We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gran Via ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Catalonia Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Via
Ranked #170 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gran Via ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the rock and roll half marathon with 11 friends. Breakfast was excellent , bed very comfy and slept great . Staff were friendly and helpful rooms cleaned everyday absolutely no complaints.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Darren: Siempre es gratificante escuchar comentarios como el suyo puesto que nos dejan la sensación del trabajo bien hecho. Me alegra mucho que su grupo de amigos disfrutaran de nuestro hotel y de la ciudad de Madrid durante el Maratón y les esperamos el año que viene para que lo puedan disfrutar de nuevo en nuestro Hotel. Un abrazo desde Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    492
    220
    91
    52
See reviews for
211
458
68
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

great facade but poor service, run down room and interior, hotel has had it's best days, ready for a complete renovation.
great location at Gran Via, almost every places of interest are within a walking distance.



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Harald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Harald: Lamento mucho que no hayamos cumplido sus expectativas en esta ocasión. Seguiremos trabajando para mejorar nuestros servicios y poder sorprenderle en futuras visitas a Madrid. Hasta entonces le envío un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Good size room - I had a single room. Clean with a really good bed. For once an excellent hairdryer! Staff helpful and friendly. Free wifi works well. Good breakfast buffet with a good choice.
On the negative side: Gym and pool both very small and A/C doesn't work very well, but I would go back to this hotel if in Madrid again as well as recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianneBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Marianne: Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Situated along Gran Via this hotel has an excellent location for getting around in the city. Its an old building, which is very well mainated. Lobby is fairly large and has a nice bar area close to the reception. We had a room with a big terrace, which was excellent for early mornings and evenings. Rooms itself had a good size with an excellent bed, which provided a really good sleep. Furniture was fairly and in good condition. Cleaning maids did a really good job and were very friendly. The only bad thing in the room was that it was hard to control hot/cold in the shower. Staff were mostly very serviceminded and friendly, although seemed to be a little understaffed. Will we return if visiting Madrid? Certainly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larzon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente: Agradezco sus comentarios acerca del hotel. Siempre es una satisfacción encontrar a clientes que han tenido una feliz estancia como es su caso. Esperamos poder volver a recibirle en próximas visitas a Madrid , hasta entonces le enviamos un cordial saludo hasta Gotemburgo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I chose this hotel because I wanted to be right in the city centre, and have access to a pool. Top that, the Junior suite has its own hot tub on the super size balcony. The suite is brilliant value by anyones standards, and if your staying here you might as well go the extra mile and book it. The staff standards were as expected for a hotel of this size (friendly yet proffessional), and the whole place was smart without being precious. Had a meal in the resturant and was pleasently suprised, smart food in decent potions that don't leave you hungry! The only weak point was the breakfast, but I'm English, and were never going to get a decent brekkie outside the UK. Just down the road is place called Granvia Uno which serves up an acceptable spanish breakfast in very cool surroundings with a neat jazzfunk soundtrack. If in Madrid again, I'll be back to the Catalonia.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StokeseyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Catalonia Gran Via, until we got the bill. The room was nice and the breakfast was decent. Then my husband had to make a phone call because his debit card was eaten by an ATM machine and we asked if we could call from the front desk and they said no, we had to call from the room. So we called from the room and for a four minute conversation we were charged €56! We even used the five digit collect call number for Spain and a collect call number for our debit card. We have stayed in Catalonia Hotels before and we never will again! This was a complete rip off and extremely disappointing!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Lauren: I am very sorry about the phone call bill and is really a pity that this changed your perception of the hotel. I'm sure it had to happen some kind of billing error with that call so I appreciate if you can contact me at the hotel at your earliest convenience. I would like an opportunity to make it right. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I really enjoyed staying here. The location is perfect--very easy to walk to most attractions in central Madrid and near shopping and restaurants. The room was a good size. I was able to get a comfortable double bed instead of 2 singles. The room had everything I needed (fridge, safe) and was relatively quiet. The bathroom (toilet area) was a bit cramped because of the bidet, but I guess that's a European thing. The staff were helpful and friendly although I had to wait a bit to get my questions asked.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#140 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Property: Catalonia Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#115 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing