb. Linens and finishes excellent. Front desk was very good. We took a duplex for it's private terrace, and while it was nice to have a variety of spaces (including 2 bathrooms!), the bedroom was painfully small. No other complaints -but nothing truly wowed me either. My heart is now with the Urban.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntKlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2010

Dear Sir.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I'm not really sure what these bad reviews are about. We had a beautiful room. It was clean, comfortable, classy. These are the 3 C's I look for in a room and I found them here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Though, I had lived in Madrid and didn't need much help with finding things etc. I have to say the location is fantastic! Right between Sol and the Prado. Perfect. We had been traveling for sometime and this was our final stop. It ended our trip on a high note. I would stay here again and recommend it to everyone I know :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seeker707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2010

Dear Sir.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The Villa Real is rated a 5 star, and with it's sister hotel being the Urban, you wouldn't doubt it. It's also reviewed in the Small Luxury Hotels of the World (and every other one of them is good). The Villa Real, however, is staid, the double beds are two single mattresses put together (on an awful bed), and even having a normal shower causes the room to flood. Would definitely not stay again!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Dear Sir.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

Please be assured that we have taken good note of every comment in your
Feedback.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

Anyway I would like to inform you that our mattresses have the highest quality of the market and indeed with a zipper system we could make one double bed of 2x1.80m or twin beds, on behalf of our guest’s needs.


I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I reviewed Villa Real on TripAdvisor in 2006 and still find it an okay value when I find a special rate. The location cannot be beat for vacationers. The major construction project at the doorstep could be problematic for cross-Atlantic travellers who want/need to sleep in a bit, and the walls and floors are not adequately insulated from neighbor's rooms. I could hear a neighbor very clearly through the bathroom walls or ceiling. Very expensive internet, but no signal problems. Otherwise, the front desk and door staff is professional and helpful, the rooms are spotless, the beds comfortable, breakfast expansive, hotel restaurant very good with great staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#22 of 441 in Madrid
2,078 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 441 in Madrid
1,635 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Real

Address: Plaza de las Cortes, 10, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Madrid
#23 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#31 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £95 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Real 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Real is a five-star hotel in the centre of Madrid, located in the Plaza de las Cortes, right in front of the Spanish Congress of Deputies and just a few minutes on foot away from Puerta del Sol. It is a unique location for exploring the sites of 'Madrid de los Austrias' on foot and enjoying the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing